Chevron Left
Retour à World Design for Video Games

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour World Design for Video Games par California Institute of the Arts

4.4
508 notes
131 avis

À propos du cours

Start creating your world. A game world is not just a backdrop for your game—be it minimal or detailed, contained or part of a much bigger universe, it provides the context for your player. Ultimately, a game world should feel alive and wholly unique to any player who will experience it. In this course, we will explore game worlds in existing games and study the art and influences that inform their themes and styles. We will also investigate key components of environment and level design as well as strategies designers use to define gameplay or advance it. We’ll also look at navigation and the elements that make your world as real (or unreal) as you want it to be. A weekly challenge will prompt you to explore styles and inspirations for possible game worlds, and you’ll learn effective ways to communicate your ideas from concepts to presentation-worthy proofs of concept....

Meilleurs avis

RC

Jan 23, 2019

I'm not a effective learner so I can't get much from it, but I certainly learn some rules for building world, I would review these contents some days, thank you so much for your teaching!

TT

Feb 07, 2018

The videos are nice and clear, and I love seeing examples for the homework, it really helped. I also loved reviewing my peers and having them review me, they had awesome ideas!

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 126 Examens pour World Design for Video Games

par Peter S

Jul 02, 2019

I like this course and thank Théotime for it. I have eventually got understanding what is the level design and found out root requirements about the location design. Also I understand now the process of creation of the world. It is new for me.

At the same time it was more difficult to go through it (in comparison with two other which I completed before) because of many many questions which Théotime made in video and less answers. Actually full answers are presented only on pages with material for self-education but not in video material. It was difficult trying to gather information from video having so many questions.

par Aditya z

Jun 30, 2019

getting a review in the peer grade assignment is so time cosuming

par Juan C L R

Jun 17, 2019

I very basic, I would like to learn how to create a deeper world but still I loved the course

par Wafa' B

May 08, 2019

This had been a great course, instructor Théotime did a great job in breaking down the process of building a game world and taking it out from a mere concept to written words.

par Ionut M C

May 07, 2019

A must-have. Love it so much. Great instructor, really passionate about the topic.

par Cary M K

Mar 20, 2019

The lectures did not always fully relate to the assignments. It often felt like the instructor was rambling rather than teaching.

par Ran C

Jan 23, 2019

I'm not a effective learner so I can't get much from it, but I certainly learn some rules for building world, I would review these contents some days, thank you so much for your teaching!

par Julian A

Oct 30, 2018

You could improve it a little more making the videos more dynamic.

par V.B.Srevarshan

Oct 09, 2018

My personal area of interest in games has always been game design, level design, character design, story writing and world design. When I found this course, I thought it would involve a lot of art work and 3D modelling. I am not so artistic, but when I started to watch videos and complete assignments, it gave me a lot of confidence. It also motivated me to improve my artwork after I completed the course. I learnt three things - 1) first and foremost describe your world in theory with all the intricate details 2) don't create your game world from void, seek inspiration for art from other games or media 3) proceed with the art work and 3D modelling

par Ruaan G

Sep 19, 2018

Too basic. Feels like it could've been one lesson but it was cut and stretched over 4 weeks because in this specialization we pay for time, not content. I could learn as much from a Ted talk or similar.

par Breanne C

Sep 07, 2018

This instructor is incredibly difficult to listen to, his cadence and non-neutral accent make it a conscious effort to focus on what he's saying rather than how he says it. If you're uncomfortable in front of a camera, that's fine, just team up with someone who can present your material on your behalf; this is why we can collaborate with others to whom our strengths compliment one another. I highly advise that Théo take a second pass at the video content with a colleague who is comfortable in front of a camera and has a neutral speaking voice, as I'm finding that I am absorbing little to no content (which is rather counterproductive) unless I pause the video and simply read the transcript.

par Ricardo R

Aug 21, 2018

Not a very interesting course. The material all revolved around finding art online and never really getting a solid foundation for creating a real world for video games.

par Zheng L

Jun 28, 2018

cool class, I`ve learned some principles to create game world from this class

par Daniel A A G

Jun 28, 2018

Having to identify what makes other worlds interesting is really helping me focus on what makes my game interesting. I Really do think this course helped me out a lot as I was struggling to land ideas into a concrete explanation. Thanks a lot for the course.

par Nuno F A C

Jun 24, 2018

Substitles are bad, it's hard to understand most of the times what is being said. Also, the narration could be better

par Mustafa A K

May 21, 2018

The lessons were pretty well designed and the material was sufficient, but (not meant to be rude) it was a bit distracting when the tutor pronounced and accented the words a bit weirdly. Nevertheless, great course.

par Ekaterina S

Apr 05, 2018

Very bad lectures: very hard to understand the lecturer (very bad english), no material/knowledge shared only a lot of unanswered hypothetical questions brought up.

par Luis E

Mar 31, 2018

loved it, great resource material, and great teacher.

par Licinio S

Mar 19, 2018

great!

par Tatum T

Feb 07, 2018

The videos are nice and clear, and I love seeing examples for the homework, it really helped. I also loved reviewing my peers and having them review me, they had awesome ideas!

par 梁爽

Jan 19, 2018

So nice.

par 王恺越

Dec 19, 2017

The assignments are great but the videos don't seem well organized for me. They are just a bunch of tips for world designing and are not systematic.

par Valery

Nov 09, 2017

Very informative

par Gianmarco D

Nov 01, 2017

The assignments are ok and the material too, the fact is the course is basically dead, as I have no possibility to let others review my work (reviewed 6 people during week 2 and got nobody reviewing my work, misteriously, even though I submitted three days before the due time). This is a serious problem as paying learners (as I am) risk having to switch session and to pay more, with their learning plans destroyed. Also, there is no moderator, no instructor, no staff member, I'm the only one surfing the forums, and the course content is a pack of advices without a structured form and solidity. Hope Coursera and CalArts staff do something to rekindle this course as it could be really awesome.

par Alejandro M G M

Oct 31, 2017

Beautiful. : 3 Really enjoyed it