Chevron Left
Retour à Algorithmic Toolbox

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Algorithmic Toolbox par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.6
étoiles
9,789 évaluations
2,069 avis

À propos du cours

The course covers basic algorithmic techniques and ideas for computational problems arising frequently in practical applications: sorting and searching, divide and conquer, greedy algorithms, dynamic programming. We will learn a lot of theory: how to sort data and how it helps for searching; how to break a large problem into pieces and solve them recursively; when it makes sense to proceed greedily; how dynamic programming is used in genomic studies. You will practice solving computational problems, designing new algorithms, and implementing solutions efficiently (so that they run in less than a second)....

Meilleurs avis

SG
19 janv. 2017

I liked the fact that the algorithms are not just the introductory searching and sorting algorithms. The assignments are fairly difficult (I have decent scripting experience), but not impossibly so.

MM
28 sept. 2017

good course, I like the fact you can use a lot of languages for you programming exercises, the content is really helpful, I would like to have more indications from the grading system to save time.

Filtrer par :

1376 - 1400 sur 1,992 Avis pour Algorithmic Toolbox

par Sai T

23 août 2020

Nice

par Vishnu.S

19 août 2020

good

par Ram P

10 août 2020

good

par Anurag G

28 juil. 2020

Good

par Sahana K

23 juil. 2020

Good

par N S L K K

17 juin 2020

good

par Mandeep K

4 juin 2020

nice

par Devanshi c

11 avr. 2020

😊😊

par Nadiah A

29 mars 2020

NICE

par Muhammad N I

29 mars 2020

Nice

par KUMAR A

28 janv. 2020

nice

par sana u

9 oct. 2019

well

par BATHALA L V V

23 sept. 2019

good

par adesh m k p

13 sept. 2019

good

par Pvss p

10 juil. 2018

good

par Ganapathi N K

24 janv. 2018

Fine

par Kunle B

29 sept. 2017

good

par Ankit K

19 mars 2016

good

par Ivan G

15 août 2020

fun

par Yogesh k k

31 juil. 2020

4.8

par 伍宇恒

23 sept. 2018

非常好

par Igor S

19 déc. 2016

The course content is very good and is must have if you missed that stuff in colledge. It teaches of algorithmic analysis so you know which algorithm is more efficient, gives some examples of cool techniques and provides challenges to apply those techniques.

However, there are things that I hate about this course. First of all this is about forums. They are broken down into sessions and there are too little people on each session. Staff provides exactly zero help. If you are stuck, you have no hope on these forums and will need to find help somewhere else.

Programming assignments are great, they are relevant, interesting, challenging and the automatic grader system estimates not only if we get the correct answer but also the efficiency of our algorithm. There have been some problems in divide and conquer section though. I've been struggling with implementing binary search (which is quite a simple algorithm!) in JavaScript to pass the assignment for weeks. I've written and rewritten it in different ways, done hundreds of manual and automated tests, posted on course forums (receiving zero answers) and have gotten the same error again and again. I was able to solve this only by switching to Python. I am quite sure there is a mistake in the test case, which cost me hours and hours. Overall, the programming assignments are very time consuming and lack of support and not showing test cases make things worse.

I do not like that we cannot see the test case where our program fails. Perhaps, if you could figure out a test case that might fail in your program that would make you a better programmer but I felt more like it was wasting of our time. The main thing is to analyze the test case that fails and understand why, it will bring the same result without wasting time and feeding anger,

Some lecturers have a strong Russian accent, that is very distracting. It is not a lot of work to take some English pronunciation training before making a course, isn't it?

Overall, I enrolled for the specialization and planned to buy it in full but bought only this course to start with. Now I am glad I did that because now I am not sure about buying the other courses and will look somewhere else first.

Anyway, the creators of the course have done a great job, which is highly appreciated. I believe you can make this course much better by fixing the issues I pointed above.

par Deeprashmi N

20 juil. 2018

The course is awesome and hold immense value for anyone who is new to the field of Computer Science or just wants to add to his or her repertoire the amazing world of Algorithms. Algorithms are the basic tool of any Computer Scientist and are still in constant demand and development. The course develops the knowledge of this very important topic starting off from the basic and slowly but steadily building towards the apex.

That said, the course sometimes becomes a bit heavy and multiple reviews of the same video is needed to completely understand a topic. Algorithms is not a topic made for spoon feeding and this course treats it this way.

The professors are awesome, each one with their own idiosyncrasies which is both fun and interesting at the same time. The level they go to to make a topic clear is appreciable. On this note I would really like to mention Prof. Alexander Kulikov for his brilliant way of teaching and making each topic his playground with his real life scenarios and "toy examples".

Overall, this course has blown me away. Thanks to all that made this course and in the end thanks to Coursera.

par Zizou

16 mars 2020

I learnt a lot! I loved the programming challenges given for each week. I made sure to solve all the problems and not just the required amount to pass the specific week, each week has a mix of easy, medium, hard problems. If you only do the required amount of problems to pass, then you might end up skipping the hard problems. The hard problems are challenging. One thing I did not like about the the course is help on issues posted in discussion forums, I did not get any help yet on the few times I posted in the forum. But many a times the questions one will have would be discussed previously, so make sure to go through the discussion forum to find if your question has already been discussed if you had one. I liked that they taught how to write stress tests, but its not easy to come up with naive solutions some times and this where better support from TA's would help.

par jed.schneider@gmail.com

21 août 2018

There are a number of things I would improve, chief among them the forums are difficult to navigate or get meaningful info about what a solution might look like. Part of this is probably a (spoken) language issue, another is probably the level that people come to the course with. Also, at some points there are some true disconnects between what is taught and what you are expected to figure out. Other modules feel about right (week 5, for example). I feel like many of these issues could be resolved by 1) providing the data for the samples in the pdfs as part of the starter files, 2) managing the starter files as a github project where issues can be raised and tackled. Overall though, really great information and I am excited by the level of knowledge I've acquired through thinking about these ideas deeply over the last month.