Chevron Left
Retour à Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
étoiles
4,251 évaluations
1,431 avis

À propos du cours

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to perhaps the most elemental and often the most challenging element of story: plot. We will learn what keeps it moving, how it manipulates our feelings, expectations, and desires. We will examine the choices storytellers make to snag our imaginations, drag them into a fictional world, and keep them there. We will learn how to outline and structure a plot, discuss narrative arc, pacing and reversals and reveal the inevitable surprise: connecting the beginning, middle and end....

Meilleurs avis

LB

15 nov. 2018

Great information about plot and scene structure. The information about revision was entirely new to me - thank you! The exercises were good and difficult in a good way that helped me hone my writing.

BM

4 nov. 2019

The course was informative on how to build, structure and develop the plot of our own stories. It was also very helpful in guiding us through the editing process. A useful course for aspiring writers.

Filtrer par :

1326 - 1350 sur 1,428 Avis pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Plot

par Anthony M

27 juil. 2021

Great except for some of the peer graded feedback.

par Hala K

6 mars 2020

A wonderful course with a wonderful community!

par Ayush A S

6 sept. 2020

A good simple course taught me about writing.

par Anay T

9 nov. 2017

Excellent course for a beginner like me

par Will F

1 juin 2018

Great course, with a great instructor.

par ADEPU R

17 juin 2020

very clear helps a lot for a beginner

par Julie M

10 mai 2016

Full of helpful tips and suggestions.

par Sarah V K

27 janv. 2018

Great exercises and I learned a lot.

par David N

19 oct. 2017

Really enjoying this course so far.

par Sophia G

18 févr. 2022

Super good. But just a few videos.

par María d P E A L

8 oct. 2021

A​ssignments were of high value

par DHARMPAL K

4 sept. 2020

I learn a lot about this course

par Nicolás G

6 août 2021

Very good, but too short

par Rima A

2 nov. 2017

Its a wonderful course.

par Eternally P

10 avr. 2020

Very engaging course

par Sukanya K S

12 oct. 2016

Beginner level..

par Norrarat S

25 sept. 2017

good to know

par BAVISETTY V P

9 mai 2020

Good Course

par Deleted A

18 oct. 2017

Pretty good

par PHANINDER S

10 janv. 2021

super!

par ANUSHA C

30 août 2020

good

par Justin S

21 nov. 2020

The course pursues an agenda more than teaching to inform or instruct. The topics are listed to the subjective agenda of the course creators, and the excuse given is that too many people signed up for the course, so, it has to be peer reviewed. Scientific papers are peer reviewed, for obvious reasons and in the most objective context. The only time creative writing should be peer reviewed is in pursuing a graduate degree and before a qualified degreed panel.

This method could be attributed to laziness on the part of the course creators, but based on the excuses given, it’s social engineering. For example, for the second writing assignment, the students should be given a choice on what they want to write about, so long as they meet the syntax criteria and for written grammar and creative writing. The ABDCE method is not the only method for creative writing

Further, most of the students doing the peer review do not have the qualifications a seasoned professional teacher or teacher’s assistant has. The review is subjective and not objective. Subjectivity is not the best nor a good standard for grading someone.

par denise p

4 mai 2022

​I think course content and assignments were very good. I am not thrilled with the peer reviewed grading either from a submission point of view or from a reviewer point of view.

Some of the writing is so bad it's hard to even begin to give feedback. One story I tried to review was just a stream of characters and one was a copied page from Orpheus in the Underworld complete with links to subplots.

Some of the reviews given to me didn't make any sense in regard to what I wrote. Some reviewers leave comments that aren't even english.

A​lso, I found the software in the app terrible. I would write my stories in Pages and then cut and paste them to find all of my formating gone. I would reformat it in the coursera app but it would all disappear upon submission. If I tried to use the website, things were a bit better.

I​ wanted very much to love this course and continue, however, between peer reviewed grading in both directions and a poor app, I decided to not continue through the other four modules.

G​ood content and instructors, poor online experience.

par Sarah S

29 févr. 2016

The videos are quite interesting, though I think they are overly committed to very specific techniques. I did not, however, find the assignments and peer review system very helpful. People had a tendency, particularly on the first assignment, to read in requirements that were not actually stated or written down and failed people accordingly. There also does not seem to be enough people to review all of the assignments, either--perhaps due to the paywall for assignments. The very nature of the peer review system also guarantees you see a real range on the individual criteria you are evaluated on and the depth of the review. This exacerbates the very harsh "0 or 1" point option for all assignments (i.e. either you get a 1 and pass or you get a 0 and fail).

Bottom line: I think the course materials are useful and at the very least interesting for developing writers, but I'm not sure it's worth the $79 entry fee to gain access to the peer review, unless you really need or want the course certificate.