Chevron Left
Retour à Water Resources Management and Policy

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Water Resources Management and Policy par Université de Genève

4.6
stars
450 évaluations
109 avis

À propos du cours

Water management today is faced with new challenges such as climate change or the effects of human activity. Public and private stakeholders who are active in this field must develop new ways to better manage the water cycle "as a whole". The objective of this MOOC is to develop an understanding of the problems related to water management. Firstly, this course will define a resource and, more specifically, the resource of water. It will look at how water is used and the activities associated with it as well as any potential conflicts. The course will look at water management in detail through the analysis of the different types of rights and obligations associated with, for example, the development of a multi-sectorial regulation system or a watershed management approach. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: 1) Identify the main issues and strategies linked to water resource management 2) Acquire the key reading material needed to understand the many variables (environmental, institutional and political) which affect water and which, in terms of management, may require adjustment. This course was developed by the Geneva Water Hub. Alongside researchers from the University of Geneva from a range of faculties, researchers from other universities and research centres will be involved in this course. Practitioners who deal daily with the political dimension of water management will also input into the course. This MOOC is designed for all those interested in the water sector. Prior training is not necessary to follow our program. The findings presented in this course can be easily reapplied to different contexts and to different scales of analysis. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development » (www.coursera.org/learn/ecosystem-services) and the one in "International Water Law" (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). This course is funded by the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC). This course is also available in French : www.coursera.org/learn/gestion-eau...

Meilleurs avis

HK

May 18, 2018

i have gained alot out of the course, is there a statement of accomplishment for this course? thank you very much for the knowledge gained, i am looking forward to participate in other courses.

AS

Apr 30, 2016

very interesting course, with good examples. Just the fact it is french with quizz in english makes it not that easy!!! Some of the module are just too theoretical. But nice, very good overall

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 107 Avis pour Water Resources Management and Policy

par Abdulrahman M S A

Nov 16, 2019

I have learnt much things in my major that will be reflected with my work also with my life

this course opened my eyes to lots of things witch must be considered especially with genuine objects like water

i also learned water management in different fields and how to deal with this issue as it integrated method IWRM and how conflicts are being sloven and a lot of various items that i achieved making me more aware and thoughtful when addressing this object

thanks for all doctors , masters and all involved who exert their effort to deliver this material as it is .

par Raoulle F

Feb 15, 2017

This course was great- I certainly enjoyed learning about water resources management and policy. As I have a legal background, I particularly found Professors Sangbana and Mbengue's discourse on the legal aspect of water resources management (Module 5) engaging. In addition, the course presented different case studies as well as various interviews with numerous resource persons that allowed me to have a grasp of the real world applications of the concepts involved.

par Vincentius K M

Aug 09, 2019

The course was very informative. I specifically enjoyed the case studies as this made it more relate-able compared to if it was more theory based. I also enjoyed the fact that both developing and developed countries examples were used for the case studies. I compliment the course administrators for a job well done. I strongly recommend anyone wishing to develop skills in water management to partake in this course.

par Lutine d B

Sep 23, 2016

I was referred to this course by Diplofoundation Institute (University of Malta) after completing my thesis there on water management in the West Bank. I would like to thank to faculty of the University of Geneva (WaterHub) for providing me with high-level and beautifully structured information on European as well as global water management. Very inspirational.

par Maria C G

Feb 12, 2016

I highly recommend this course. The class was very informative and structured in such a way that it built the understanding and knowledge of Water Resources Management in a local and global perspective in a smooth flow. The films are mostly in French, with English subtitles. And you can access to the text in English which you can download and read for note

par Francois R

Dec 22, 2017

Un bon cours, qui jette correctement les bases de la gouvernance de l'eau à de multiples échelles spatio-temporelles. Le volume de travail se limitant à de l'écoute, ce MOOC est parfait lorsque le besoin de l'auditeur se limite à l'acquisition de connaissances générales sur le sujet, ce qui était exactement mon cas. Merci et bonne continuation.

par Kelly K

May 09, 2017

This was the first course I've taken through Coursera and it was worth it. The topics covered in this course were well presented and the case studies and guest speakers demonstrated the concepts in action in the real world. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in learning about water resource management.

par M R K

Jul 17, 2019

This course is absolutely designed for water resources management practitioners with practical examples of disputes and laws of water of trans boundaries conflicts.

i appreciate the efforts that has been done for arranging and materializing this course so efficiently and thematically.

par Natalie F

Feb 01, 2018

This course was a great introduction to international water management. I feel I learned a lot about the subject and the instructors were enjoyable to listen to. The course is in French with English subtitles, but it was still easy to follow along and get a complete experience.

par Muhammad H

Jun 13, 2019

I found this course very informative and helpful in water resources management. I would recommend this to every one out there of any educational level if they want to understand water management and its environmental impacts.

par Alexander R A

Apr 22, 2018

Very practical and added to my water treatment experience. There need to be availability of water before deciding on what water treatment technology is required. Great course which when fully taught in English will be helpful.

par Anandraj S

May 15, 2016

This course provided me a strong comprehensive understanding of the basics of water management and the issues associated with it, which was effectively demonstrated through case studies across the world.

par Luis A

Mar 06, 2016

The best tutors on this subject. Swiss and international case studies. Interviews with a lot of professional experts. RECOMMENDED 100% if you are involved in public/private water management sector.

par HILLARY K K

May 18, 2018

i have gained alot out of the course, is there a statement of accomplishment for this course? thank you very much for the knowledge gained, i am looking forward to participate in other courses.

par Antoine S

Apr 30, 2016

very interesting course, with good examples. Just the fact it is french with quizz in english makes it not that easy!!! Some of the module are just too theoretical. But nice, very good overall

par Klaus S

Oct 17, 2018

I learnt a lot especially when its to saving and managing water for the society...With increase in global warming water resource management should be taken seriously because water is life

par Elnur A

Nov 30, 2019

This is the course that started a new area of interest for me by providing guidance and very clear case studies that make one think and analyze important water management topics.

par Sreejith E K

Feb 15, 2016

I am really thankful to Dr. Christian Brethaut and Professor Geraldine Pflieger. Thank you very much for this wonderful course. Looking forward to meet you in another course.

par Habib D

Aug 27, 2019

The course increases my understanding of water management and policy but also sparks my interest to extend to the management and policy of other natural resources in general.

par Rajeev C

Feb 06, 2016

The course and the course material were very informative . The lectures were also veru to the point. It was very nice learning experience!!!

Thank you once again!!!

par Miriam B G

Sep 13, 2018

This is a useful course that has several international study cases that will help to analize the problems of water resources management all around the world.

par Agustin J P P

Jun 13, 2016

Interesting and informative. Perfect combination of lecturers, information and amazing views. Look forward to Water Resources Management and Policy 2.0!!!

par Ricardo F M

Nov 04, 2017

This course is very insteresting because the professors give us many examples of how policies of water management are developing in diferent cpuntries.

par Mohamed S

Sep 23, 2017

it is useful to have a whole picture of water-related relations between countries.

it is also useful to see a different methods of water management.

par Shamail A K

Aug 22, 2018

Very insightful orientation course to understand the foundations of IWRM, multi-sectoral regulations etc. explained with interesting case studies.