Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to User Experience Design

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to User Experience Design par Georgia Institute of Technology

4.5
étoiles
4,522 évaluations
1,082 avis

À propos du cours

The focus of this course is to introduce the learner to User Experience (UX) Design User Experience design is design that is user centered. The goal is to design artifacts that allow the users to meet their needs in the most effective efficient and satisfying manner. The course introduces the novice to a cycle of discovery and evaluation and a set of techniques that meet the user's needs. This course is geared toward the novice. It is for learners that have heard about "user experience" or "user interface" design but don't really know much about these disciplines. The course mantra is that “Design is a systematic and data driven process.” Design is systematic because it is based on a set of techniques and also on a cycle of discovery. In this course the learner is introduced to the four step user interface design cycle. Along the way learners are exposed to a set of techniques to gather information about a) what the user needs b)how to design and model interfaces based on these and then how to evaluate the design to ascertain that the user's goals are met. These techniques are tools that are used in a standardized manner and give us the data we use in our design. This means that anyone (regardless of their current training) that is willing to learn these techniques and follow the proposed cycle can be a UX designer!...

Meilleurs avis

AO
22 oct. 2017

The best introduction classes, gives an overall idea about UI/UX. Grateful for the efforts taken by the Georgia Tech and Coursera. Looking forward to see more courses related to my career. Thank you.

RT
4 juil. 2020

For an introductory course, this is very efficient and effective in learning terminologies and get a good high-level understanding of Process, types and common techniques used in Design process :)

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 1,076 Avis pour Introduction to User Experience Design

par Jungmin C

11 févr. 2019

Good quality of lectures and easy to understand them. However, there are some spelling errors and repetitive questions in the quiz.

par Serina D F

3 févr. 2021

Overall a good introduction to User Experience Design, if a bit dry. The formatting and wording of some of the quiz questions were very confusing at times, with many spelling and grammatical errors. The pop-ups encouraging me to "Keep Learning to reach your goals!" were very irritating (not to mention redundant) mid-video lesson, but I don't know if that was the fault of the course or Coursera.

par Christina J

9 janv. 2021

It does have information you can learn but really boring. It's nice that it teaches you the concepts step by step though.

par Lasse K

27 juil. 2020

Very "academic". Lack of real examples and updated materials (one link was even broken).

par Monserrat G

4 déc. 2020

Dr. Arriaga excels in structuring the course materials in a consistent and obvious manner. Her lectures are one of the more straightforward and well-structured introductory UX courses offered here. Her strengths and weaknesses are also seemingly reflected in the depth of materials and topics covered - she excels in the research aspect of UX (data gathering, types of data, and possibly analyses) but seems to mull over the design aspect of UX (lack of material, shorter lectures, and lack of assignments). Her Week 2 and Week 5 materials are very strong but her lectures related to design are a little lackluster. If anyone is looking to glean insight into the research aspect of UX, this will be an excellent introductory course. Shortcomings aside, I was very happy with the rigidity and consistency of her lectures and was satisfied with the course.

par Divyanga G

26 févr. 2019

I am in the creative field, an architect and an urban planner. User interface design did not just help me understand the importance in a computer enhanced user interface but also in developing better solutions in every interface that a user come across. I personally loved this beginner course and the reading materials that was shared through this course. I look forward to learn more in the upcoming advanced sessions. Professor Dr. Rosa I. Arriaga did an excellent job in explaining UX design terms in the most simplest way to understand.

Designing cannot be ignored as a separate field, while it is a part of even the tiniest task we carry out. Every small task involves a user experience to it. Hence, I would definitely recommend this course anyone who has an eye for design.

par William C

28 févr. 2019

This course was exactly as described. It provided a good overview of an approach to User Experience Design and helped to familiarize the student with relevant terminology. The time commitment was minimal (I think the estimates provided are on the high-end for time required), however, there was a lot of information provided for someone new to the area of study. After taking this course, I would an expect an individual would have a good idea as to whether they wished to pursue a more in depth study of the topics presented. Key points were reiterated throughout, the video presentations were well done and the quizzes were just challenging enough to ensure you paid attention.

par Rachel L

25 sept. 2020

I liked the professor a lot and she is enthusiastic about this topic. I like how the course took a definition/model of design and then broke it down, with each week focused on a part of the design process. There are lots of links to additional information, some of which are quite good.

The information is covered very quickly and it would be nice to have it presented a little more slowly with examples to illustrate the concepts. The final week, the evaluation phase, could have been longer.

I could see how this sort of course would be great with an actual design project. For an intro to the topic, it was interesting and informative.

par Maria P

27 avr. 2021

This course offers an overview of the 4 steps of Interaction Design. I really liked it! The concepts are easy to understand and there are concrete examples, especially in the first chapter, that one could easily picture for future projects. While I was doing the course, I read Interaction Design by Helen Sharp and I consider it a good exercise to go in deep with the theory that Dr. Arriaga gives. However, if you're looking to learn more detailed concepts like research techniques, Fogg behaviour grid or the parts of a wireframe, I highly recommend you take an advanced course.

par Yana V

29 août 2017

Dr. Rosa Arriaga is super arcitulate teacher!! (And super stylish:) Thank you so much! Especially for repeating key points several times - that was very useful teaching technique. I was a complete novice in the UX field and I understood everything from the course easily! Maybe it was because I have a degree in Psychology and some phases of UX are very similar to concepts of experimental Psychology.

The amount of information is rather small so it is indeed only an introduction to the field so that you can understand what UX design is all about in general.

par Shivani B

30 mai 2020

It is a good course for anybody starting with UX Design or wants to brush up their knowledge after having worked on it ( as an involvement).

For somebody seeking a base(strong concepts hold) value from this course, will reap tremendous benefits from the quizzes as well. As they are designed to be, both to brain exercising and encourages an ability to develop a greater understanding of UX Design.

Best Part: It embeds nicely and firmly into your heads if you grab the basic concept of her teachings.

par David S

4 févr. 2021

Excellent, albeit very technical overview of UX Design. A lot of the information was conceptional, don't expect to learn how to actually go about developing an app wireframe or website prototype, but this course will help you better understand important principles of UXD. I knew next to nothing about UXD, but now I feel more confident in how I will go about my web design work. If you are like the pre-course me, you will find this information useful.

Overall, I found this course very helpful!

par Anastasia K

14 juil. 2020

That was my first course on Coursera, and I must say that was a very good start that gave me the motivation to continue studying online.

The program of the course is well structured and gives a clear understanding of what UX-design is. You can't land your first job in the field right after completing the course but you'll get the directions in which you can develop your skills and knowledge.

I highly recommend this introductory course for everyone who is thinking about a career change.

par Jason H

30 juin 2019

really enjoyed this introductory course. Quizzes were relatively easy and straightforward and for the most part avoided the "gotcha" method. They were mean to make sure you understood the broad concept. Enjoyed the professor's speaking style. would've enjoyed more real world examples such as Norman's Door in the intro (maybe a picture of the door he referenced and why its design was poor). but overall a good intro and has me interested in learning more about CX and UX.

par Jeremia M

3 oct. 2016

This course was very real, current and useful in my life. The content was well structured & delivered exceptionally well. I liked the fact that it was both theoretically robust and practically inclined, the examples utilised where relatable and easy to follow. I also appreciated the passion is the delivery of the course by the lecturer, her enthusiasm made watching all the videos worthwhile. Thank you for this introduction- it made a significant difference in my life

par umer B

3 juil. 2017

This is my first attempt to do any online certification and I was really confused before starting this course but after completing my certification. I must say it was totally worth it. I have learned about lots of new tools which I previously did not know about and also learned lots of new techniques to apply on making a new system. I will definitely do more certifications in this field to learn about more new skills.

par Alexey K

14 mai 2020

Great course and a very skillful instructor! Content is well presented, concise and on-point while the teacher is regularly reviewing the goals of the design and connects them with each of the topics, creating a very strong sense of coherence. The content itself gave me a very solid understanding of what User Experience is about and definitely gave me confidence to become a better designer in all things related.

par Chris B

24 janv. 2020

Very clear and thorough introduction overview of UX Design. I learned a lot from the quality lectures of the professor and the user friendly interface Coursera makes the learning experience awesome. Each lecture has a built in reading and highlighting function which makes is easy for every of for learning. Also as easy note-taking features! Highly recommend this course to anyone interested in UX Design!

par Juan G C Z

3 sept. 2019

A very intuitive, yet full of theory introduction of what User Experience Design means. If you are not familiar with Design or you want to know how to properly start implementing your User Experience Design process this is the place to start. I really liked that almost all the concepts in this course were accompanied by an example to help you better understand how Design is a data driven process.

par David L H

18 oct. 2020

An easily approachable intro course, focussing heavily on the *user experience design cycle*. This is an important perspective for those new to the field as it presents UX design as a systematic discipline, consisting of research and analysis, rather than simply a visual skill. The course gave me a fresh outlook on how I apply UX to my work and actionable methods to improve it right away.

par Bernadene R

6 oct. 2020

This instructor has engaging presentation style and did not overwhelm with information in each of her videos. She was able to provide some great resource links to sites that helped further explain some of the complex subject matter. She chose sites that I thought matched her style of presentation. I feel more comfortable discussing some of the terminology and ideas of the design process.

par Priyamvada S

7 avr. 2020

This course is amazing and very well spread out. Professor Rosa explains each module very clearly and understandably. Regular quizzes at the end of modules helped me a lot to brush up my learning. I am sure this course will help me a lot towards having a good foundation in UX research. I am looking forward to more courses through Georgia Tech. Thank you again for such a wonderful course.

par Esin G

21 mars 2021

If you don't know anything about UX, this course fits perfectly to you. I wanted to learn fundamental stuff about user experience design and this course satisfies me. Dr. Rosa Arriaga is great instructor, she gaves examples to consolidate the topics. I enjoyed the course a lot, and planning to learn more about UX. Thanks to Georgia Tech and Coursera for giving this opportunity.

par Ingy S

7 févr. 2021

as a beginner it is fantastic.

You can test the field of UX design

and you can even test yourself with online learning cause it is free

I purchased the certificate at the end as I appreciate the amount of information I received and proud to announce so with my certificate. and I was very much encouraged to dive deeper into that field (UX design)

par Malcolm S

10 déc. 2020

First step in learning about UX/UI and it was very informative. I've read some comments and I know the course provides very baseline information, but for someone like myself with 0 experience or knowledge in this field, it was very helpful in building my understanding of some of the concepts to design. Looking forward to taking more courses!