Chevron Left
Retour à The Unix Workbench

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour The Unix Workbench par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.7
600 notes
179 avis

À propos du cours

Unix forms a foundation that is often very helpful for accomplishing other goals you might have for you and your computer, whether that goal is running a business, writing a book, curing disease, or creating the next great app. The means to these goals are sometimes carried out by writing software. Software can’t be mined out of the ground, nor can software seeds be planted in spring to harvest by autumn. Software isn’t produced in factories on an assembly line. Software is a hand-made, often bespoke good. If a software developer is an artisan, then Unix is their workbench. Unix provides an essential and simple set of tools in a distraction-free environment. Even if you’re not a software developer learning Unix can open you up to new methods of thinking and novel ways to scale your ideas. This course is intended for folks who are new to programming and new to Unix-like operating systems like macOS and Linux distributions like Ubuntu. Most of the technologies discussed in this course will be accessed via a command line interface. Command line interfaces can seem alien at first, so this course attempts to draw parallels between using the command line and actions that you would normally take while using your mouse and keyboard. You’ll also learn how to write little pieces of software in a programming language called Bash, which allows you to connect together the tools we’ll discuss. My hope is that by the end of this course you be able to use different Unix tools as if they’re interconnecting Lego bricks....

Meilleurs avis

KS

Jan 29, 2018

A wonderful course! Answered so many questions I had and gave me a solid background in Git, Bash, makefiles, and working from the cloud. I will definitely be using these skills in my job search!

SL

Sep 11, 2017

It is suitable for Unix/Linux beginners who are new to shell. It introduces popular code sharing and merging tool GitHub, which most programmers would find very useful in software development.

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 174 Examens pour The Unix Workbench

par Yohannes d

Aug 26, 2019

it's a helpful course someone who really need to know about Linux, git, shell script and cloud.

par Abhishek k

Aug 29, 2019

I have learnt all the basics of linux and unix commands. Its helped me alot.

par Priyanshu T

Sep 01, 2019

Thanks to this course I was able to learn git. Git really saved me when I was doing my Qt assignments cause sometimes it was really difficult to find what broke the code.

par anurag p

Sep 03, 2019

Awesome.

par anshuman

Sep 17, 2019

excellent course

par Abhishek k

Jan 31, 2019

This course good for beginners...and helpful for learning git, linux bash shell and git.Thanks

par Dmitry B

Nov 06, 2018

Good and well-paced course. I'd like to see more Unix and less clouds.

par M A B

Nov 26, 2018

Excellent.

par Kathi R R

Feb 16, 2019

One word "SeanKross is awesome."

par Kyösti P

Mar 10, 2019

Excellent introductory course in to Unix and utilizing some of the basic command line functions as well as some of the progarmming structure basics.

par Rob C

Sep 10, 2018

Really interesting course and a good introduction to shell programming. I did find the learning curve was a little uneven between weeks (1 and 2 were took almost no time, but some quirks in week 3 made it take much longer).

par Sara A

Oct 11, 2018

A very good course!

Before taking this course, I was a little worried to work with Linux. But now I really feel more comfortable with it.

Thanks to the instructor for his efforts.

par Pratyush M

Sep 12, 2018

Its a fairly good course for introduction to the command line. In my opinion, it would benefit from using better formatting commands in text using in-line code snippets like markdown. Also more resources for referring(like cheat sheets) in the very last lesson would be helpful and it would have helped even more if all resources which were mentioned before in the preceding chapters would have been included in the last lesson as well. But yes, I would recommend this to new learners.

par Gautam K

Dec 24, 2017

It was very good course designed for beginner in Unix. Thanks a lot for this. I was expecting a good hands on assignment at each week. The course could be much better if it would have included some more details in all the topics covered.

par Sougata G

Dec 18, 2017

Fantastic book for beginners as well as people who haven't worked on Unix for a long time. Brush up and get going. Very lucid presentation ; gitHub lessons were an additional plus

par Francisco A d A e L

Oct 16, 2017

Excelent course! I am very fluent in R but never tried Unix. This was the perfect opportunity.

par Weiqi Y

Jan 18, 2018

Good Course. Things are useful

par Sajjad B S

Feb 28, 2018

The Bash Programming Sections Could Have Been More Detailed.

Everything Else Is All Right.

par Will J

Aug 07, 2017

I came into the course with some knowledge of the shell but the course really opened up my eyes to how to use some of the more advanced features of bash scripting. To get a five star review, I would have expected some more depth such as including sections on awk or sed. In addition, I would have really like to better understand how people apply these skills in the real world. Especially with the close ties to the Data Science certification (both courses being from John Hopkins), I would have expected to see how a makefile could be used to rebuild analyses or how sed could be used to do some in-stream processing. Bottom line: I'm glad I took the course but wouldn't pay for it as there's way more to learn.

par Roger C

Oct 29, 2017

It's very simple bash (my attention part!) tutorials, and I suggest the video teaching is much better than boring plain text.

par Jiazhi G

Sep 08, 2017

Simple and clear materials for self-learning basic Unix and Bash programming.

par Huajun Z

Jan 16, 2018

It's a very useful course, and helped me to code some simple bash programs, without which my current project would be very laborious. A small piece of suggestion is that content for each week can be further optimized, as the week3 and week4 contents are a bit too much, and week1 is a bit too little.

par peeyush s

Feb 11, 2018

A very nice and compact course.

par surinder

Dec 19, 2017

This is a good course for a level2 beginner

par Dharmesh S

Mar 03, 2018

The course is good for anyone trying to learn basics of UNIX and especially the GIT command