Chevron Left
Retour à Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization par deeplearning.ai

4.9
stars
42,216 évaluations
4,505 avis

À propos du cours

This course will teach you the "magic" of getting deep learning to work well. Rather than the deep learning process being a black box, you will understand what drives performance, and be able to more systematically get good results. You will also learn TensorFlow. After 3 weeks, you will: - Understand industry best-practices for building deep learning applications. - Be able to effectively use the common neural network "tricks", including initialization, L2 and dropout regularization, Batch normalization, gradient checking, - Be able to implement and apply a variety of optimization algorithms, such as mini-batch gradient descent, Momentum, RMSprop and Adam, and check for their convergence. - Understand new best-practices for the deep learning era of how to set up train/dev/test sets and analyze bias/variance - Be able to implement a neural network in TensorFlow. This is the second course of the Deep Learning Specialization....

Meilleurs avis

NA

Jan 14, 2020

After completion of this course I know which values to look at if my ML model is not performing up to the task. It is a detailed but not too complicated course to understand the parameters used by ML.

HD

Dec 06, 2019

I enjoyed it, it is really helpful, id like to have the oportunity to implement all these deeply in a real example.\n\nthe only thing i didn't have completely clear is the barch norm, it is so confuse

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 4,441 Avis pour Improving Deep Neural Networks: Hyperparameter tuning, Regularization and Optimization

par Brennon B

Apr 23, 2018

Walking away from this course, I do *not* feel adequately prepared to implement (end-to-end) everything that I've learned. I felt this way after the first course of this series, but even more so now. Yes, I understand the material, but the programming assignments really don't amount to more than "filling in the blanks"--that doesn't really test whether or not I've mastered the material. I understand that this is terribly hard to accomplish through a MOOC, and having taught university-level courses myself, I understand how much effort is involved in doing so in the "real world". In either case, if I'm paying for a course, I expect to have a solid grasp on the material after completing the material, and though you've clearly put effort into assembling the programming exercises, they don't really gauge this on any level. Perhaps it would be worth considering a higher cost of the course in order to justify the level of effort required to put together assessments that genuinely put the student through their paces in order to assure that a "100%" mark genuinely reflects both to you and the learner that they have truly internalized and mastered the material. It seems to me that this would pay off dividends not only for the learner, but also for the you as the entity offering such a certificate.

par oli c

Dec 09, 2018

Lectures are good. Quizzes and programming exercises too easy.

par Alan S

Sep 30, 2017

As far as the video lectures is concerned, the videos are excellent; it is the same quality as the other courses from the same instructor. This course contains a lot of relevant and useful material, and is worth studying, and complements the first course (and the free ML course very well).

The labs, however, are not particularly useful. While it's good that the focus of the labs is applying the actual formulas and algorithms taught, and not really on the mechanical aspects of putting the ideas in actual code, the labs have structured basically all of the "glue" and just leave you to basically translate formulas to the language-specific construct. This makes the lab material so mechanical as to almost take away the benefit.

The TensorFlow section was disappointing. It's really difficult to learn much in a 15 minute video lecture, and a lab that basically does everything (and oddly, for some things leaves you looking up the documentation yourself). I didn't get anything out of this lab, other than to get a taste for what it looks like. What makes it even worse is TensorFlow framework uses some different jargon that is not really explained, but the relevant code is almost given to you so it doesn't matter to get the "correct" answer. I finished the lab not feeling like I knew very much about it at all. It would have been far better to either spend more time on this, or basically omit it.

As with the first course, it is somewhat disappointing lecture notes are not provided. This would be handy as a reference to refer back to.

Still, despite these flaws, there's still a lot of good stuff to be learned. This course could have been much better, though.

par Matthew G

Apr 18, 2019

Very good course. Andrew really steps it up in part two with lots of valuable information.

par Lien C

Mar 31, 2019

The course provides very good insights of the practical aspect of implementing neural networks in general. Prof. Ng, as always, delivered very clear explanation for even the difficult concepts, and I have thoroughly enjoyed every single lecture video.

Although I do appreciate very much the efforts put in by the instructors for the programming assignments, I can't help but thinking I could have learnt much more if the instruction were *LESS* detailed and comprehensive. I found myself just "filling in the blank" and following step-by-step instruction without the need to think too much. I'm also slightly disappointed with the practical assignment of Tensorflow where everything is pretty much written out for you, leaving you with less capacity to think and learn from mistakes.

All in all, I think the course could have made the programming exercise much more challenging than they are now, and allow students to learn from their mistakes.

par Md. R K S

Apr 15, 2019

Excellent course. When I learned about implementing ANN using keras in python, I just followed some tutorials but didn't understand the tradeoff among many parameters like the number of layers, nodes per layers, epochs, batch size, etc. This course is helping me a lot to understand them. Great work Mr. Andrew Ng. :)

par Xiao G

Oct 31, 2017

Thank you Andrew!! I know start to use Tensorflow, however, this tool is not well for a research goal. Maybe, pytorch could be considered in the future!! And let us know how to use pytorch in Windows.

par Abiodun O

Apr 06, 2018

Fantastic course! For the first time, I now have a better intuition for optimizing and tuning hyperparameters used for deep neural networks.I got motivated to learn more after completing this course.

par Sriram V

Oct 09, 2019

Insights into best practices and directions for common problems make it an one-of-a-kind material for learners. Andrew, as always, has been commendable with his tutor team, the exercises are well cleaned up and in good shape. May be, if some optional tough exercises are given, it will add more value.

par Artyom K

May 09, 2019

The topics of this course, such as the setting of hyperparameters and the use of tensorflow, are critical topics for me, and in this course they are explained both in lectures and in practical tasks.

par Carlos V

Dec 24, 2017

Exceptional Course, the Hyper parameters explanations are excellent every tip and advice provided help me so much to build better models, I also really liked the introduction of Tensor Flow

Thanks.

par 陈嵘

Dec 05, 2019

体验很棒,喜欢这种有作业有评分的课程

par Tang Y

Apr 15, 2019

very practical.

par Harsh V

Jan 22, 2019

Add more programming assignments to clear fundamentals.

par Yuhang W

Nov 25, 2018

programming assignments too easy

par Ethan G

Oct 17, 2017

I did not think this was a great course, especially since it's paid. The programming assignment notebooks are very buggy and the course mentors are of varying quality. It feels more than a bit unfinished. It also covers two completely different topics - tools for improving deep learning nets and tensorflow - and doesn't make much of an effort to integrate them at all. The course could have used at least one more week of content and assignments to better explain the point of tf.

par Anand R

Feb 17, 2018

To set the context, I have a PhD in Computer Engineering from the University of Texas at Austin. I am a working professional (13+ years), but just getting into the field of ML and AI. Apologies for flashing this preamble for every course that I review on coursera.

This course is the 2nd in a 5 part series offered by Dr. Andrew Ng on deep learning on coursera. I believe it is useful to take this course in order and makes sense as a part of the series, though technically it is not necessary.

The course covers numerous tuning strategies and optimization strategies to help seed up as well as improve the quality of the machine learning output. It is very well planned and comprehensive (to the extent possible) -- and gives the student a very power toolbox of stratgies to attack a problem.

The instructor videos are very good, usually 10 min long, and Dr. Ng tries hard to provide intution using analogies and real-life examples. The quizzes that accompany the lectures are quite challenging and help ensure that the student has understood the material well. The programming exercises are the best part of the course. They help the student practice the strategies and also provide a jump-start for the student to use the code for their own problems at work or in school.

Overall, this is an excellent course. Thank you Dr Ng and the teaching assistants, Thank you coursera.

par Vinod K

Jan 16, 2018

I had taken Andrew Ng's Machine Learning course. I went on to learn Deep learning from other tutorials and I always wished there was a course on Deep learning too by Andrew Ng. And now that there is, It was worth the wait.

1. All the topics are arranged in logical order. So you feel like a tour of deep learning. Earlier I had to refer to multiple sources for different topics and they usually had different naming and notations which were really confusing.

2. Having taken about 6 top rated courses on AI domain, I can assure you Andrew Ng is the best in his teaching style and content.

3. Exercises and theory go hand in hand. So, you know how to implement as soon as you learn theory.

4. Out of a lot of techniques in each topics like Optimization, Regularization etc. this course picks the most contemporary techniques. This helps you not to wonder which techniques to use in your work.

Overall, This Specialization is like a cookbook for AI. My appreciation and gratitude to Andrew Ng and his team for their contribution to AI.

par Shibhikkiran D

Jul 08, 2019

First of all, I thank Professor Andrew Ng for offering this high quality "Deep Learning" specialization. This specialization helped me overall to gain a solid fundamentals and strong intuition about building blocks of Neural Networks. I'm looking forward to have a next level course on top of this track. Thanks again, Sir!

I strongly recommend this specialization for anyone who wish get their hands dirty and wants to understand what really happens under the hood of Neural networks with some curiosity.

Some of the key factors that differentiate this specialization from other specialization course:

1. Concepts are laid from ground up (i.e you to got to build models using basic numpy/pandas/python and then all the way up using tensorflow and keras etc)

2. Programming Assignments at end of each week on every course.

3. Reference to influential research papers on each topics and guidance provided to study those articles.

4. Motivation talks from few great leaders and scientist from Deep Learning field/community.

par Weinan L

Feb 05, 2018

Used to tune hyper parameters based on experience... after this course, know more about the internals and from now on, not just know HOW to tune, but WHY it needs to tune this way.

As always, Andrew did fantastic work here to help explain complex formulas in simple and CLEAR way.

Highly recommend it to anyone who fight with overfitting, hyper parameters tuning, etc. It may not help you instantly become a better AI person or help you immediately help you on your day to day programming - as you most likely use various frameworks (Keras/TensorFLow/PyTorch) instead of raw NumPy. But it does help you in the long with better knowledge. It is kinda like show you how the engine works, before teach you more driving skills. It won't help you when your car is working fine, but when it breaks, you know how to troubleshoot and what is the right direction to go. Honestly, I personally think the debugging part is the toughest part of AI.

Take it. Period.

par Hop B

May 27, 2019

I would rate for this course 4.5, but Coursera's system does not have it.

About the first and second week, explanation about terms in Deep Learning are very good from Prof. Andrew, the preparation for exams is quite good for you to revise lectures. I think programming exercices should be more challenge and more suggestive for students, but it was okay for me after having some knowledge from Machine Learning Course. I suggest you to finish Machine Learning Course before taking this.

About the third week, i expect a lot more about TensorFlow that Mr.Andrew can give me, or maybe more intuiation about it. Moreover, Batch Norm 's explanation is quite hard to understand, because we do not have any programming exercise for it, so I hope teachers can prepare a programming exercises among with the programiing exercise for TensorFlow.

par Nigel S

Jun 10, 2019

It explains a bunch of complicated maths and methods in a way that is at least comprehensible by mere mortals, though not necessarily easy. Put another way, if this course doesn't enable you to understand how to tune and optimise deep neural networks, then you probably never will.

The content taught in this course is really valuable because it explains a lot of what is going on behind the scenes in the existing Deep Learning Frameworks like Tensorflow, Keras, etc, and enables you to be a lot more competent and confident in producing effective models in a time-efficient way, than if you didn't have this knowledge.

It also seems to have been built by peopel who not only know the material intimately, but who recognise that many of the learners are very time-poor.

par Taylor B

Jun 23, 2019

I took the Machine Learning Course from Stanford with Andrew Ng a few years ago and enjoyed it but I was also somewhat overwhelmed by the math. In contrast, this is my second course in the deep learning specialization and I feel like so far the courses have struck a good balance, introducing core concepts and derivations for things but also making sure I get guided practice along the way, and also not moving straight to frameworks but having students code more or less from scratch first. I'll probably need some practice on kaggle or other datasets as well as reference to a few other learning materials to feel like a strong practitioner, but this gives the tools to make that possible and I'm very satisfied with this result.

par Jorge L

Feb 17, 2019

All the courses in the Deep Learning Specialization are very good and met my expectations. I was guided through the nitty-gritties of neural networks, fortunately with a strong emphasis on Computer Vision (my area), deep diving in coherent coding exercises. Prof Andrew, as always, managed to connect the points between theory and practice, recollecting the concepts treated in past lectures, while showing how Tensorflow operates and how to use it. If you ask me, I'd say that the slides of the Machine Learning course used to be better than the slides for the 4 courses in this specialization, in the sense of being useful as studying guide for the future. The current slides only make sense to those who went through the course.

par Luca C

Jan 27, 2019

Knowing this makes the difference. How do you evolve from being a monkey behind a keyboard knowing how to tensorflow a NN to homo sapiens? The concepts provided in this course will make the job.

pros: + workflow to address and optimize your supervised learning problems

+ wide and easy-to-get overview on most essential concepts

+ improves your understanding of NN; those who are already familiar with these concepts might still benefit from this clear and insightfull presentation

cons: - programming assignment will not suffices to give you a sufficient knowledge of tensorflow to make your own applications, you should integrate a bit. (However, mastering tensorflow is not the intention of the assignment).