Chevron Left
Retour à Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
étoiles
4,290 évaluations
1,448 avis

À propos du cours

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Meilleurs avis

SD

13 juil. 2020

It seems easy at the start; give it a week or two and you will be very surprised -- with yourself and your reaction to the feedback.\n\nThe instructions are easy to follow, the insights are priceless.

BM

4 nov. 2019

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

Filtrer par :

1376 - 1400 sur 1,446 Avis pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

par Dewald S

23 févr. 2022

I enjoyed Brando's discussions and explanations, but I felt that some of the plotting advice was too formulaic and 'set in stone'. Obviously, this is a beginner's course, but it seemed a bit misleading to suggest that the ABDCE formula is inherently the best or 'correct' way to approach plotting a story or scene, especially given the way many successful and/or well-known authors have deviated from a by-the-book approach to plotting. Still, an enjoyable and interesting introduction to some of the basics of plotting.

par Orlanda R F

13 juil. 2020

The prof's teaching was good, but zero chance to engage with him or a tutorial assistant. Some of the participating students' education or comprehension levels were not sufficient enough for them to be put in the position of grading other students which a course pass depends on. The format didn't allow for discussion with student graders who were really good, or whose comments were useful and that you might have wanted to actually have communication with, which would have made the course so much more enriching.

par Adelle W

18 août 2020

This is my first class. The discussion videos were very interesting. I did learn the ABCDE process and have found that very useful. Peer evaluations are very hard. I'm thinking that the purpose of the peer evaluation is to help the evaluator process the points taught in class. I do not think there is much help that comes to the writer as a result of these evaluations. I am hoping that there will be more effective feedback in future classes.

par Ignacio C

2 avr. 2019

Excellent content with a very close look to structure on writing. The four modules definitely create a new perspective of how to build a story. Some exercises need more feedback, a conversation with a mentor. This cannot be completed with the current dynamics. How can I know if my concept of scene was fully understood? How can I get more information about the scenes I builded on my homework. Just a space for this will make the course perfect.

par Maria J S d C G

11 mars 2016

I did learn. However, some info could of been better explained. I felt like some videos didn't really further my knowledge. And the lack of communication on the discussions by the professor, was quite unbelievable. More participation by the professor would be appreciated. I do understand there's many people doing this, but if other can, why couldn't he? Maybe have an assistant?

Otherwise, like I said, I did learn a lot and I do appreciate it.

par Kalten B

13 févr. 2021

I enjoyed this course very much. There was a lot of good information that I was excited to learn. I would love more opportunity to practice the things we learned in the course. I also didn't enjoy grading and having my work graded by other students. I don't mind the pear reviews but I want to see a input from a professor as well. it would give me better encouragement on what I need to work on and what I am doing well at.

par Jason L

15 déc. 2021

The class was okay, but I would have liked to have had a little more meat to it. The quantity of lecture material was light compared to other Coursera courses I have taken, and this topic certainly could have had more content. The lectures were decent, but not enough of it. This was actually one course where I didn't mind the peer review so much, as it was interesting to see what other classmates thought of my writing.

par Lin G

15 avr. 2020

The only reason I’m giving this a three is the lack of community in the discussions, but other than that the course was great! Sure the assignments can get weird at times and the word count limit is just a whole other story, but the reviews I got from my peers once I finished them were really helpful! :)

Even if you want to just audit the course, go for it, If you’re lucky, some students will give some feedback for you.

par Beth H H

23 mars 2021

Good but pretty limited content. If this was free, I’d be thrilIed, but It was pretty light. Not a great bang for the buck. And I got almost no feedback. I couldn’t find anything for the last assignment?? Also, low caliber of student. Some couldn’t write at all. I wouldn’t care but that’s where our feedback is (supposed to be) coming from. Check out how University of British Columbia does its programs. Wow!

par Roberto S

27 déc. 2021

A nice little start if you are a beginner writer but nothing special really. It's a short course and the videos you watch are sometimes useful and sometimes not very useful at all. Rating other writers work is an odd one as some people were much worse then others and those same people could have reviewed my work even though they can't write well themselves. Hopefully the other parts of this are better.

par Dena M

12 avr. 2017

This course got better as it went on. The first week, the teacher went through the entire plot of Harry Potter which seemed like a waste of time. The point was made long before the telling of every plot point in Harry Potter was done. I thought, really, I signed up for four months of this? Then the lectures got better, learning the basis outlines and structures of plot is useful. Simple, but useful.

par Lu A K

10 avr. 2016

The problem is that the only feedback a student gets is from other students. I only received 1 feedback from the supposedly 3 each week for 4 weeks. I gave 3 stars because the videos are very good and good concepts but I paid far more money than they now charge. So I doubt I will finish the certificate because the final course relies only on student feedback which is non-existent.

par Sipping C

3 févr. 2021

A useful course for learning the basics behind plot in storytelling. There is no instructor feedback, only fellow students grade your work. This is a little disappointing because the students will not be able to give as good feedback as an instructor would, and some leave very short feedback like "Yes" or "no". I enjoyed the author interviews during the lectures.

par Margaret E H

14 juin 2020

Many of the ideas taught in course are useful to consider when writing. It was challenging to write with such a focus on action and plot. Some of the explanations seemed oversimplified (using Harry Potter in numerous examples throughout the course) and some of the assignments were odd (you have to kill-off your protagonist in 2 out of the 4 assignments).

par Jeff

2 janv. 2019

The lectures and prompts were excellent, but I didn't find the peer reviews to provide me any insightful feedback. I got mostly brief answers, and I feel peer reviews are the most advantageous way to grow as a writer. Perhaps add a way to grade peer reviews to ensure the proper effort is given?

Also, the mobile app is buggy and really could use an update.

par SIbru

8 nov. 2016

I learnt much but only rated 3 stars because students are unable to submit their assignments or receive peer group or mentor feedback unless a payment is made. The previous writing course I completed with Coursera did not have such restrictions - you only had to pay for the certificate if wanted. However, thank you for free access to the content

par Michelle

20 mai 2020

It was a fun course in many ways. The "Lectures" could hardly be called lectures really as they were so short. But, that said, they were info-packed so very useful. The size of MOOC's make them particularly fraught: so many participants come from non-English speaking backgrounds so reviewing other's works was actually very difficult at times.

par Martins N

18 avr. 2022

​i would say its a good course, I found it entertaining. However, it's not something in real time. It's just a bunch of pre- recorded videos since 2016 and assessments that are graded by your peers, which is a good thing, but also not a good thing (I would not expand on that). Anyway, i enjoyed the course and I'm glad I completed it.

par Colors

19 nov. 2020

I thought Dr. Skyhorse's lectures were very strong and very clear. I did think he was speaking to his audience like novices, almost like children, but I actually appreciate that in this context. I really wanted to have someone take my hand like a five-year-old through the very elementary steps of conventional storytelling.

par Chris R

1 janv. 2017

The course material and videos are very good, however I would prefer that comments about your work be emailed directly to the student so that they are more likely to read them. I found it to easy to just move on and not really look for the comments on my work.

par Pauline R

22 mai 2016

I found this course quite hard to take to; especially after starting the second one on Character. Saying that though, it is good to learn about different perspectives and approaches as education whatever form enables us to move forward on our learning path.

par Megan S

1 mars 2018

I liked the writing exercises, but I felt the videos were a bit simple and Skyhorse was very pleasant but not a great interviewer. It would be nice if the assignment were reviewed by a professor or a TA or something. Peer review was overall NOT helpful.

par Nicolas S

11 nov. 2021

M​uch like other reviewers here, the content in this course was good and the assignments were fun, but the reviews I received from my peers were awful. Most people gave single word reviews with zero focus on helping the author improve their craft.

par ipsita g

8 juin 2019

The course was structured well. It introduced to many things that were probably known to us but not explicit.

However, on taking other courses in the series I realized that the instructor is less effective and original than others, especially Amy.

par Soe T S

6 mai 2020

I'd like it if peers can give more elaborated reviews. It seems like they just want to finish the mandatory 3 reviews just to get points. Most of the reviews I received are nothing more than 'Yes. No. I agree with the author.' No elaborations.