Chevron Left
Retour à Corporate Finance I: Measuring and Promoting Value Creation

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Corporate Finance I: Measuring and Promoting Value Creation par Université de l'Illinois à Urbana-Champaign

4.7
étoiles
867 évaluations
134 avis

À propos du cours

In this course you will learn how to use key finance principles to understand and measure business success and to identify and promote true value creation. You will learn how to use accounting information to form key financial ratios to measure a company’s financial health and to manage a company's short-term and long-term liquidity needs. You will also learn how to use valuation techniques to make sound business investment and acquisition decisions. Finally, you will learn how to incorporate risk and uncertainty into investment decisions and how to evaluate the performance of existing investments. Upon successful completion of this course you will be able to: • Understand how companies make investment decisions that create value for shareholders • Use accounting statements to measure the financial health of a company • Forecast and manage a company’s short- and long-term liquidity needs • Measure the contribution of a new project or acquisition to shareholder value • Incorporate risk into investment decisions using the appropriate discount rates • Evaluate the performance of a company or divisions of a company This course was previously entitled Financial Evaluation and Strategy: Corporate Finance. The course received an average rating of 4.7 out of 5 based on 177 reviews over the period of September 2015 through August 2016. A detailed breakdown of ratings and reviews received for the prior version of the course, which is identical in content to the current course, is provided in the course orientation page. This course is part of the iMBA offered by the University of Illinois, a flexible, fully-accredited online MBA at an incredibly competitive price. For more information, please see the Resource page in this course and onlinemba.illinois.edu....

Meilleurs avis

SS
8 févr. 2020

I found this course to be engaging and interesting. The content was explained well. I greatly appreciate what I have learned from this course, and feel it will be helpful in my future endeavors.

AN
17 nov. 2020

This course helped me to learn a lot about Corporate Finance, especially about mergers & acquisitions, LBO and IRR and many more. Mainly it was thanks to the approachable method of the teacher.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 130 Avis pour Corporate Finance I: Measuring and Promoting Value Creation

par Stephen S

9 févr. 2020

I found this course to be engaging and interesting. The content was explained well. I greatly appreciate what I have learned from this course, and feel it will be helpful in my future endeavors.

par Andras I

4 févr. 2020

This is a good introductory course to Corporate Finance, the last subject in the Financial Management Specialisation.

A good investment of time and energy with a few caveats:

- Compared to the other 2 subjects (Financial Accounting, Investments), it will require much more time and effort to finish:

I think around 10 hours per week is a good approximation, instead of the specified 2-4 hours (see later)

- I definitely recommend the Ivo Welch book used for recommended reading - but this will take up the time like I mentioned before. It's not necessary to pass but it's important to get a more round picture. The course doesn't follow the order of the book, jumps around quite a lot, still lines up quite well.

- The honors assigmnents are worth the time, make you think in a more organic way than quizzes that tend to be more mechanical.

- Even though it's not mentioned in the requirements, it's definitely useful to take the Investments course first. Or at least have an idea about financial markets, investment instruments (bonds, futures, stocks), some portfolio theory and CAPM. Actually Week4 of that course is a peek into Corporate Finance and I find it a very efficient bridge.

- Once you're done and still have time/crave more, go on Youtube and find Aswath Damodaran's corporate finance lectures (Harvard). It will add another level of understanding

par Amitkumar

12 sept. 2017

A person like me who has always worked on engineering side, this course has been a great value to me in learning the first principals of corporate finance. The activities, especially when combined with Compass activities, allowed me to get greater insights on how companies operate.

Getting ready for the 2nd part!

Thank you! Professor Almeida.

par Sundarakrishnan T

4 mai 2020

it was indeed great to have enrolled myself in the course which has stirred my interest in finance and has given me ample knowledge on how to proceed with various financial decisions.

par ARVIND K S

12 juin 2019

An excellent course and probably one of the finest on offer. Valuable learnings even for finance professionals like me. Highly recommended for all management students and managers.

par Sudhan K

11 févr. 2019

In-depth content covering very broad areas of Corporate Finance. Specially the honors assignment makes you think of different scenarios which really makes it interesting and fun.

par Subhodeep B

14 sept. 2017

Great course. I thoroughly enjoyed the challenging and yet interesting Corporate Finance concepts.

par Jason W

16 juin 2020

Amazing course with an amazing professor! I was thoroughly engaged the entire time. Thank you!

par COLLIN M

11 juin 2017

Mostly enjoyed this class, with only 2 problems, the first one being rounding where sometime the course rounds out a few digits and other times it does not which made it a bit hard to follow, especially questions where Q1 leads into Q2 and you are using the Excel math so you end up getting the non-rounded data and thus you come out some minimal amount over or under what is being shown on a Quiz. 2nd issue was with the forums, 5 days to get a question replied to seems like a long time to wait. Besides those issues though I did enjoy the course and am actually looking forward to the next one.

par José T

14 févr. 2017

I am part of the iMBA program so my opinion might be a bit biased, but it was precisely because of courses like this one that I decided to be part of the program. Excellent value, the Coursera content is at graduate level, with plenty of practice material and use of real life data. The four honors assignments and additional readings allow to adjust for the level of engagement you want/need.

par Mohamed A A N

22 juin 2020

Professor Almeida has a wonderful teaching style which makes everything feel easy, and I did not realize how much information I grasped from this course until its end. I enjoyed my time and have learned a lot, and I think this is the way education should be.

I highly recommend this course.

par Gaurav S

16 sept. 2017

I loved this course. There is so much details and information and clearly defined. Challenging quizzes and assignments. Live Sessions with professor are great too. He is very nice and clearly answered all the questions. There is absolutely no book required when taking this course!

par Dr. G N M

7 août 2020

I have nothing but good things to say about my experience with Coursera. I have loved the learning I have been able to do and look forward to taking many more classes with them ... I don't understand the reviews with low ratings. I have never had any problems with them.

par Jafed E G

6 juil. 2019

I enjoy the lectures. The professor has a good speaking and teaching style which keeps me interested. Lots of concrete math examples which make it easier to understand. Very good slides which are well formulated and easy to understand

par John P C

31 oct. 2019

I like the modular approach of learning. Each practice quiz and honor assigment is very important in learning. This process helps inculcate the learning in the Corporate Finance.

Thanks for this course.

par Joe F

4 févr. 2019

Great course! I felt that I learned quite a bit. My undergrad is Finance and I feel that this course covered more topics and in more depth than my previous university studies.

par Fangfang W

20 juin 2020

Professor Almeida makes every knowledge point very clear, combine a lot of real-life case to the knowledge to make it easier to understand. It's a high-quality course to learn.

par FELICITO M A Q

26 sept. 2020

The course allowed me to know the process of mergers and acquisitions of companies. Also, know in detail the calculation of the EVA and the variables that are related to it.

par Kazuma K

13 juin 2019

Very good. Much better than other corporate finance courses you can find on coursera.

Materials cover a broad range of topics and the explanation is clear and consise.

par Feng X

4 févr. 2019

The finance series are some of the best business classes I have taken. Professor Almeida does a fantastic job in teaching Corporate Finance. Highly recommended!

par Olatunde O

11 févr. 2019

Very impressive course with immediate applicable knowledge. I will be using NPV to calculate everything including whether to get Solar for my home or not ;).

par Mindy

4 déc. 2017

This course provides an effective overview of Financial analysis methods in a way that drives contextual understanding and application. Highly Recommended.

par Joseph E

22 janv. 2019

Very practical and engaging topics, some question errors need addressing but minor changes to avoid wasted time on an overall fantastic course!

par Gracelyn N W

10 mai 2019

The course is well a positive challenge as well as a great one

It was the best challenge

On to the next with much enthusiasm

Be blessed

par Fang S

27 mai 2018

very practical stuff. However, I think Course 5 & 6 should be placed before Course 3 & 4 because financial valuation come before investment.