Chevron Left
Retour à Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control par Université Columbia

4.7
étoiles
1,452 évaluations
298 avis

À propos du cours

This course introduces the types of cost estimation from the conceptual design phase through the more detailed design phase of a construction project. In addition, the course highlights the importance of controlling costs and how to monitor project cash flow. Students will work on a break-even analysis of construction tasks in a project....

Meilleurs avis

EM
19 mars 2020

Excellent course but need to improve the videos about building an estimate or make available downloadable content because it is difficult to watch the things that are explained on those videos.

AS
15 déc. 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed the detailed explanations provided by Professor Odeh and the professionals from Turner & Townsend. My most favourite part was the lectures of Sam Spata and Ben Miller.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 298 Avis pour Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control

par Vyron G

1 févr. 2019

Very interesting course with substantial and important information and knowledge to get you familiar with cost estimating and cost control. Very practical and close to reality examples.

par Andre M

5 mai 2020

great class. I learned a lot of valuable information. I am looking to make a career change and I hope this online learning course will aid me significantly in making a career switch.

par Edward R M

20 mars 2020

Excellent course but need to improve the videos about building an estimate or make available downloadable content because it is difficult to watch the things that are explained on those videos.

par Server B

28 juin 2018

first few week Presenters are just reading from prompters.. no enthusiasm.. no interactive learning… boring.. examples they use as if it is from an ancient text… very outdated.. They could have at least shared the slides or fıles they show for example. very dry... need much improvement

par Joel T

18 avr. 2018

This is my second time through this course. The first time through I failed the peer graded assignment because a peer didn't agree that one of the four answers was correct. The second time through a peer counted a different answer as being incorrect and I failed again. I believe my answers are correct, I've asked for the correct answer and have not received a reply. There is no learning benefit to submitting peer graded assignments and just hope peers come up with the same answer and never knowing the correct answer. Without feedback from the instructor, I guess I'll have to take this course for a third time and hope that a peer agrees with all of my answers.

par Mrudula M

17 mai 2020

I dont think i wouldve got this opportunity in any online coachinig website. This is really going to help me when i graduate and start working. With great practical knowledge.

par Pradheep G

19 mars 2020

I am thankful to Coursera to offer the grate course through online. I learned most important points through the subjected course.

Thanks a lot to Mr. is Ibrahim Odeh.

par Luis G Z

23 mai 2019

Course should include more exercises. Questions in quizzes were many times unclear and just an exercise of memory, not for real learning/understanding concepts. Last section on "Lean" is poor, very confusing, with far too many mixed concepts, very difficult to understand, even though the concept itself looks simple.

par Tuna Y

26 août 2018

Dear Mr. Ibrahim,

First of all thank you for all your efforts and all professionals who are contributed to preparations of this specialization. As a construction professional experienced in airport projects for 10 years and electrical construction manager i found this course useful to refresh information and catch up with up to date trends of construction. I would like to make only a suggestion regarding to this particular Cost Estimating and Cost Control course, May be you can consider to add a session about MEP estimating roughly mentions about mechanical requirements, power requirements and possible cost estimating methodologies on MEP Bids. Another session may be mentioned in LEAN section for Target Value Design.

Thank you very much again for your efforts.

Best Regards

Tuna Yekeler

par Simin S

22 juil. 2018

This great course is really helpful to my work, thanks to all professors of this course, and really appreciate yours knowledge!!

par Aniket D

1 mai 2020

This is great course presented by industry experts with real examples.

par Vishal H

5 mai 2020

good professionals with good experience in the industry.

par Sandeep K

15 avr. 2020

Very informative and knowledge improving platform.

par NIKHIL S

10 avr. 2020

The course was interesting to learn.

par Thanushan V

1 mai 2020

Good Course

par Indriyani J

30 janv. 2019

Peer Review Assignment is not effective because people who may not understand the materials and think their answer is the only rightest answer get to fail you with no tolerance whatsoever. They don't even give any explanation. No consideration whether your number is different because you round it up. I can't even ask why they failed me and can't check their work. The lecturers put a great effort to share knowledge tho. No solution from customer service other than keep submitting.

par Karl B

30 janv. 2017

You need to be working in a specific discipline to do each line item on a spreadsheet for detailed estimating. Here several ways of estimating are presented from budget to detail. Also Lean philosophy is incorporated. Owner cost protection and project specification, with respect to cost and ROI are addressed.

In short if you are already an engineer, then these concepts are job applicable Right A Way (RAW).

If you are learning, then this is also the right place to start. It may open a new door for your next job.

You can list this achievement to your CV/Resume.

I recommend you take all 4 parts of the Construction Management program thru Coursera, course work created by Columbia University.

par Renata B F

4 mai 2017

Este curso apresenta algumas ferramentas para a elaboração de orçamento. Quais itens devem fazer parte do orçamentos, quantas fases temos na elaboração do orçamento, desde do inicial até o detalhado. Apresenta também um pouco sobre a gestão de orçamento nos EUA, que parece ser bem parecido com o que encontramos no Brasil. Para quem tem experiencia na área vale a pena para conhecer a estratégias nos EUA. Para quem não tem experiencia, e não conhece o vocabulário em português terá dificuldade em entender em inglês, porque a tradução "ao pé da letra" não funciona. Eu gostei bastante do curso e indico a quem tem experiência na área que faça.

par Mustafa S O

4 oct. 2017

As a Cost Control Engineer I have learned new things and enforced my knowledge, thanks to this class I will have a more systematic approach to cost controlling. The speakers were very good and informative. as a constructive critique the the BIM or 5D class was a little vague for people not acquainted with the software. and although I have learned very useful things in the lean class, it would have been really good if there was an example on operational cost control during the project construction. I would like to thank all of the speakers.

par Donavan G

7 nov. 2020

The course as a whole was excellent. All the Industry experts in teaching the subjects was also excellent, and the use of examples and illustrations were very good. Some of the questions to be submitted was a bit tricky, but it was worthwhile to review the videos again for better understanding of the topic..The section on "Contract Cash Flow" is very informative and insightful. It will definitely assist me in my career. Thanks for the opportunity to be part of this excellent course.

Donivill Golding

South Africa

par Shawky G

25 mai 2017

I liked the material I learned in these classes. Although I have been life time (35+ years) in the field of construction -Started as a designer architect and then switched to a field engineer and a construction manage-I found so many topics in these courses new to me specially in the Construction Finance class. I do appreciate the chance which introduced me to Coursera - University of Columbia classes.

par Tom M

30 juin 2021

Although duration of course seemed long, it was very informative and comprehensive. the instructor were very knowledgeable and systematic in presenting each segment of the course. I just wish the slide presentation on computer software and technology could be enlarge so we can see the details of the software demonstration. Overall , just like the other specialization courses, i love it.

par Gabriel M

12 févr. 2018

Very informative course which covers the basics and foundations of Construction Cost Estimating and Cost Control. The Earned Value Method module was very interesting and useful. In addition, all professors are extremely qualified and experienced. To wrap it up, I recommend this course to anyone interesting in learning the foundations of Cost Control and Cost Estimating.

par Giovanni G

15 juin 2020

The course is excellent with some exceptions, I learned several concept and the quiz are interesting because is focuses in detail important, If you are a beginner with some knowledge in this area I recommended the course , the instructors are good but can be better . The information is good , the presentation must be better , very small print in large space.

par Shyaka N J

22 juin 2020

I'm very grateful to have taken this course, I thank Coursera and the whole team that given me the

lectures through all this course, I do really for energy and your time.

I loved it because, it's flexible you can learn on your own pace and also availability, I hope the knowledge I have acquired will help me to move to another level.

BLESS YOU.