Chevron Left
Retour à Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration par University of Colorado System

4.4
étoiles
974 évaluations
198 avis

À propos du cours

This is the second course in the Data Warehousing for Business Intelligence specialization. Ideally, the courses should be taken in sequence. In this course, you will learn exciting concepts and skills for designing data warehouses and creating data integration workflows. These are fundamental skills for data warehouse developers and administrators. You will have hands-on experience for data warehouse design and use open source products for manipulating pivot tables and creating data integration workflows. In the data integration assignment, you can use either Oracle, MySQL, or PostgreSQL databases. You will also gain conceptual background about maturity models, architectures, multidimensional models, and management practices, providing an organizational perspective about data warehouse development. If you are currently a business or information technology professional and want to become a data warehouse designer or administrator, this course will give you the knowledge and skills to do that. By the end of the course, you will have the design experience, software background, and organizational context that prepares you to succeed with data warehouse development projects. In this course, you will create data warehouse designs and data integration workflows that satisfy the business intelligence needs of organizations. When you’re done with this course, you’ll be able to: * Evaluate an organization for data warehouse maturity and business architecture alignment; * Create a data warehouse design and reflect on alternative design methodologies and design goals; * Create data integration workflows using prominent open source software; * Reflect on the role of change data, refresh constraints, refresh frequency trade-offs, and data quality goals in data integration process design; and * Perform operations on pivot tables to satisfy typical business analysis requests using prominent open source software...

Meilleurs avis

LS
18 sept. 2020

Great course. It mimics real life case. However, the time required to complete assignments is much more than stated. The assignments are great though, I learned a lot from those.

EK
15 déc. 2015

Very nice class, well thought out and organized. The assignments are interesting and the practice assignments are relevant. Getting hands on on Pentaho was a big plus.

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 188 Avis pour Data Warehouse Concepts, Design, and Data Integration

par Gokay B

13 déc. 2021

A​ pretty decent course; the topics covered are really interesting and I enjoyed learning more about data warehouse design concepts and principles!

H​owever I feel like the video lectures could have been better. There could have been more details and more examples illustrating the topics. I also think there is a lot of 'filler' in each video. Even for a 6 minute video lesson, the first minute is spent with the intro & lesson objectives, and the last minute is the summary. Do we really need this for a 4 minute lesson? I'd rather they have added more actual lesson materials instead of spending 2 minutes on every video with these intro-objective-summary parts.

A​lso the assignments could have been better. They are slightly more complicated than what was taught during the videos and I'd have again preferred some more detailed lessons illustrating more closer examples to what is asked during the assignments.

par Benjamin S

1 août 2019

Good stuff. Not necessarily a beginner course...configuration of the required software packages requires some work and knowledge, but Mr. Mannino does the best job possible of explaining how that should work in most cases. Installing an Oracle SQL server on the local machine is tricky to get right, but the VirtualBox "Developer Day" package is easier, though requires a little work in Linux...so, I would say no problem for beginners if there is some background in development or multi-OS support. Otherwise, prepare to spend some extra time learning. Was well worth it for me!

par Stefan K

28 déc. 2015

Very nice introduction to databases and data warehouses. The lectures are not very engaging, the plus is there are practical assignments for every week, where you learn the most. First you submit your own solution and then you provide feedback to your peers. I like the format of the assignments. What I dislike (giving 4 stars instead of 5) is difficulty in setting up the environment for assignments to complete - it took me longer just to properly install the software needed for assignments 2 and 5 than to work out the assignments. The lectures could be also improved.

par Gerrit S D

22 mars 2016

quite challenging, high paced lectures. It seems like an easy course because the lectures are quite brief, but make no mistake, there is no repeating of concepts or endless bla bla. To succeed in the assignments one is very likely to watch lectures again. Without any previous knowledge in this subject it is almost impossible to grasp everything by just watching the videos due to the new vocabulary and the information density. The assignments definetly take more time than indicated.

par Anupam B

12 juin 2020

Extremely useful and practical course. Will give you a thorough understanding of how Data Warehouses are built and Integration platforms operate. Installation of certain tools as required as a part of this course might feel frustrating after a point but it's still worth doing it. One of toughest courses that I have undertaken so far in Coursera. Highly recommended if you are in the right domain with some level of prior (basic) knowledge of databases.

par Mouhammad M

4 févr. 2016

Hello,

Thank you for this well structured course. Exercises and tutorials are very useful to complement lectures and help increase our skills in the domain.

Tools deployment and connection (Oracle database on Virtual box and pentaho data integration) was a nightmare.

It would be great if you package all the tools needed for a given course into a predefined virtual machine image ready to be downloaded from the course.

Kind Regards,

Mouhammad Moustafa

par Joanna P

24 déc. 2015

Overall - great course giving possibility to learn working on tools such as Pivot4J and Pentaho Data Integration. While I am more interested in Business Analyst approach - it certainly gives meaningful background to data warehouse concepts and data quality. Biggest disadvantage is in my opinion module 5 with rather difficult and unclear assignment. I wish instructions were more precise and whole assignment more analogical to presented examples.

par Paweł W

22 oct. 2019

Course is really good and one of its kind, however, there is too much focus on specific tools. In some assignments familiarity with Pentaho is more important than the skills required to solve the problem. As for me I was unable to install Pentaho and had to look for alternatives. Let the course be more problem-centric and ease the focus on using Pentaho as it is not an optimal tool for many.

par Torsten B

16 janv. 2016

I enjoyed the first two courses. However, I would have liked to continue but as a Mac-only guy do not have access to an Oracle database, which seems to be a requirement for the assessments and the case study.

The first two courses went well on MySQL, so I'm afraid I have to leave here.

Thanks and bye. If the MySQL option gets added, I'll be back.

par Friso S

4 nov. 2019

Content wise a very good and useful course. But the technical support on the installation and use of the software needed to complete the course is very limited, and the manuals are not up to date, as they refer to older versions of the proposed software. Particularly the Pentaho Data Integration software was a severe test for my peace of mind.

par Kira H

17 févr. 2016

The instructions for installing the software are not very intuitive and can be very frustrating at times, so make sure to allot additional time getting it installed. The assignment time listed is FAR less than the amount of time to complete the assignment, again, make sure to allot additional time for completing the assignments.

par mc

26 août 2020

This course demands many software installations. I spent multiple days to have it working. Today, many software are in the cloud and we don't need to handle it. For this class, t would be nice to have access to a cloud platform where everything is already installed, data loaded, and we can focus in practicing pentahoo etls.

par Denis M

25 oct. 2019

i would give it a 5-star but again the software used in this course/specialization is just ridiculously demanding task. However, concepts in this course are very interesting and I think I learned a lot. Be aware that there is no support from anybody besides peers who most of the times care only about passing.

par Norbert v W

20 févr. 2016

I like the course, and I learn a lot (having plenty of experience already). However, the assignments take far more time than the quoted 30 minutes, and a lot of time is spent installing and getting open-source tools to work - which I would have rather spent on actually hands on work on the subject-matter.

par William J

8 févr. 2021

The peer review should be more standardized. There is dramatically inconsistent grading where accurate submissions are failed without warrant causing frustration instead of continued learning. The actual course content is five stars for me. Just the peer review needs cleaning up in my opinion.

par Nguyen T

9 juin 2016

A good course, but the learning curve in the middle shoots up so the hill is quite steep to climb. Some typos here and there in documentation, but overall a great course that really challenges you to think hard.

par Zafir S

22 mai 2020

Great course overall! Some of the assignments were quite challenging, and it would have been more beneficial to have some guided tutorial videos to assist with some key concepts that weren't previously taught.

par Godswill E

11 juil. 2020

I enjoyed this course. I learnt a lot. My main difficulties were in navigating the installation of the softwares. I think a lot more has to be done to make the software navigation process a lot easier.

par Justin K

27 mai 2020

Great course! The only issue, and the reason for 4 starts instead of 5, is that (1) the integration software was hard to install and get working correctly and (2) the course materials are out of date.

par Matthew P L

12 juin 2017

Excellent instructor, content and application of tools. Written instructions can be over-wordy on unimportant instruction and confusing, but so is the nature of the state of data warehousing.

par Manolis M

17 juin 2020

The course was very good but it felt a little rushed in the middle. There should be some more examples and explanation In the Data Warehouse design section. Overall great quality of material

par Hadrien D

16 janv. 2016

Solid class overall, however video lectures do not provide enough background info to complete some of the assignments. Expect to spend much more time than the estimated 30 mins to complete.

par André G L

29 mars 2020

A great starting course for the subject of Data Warehouse, I was already practicing on the career and it was valuable to me to strenghten my core and learn new things along the way.

par Mauricio Q

8 mars 2016

I think this course is great, however weeks 2 and 3 should be restructured to ensure students acknowledge topics properly. I had a bad time solving those week's asignments.

par Emilio M N G

1 juin 2016

Pretty nice course, although installation and pre-requisites could use a higher note before installing since there would be a couple of tries before getting them working.