Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Typography

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Typography par California Institute of the Arts

4.8
étoiles
4,348 évaluations
901 avis

À propos du cours

Typography is the art of manipulating the visual form of language to enrich and control its meaning. It’s an essential area of skill and knowledge for graphic designers. Typography predates modern graphic design by around 500 years; it is rich in rules, conventions, and esoteric terminology—but it remains an exciting space for invention and expression. In this rigorous introductory course, we will study, name, and measure the characteristics of letterforms. We’ll consider the pragmatic concerns involved in selecting and combining type. We’ll peek into the 
rich historical, cultural, and aesthetic histories of familiar typefaces. We’ll discuss time-tested conventions and best practices in setting type, as governed by principles of hierarchy and spatial organization. And we’ll explore the expressive, meaning-making potential of type. Informative lectures will be complemented by a series of three peer-assessed assignments, culminating 
in an opportunity to design a full-scale typographic poster. Please note that this is not a software course; a basic working knowledge of Adobe InDesign or other 
page layout software will be assumed. You will need access to a computer and page layout software, such as InDesign, to complete the assignments....

Meilleurs avis

MB
25 juil. 2020

The course is very interesting and well presented, the assignments are really helpful for the learning process. I would recommend to anyone interested in design, art, web design or just for curiosity.

BG
3 août 2020

I thought the assignments worked really cohesively with one another. It helped to keep terms and skills in mind from one assignment to the next. The lecture videos were great, short, and to the point.

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 876 Avis pour Introduction to Typography

par MD. Z H

25 juil. 2020

I like how the videos were created. I like the teachers speaking style. Also it was a fun course indeed. I enjoyed it very much. Thanks for the course

par Franklin C O

7 janv. 2019

I have learned how important the connotative part is typography, I have learned to express feeling by the Type. This course has been very useful for me

par Bonnie K

9 févr. 2018

This was such a fantastic class. I learned A LOT and definitely was my weakest area. I feel much more confident now as I continue to learn. Thank you!!

par Junsong L

10 avr. 2016

I think the most important thing of an online course is to arouse the curiosity so I can continue my exploration on the topic. This course has made it.

par Harika s .

3 sept. 2020

I had a great learning experience, thanks to the friendly instructors. And appreciate the course structure and not to forget, interesting assignments.

par Nathanael W B W

12 mai 2020

informative, offers quite the range of contextual information. Some repetitive elements, but overall really helps newcomers in the world of designing!

par namrata

24 mai 2019

It has been very interesting to build patience & learning in this course. Typography has made me look beyond the four walls and built my own typeface.

par Luka D

6 avr. 2016

Excellent course as a graphic design practitioner and avid reader of typography books i still found plenty of new facts. Its very well thought through

par Mine I

9 août 2020

This course is very beneficial for beginners to typography. If you are interested do not miss it. Assignments can be improved to be more challenging.

par SYED Q

19 juin 2017

one of the important course for every graphic designer who wants to do some thing new and play with there art should choose this.

very helpful for me.

par Nick P

31 oct. 2020

Gives a really nice background in typography to give you a nice base. Really just focus on one typeface, but a nice way to dive in and play with it

par Henry H

29 mars 2020

Excellent course. Covers a good breadth of typographic info and then sets the student up to learn the process of designing and composing with type.

par Gaetano S

2 avr. 2016

It was truly inspirational. Loved the theory associated with more practical assignments and, above all, the teacher was extremely clear and concise

par Mohamed Q

10 juin 2020

Very good course, it is straight to the point, I made tasks with my hand, and I've discovered creative ideas because of this course' instructions.

par Jennifer H

22 sept. 2016

Great course on typography. It gives great historical background on various typefaces and explains a lot of the technical pieces to them as well.

par Aya E

7 juil. 2020

Not biggest fan of type and using it in graphic design, i however loved how this course pushed me into it, and made me see it in a different way

par Christopher G

5 juil. 2020

Really helped me! There is true quality content here! Even though I had done two semesters at Uni of Design I still learnt a lot of new things.

par Julie W

28 mars 2020

Very interesting content (surprisingly so). Loved the brevity of the lectures (lots of info packed in small spaces) and meaningful assignments.

par Chryssel M B

26 déc. 2017

The course was really fun and knowledgeable. I am excited to apply what I have learned here and increase my chances of getting a full-time job!

par Dudy M

17 janv. 2021

I definitely learned a lot and look forward to learning more. Challenged me to keep diligent. Kept me motivated with many tools and reminders.

par Gerdel P

10 juin 2020

This course was very well designed to learn typography. The assignments were accurate to understand type and it was overall an amazing course.

par Juan C E

14 nov. 2016

This course works as a reminder and as an inspiring turning point for my career. Great job curating the contents and choosing the teachers.

par Angelica B

31 oct. 2016

I absolutely loved this course and I could see the impact it had on my design work. It has been the perfect basis to learn about Typography.

par Elina T

22 nov. 2016

Starting the course I wasn't that into typography. The seminar gave me an other more interesting and creative point of view on that field.

par Carissa F

31 mars 2016

great introduction to key concepts of typography and typographic design. lectures were easy to follow, assignments had clear instructions.