Chevron Left
Retour à Managing Social and Human Capital

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Managing Social and Human Capital par Université de Pennsylvanie

4.5
étoiles
2,048 évaluations
359 avis

À propos du cours

People are the most valuable asset of any business, but they are also the most unpredictable, and the most difficult asset to manage. And although managing people well is critical to the health of any organization, most managers don't get the training they need to make good management decisions. Now, award-winning authors and renowned management Professors Mike Useem and Peter Cappelli of the Wharton School have designed this course to introduce you to the key elements of managing people. Based on their popular course at Wharton, this course will teach you how to motivate individual performance and design reward systems, how to design jobs and organize work for high performance, how to make good and timely management decisions, and how to design and change your organization’s architecture. By the end of this course, you'll have developed the skills you need to start motivating, organizing, and rewarding people in your organization so that you can thrive as a business and as a social organization....

Meilleurs avis

DM
19 oct. 2018

Excellent Course. Understanding human behavior is one of the most difficult challenges in an organization. This course describes the challenges well and offers approaches to tackling those challenges.

J
4 nov. 2019

A fantastic, thought provoking course. Gave us a lot of things to reflect on and be mindful of in different situations in the organization. Thank you Prof Cappelli and Prof Useem. Grateful to you.

Filtrer par :

251 - 275 sur 353 Avis pour Managing Social and Human Capital

par Francesca M

20 févr. 2019

The course was very informative for people who don't have any background in business. It gives great insight on the various organizational structures, and it does a great job of explaining what a company has to go through if they want to lead a significant change within their organization. There were some typos that I noticed on some of the slides, however, it was overall a great course to take.

par Ajit P

1 oct. 2017

Course provides a good overview of managerial decision making, change management and human resource management. Professors Cappelli and Useem have discussed several good case studies in this course. For Example: Toyota Production System Vs. GM, Charles Schwab decision making, US Marine Corp, JPL and Cisco, It was worth of my time. I exposed to several new concepts and theories to ponder.

par Aarthi E

6 juil. 2020

Great examples. Thank you! I've learned a lot in such a short time! I would definitely recommend the course to others. The only downside of the course: Sometimes, the quiz questions seem to cover trivial topics and not get at the profound underlying principles. (E.g. Week 4 - Quiz. What was the organizational structure of Rose Company? This is purely a memory test.)

par Andrew H

6 mars 2020

I think this is an excellent, short course. Some of the videos are edited poorly so pieces of stories are missing, but having the two professors and all the good stories and examples makes for very interesting lessons. I think this course is packed with good material, and I would have appreciated more material. There are always similar courses.

par Gyan S

8 avr. 2020

The first two weeks are really good with the old techniques of classroom teaching with the help of slides. Great examples explained there. The next two weeks are totally different with the minimal use of slides and theories explained through drawn out real life events/ companies decision. A very useful course in the end.

par pedro w

6 août 2017

Este curso prove uma fonte razoável de gestão sobre pessoas e estruturas organizacionais. Senti que faltaram mais exemplos atuais que pudessem ser relacionados aos dias de hoje. No overall, muito boa a provocação para utilizar as teorias no dia a dia, entretanto, com poucos referenciais teóricos.

par Zainutdinova E

16 oct. 2019

I find examples of decision making very useful and interesting. At the same time, I felt a lack of structured knowledge. Some ideas could be expressed shorter, probably. Nevertheless, the course is good and professional. Would be nice to have some practise tasks, though.

par James R

27 oct. 2019

This is a pretty good course. Most of the ideas and principles taught should be "common sense" to anyone who has dealt with people and/or led teams before. Unfortunately, corporate leadership in most cases ignore the basic principles of and don't implement them either.

par Robert C T

2 sept. 2019

Well designed and informative course overall. Expanding with a little more content on external aspects of social capital (e.g., applications for dealing with customers, partners, etc.) and on strategic workforce planning would be helpful.

par Matheus B

29 mars 2019

The actual course was quite good. Did not particularly like the quizes, as the questioning did not test insight, but blunt facts (almost to the degree of "what was the second thing John said"). Would recommend, but not for a certificate.

par Maria L Z

20 avr. 2020

I really liked the way the professors explain this subject which i ve never heard before, I mean all of us know human resources and their tasks but not all the studies and the thoery concerning the management of the individuals.

par Ziyi W

1 mai 2019

While the case studies in the course are quite interesting, a lot of improvements can be made... I feel the effort from the professors can be greater when I compare this course to the previous two courses in the specialization.

par Gregor Q

27 mai 2020

This was an interesting course with lots of useful information. However, especially Professor Useem's lectures occasionally felt rambling rather than carefully presented. More careful scripting would have been great here.

par Lori K

21 avr. 2019

I found the course fascinating. I wish we had more information and longer videos.

Also, I would have liked the video transcripts to have been edited before passing on to students. So many mistakes and misspellings.

par Sheldon M

2 avr. 2020

Good info, a bit vague in terms of what needs to be deeply absorbed, and what is simply examples.

The last guy took a bit long to get to his points, but overall the two were pleasant to listen to, and intelligent.

par Shaun Z

4 oct. 2018

Much of the content is too anecdotal, but in a good way. Thus the four stars. However, more detailed coverage of the points on the slides, or at least more references for further study, will improve the course.

par Chase H

27 févr. 2019

Overal this course is quite useful to me, and I think it will be better if we can go into more details of current workplace examples, such as the success and failed stories of leading organizational changes.

par Vyom G

24 mai 2020

Faculty were quite articulate in explaining ideas and the content was also at par. Would help if there was more focus on Social Capital and more real life examples on disruptive org structures in start ups.

par Glenda M

6 sept. 2020

I really enjoyed learning the course. i wanna thank the instructors for the hard work they've done , to help me achieve more knowledge and skills based on managing social and human capital.

par Rohit B

11 juin 2020

Its basically understanding the human behavior ,yes it has some amazing examples which will make you wonder a lot . So its a sweet little course in this business foundation specialization.

par Karolis K

15 janv. 2018

Very good quality content with a lot of real-life examples. Although I have seeked more evidence-based ideas to take away. I mean moe theory that could be jused in real life

par Derek E

15 mai 2017

Could have been more challenging, but overall a worthwhile course. Introduces a great range of ideas with real world case studies. Easy to understand and well presented.

par Tim V

3 juin 2020

In general a good course with useful content, but lack of good examples and relatively short content compared to other courses of their business foundation specification.

par Melanie G

8 janv. 2018

Prof. Useem was difficult to follow. His train of thought kept veering off and I often struggled to find the information he was wishing to convey, unfortunately.

par Nick P

28 août 2017

Mr Cappelli's set up of the foundations was engaging and interesting. I especially enjoyed Mr Useem's framing of the content through examples and narratives.