Chevron Left
Retour à Systems Science and Obesity

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Systems Science and Obesity par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.6
114 notes
27 avis

À propos du cours

Systems science has been instrumental in breaking new scientific ground in diverse fields such as meteorology, engineering and decision analysis. However, it is just beginning to impact public health. This seminar is designed to introduce students to basic tools of theory building and data analysis in systems science and to apply those tools to better understand the obesity epidemic in human populations. There will also be a lab in which students will use a simple demonstration model of food acquisition behavior using agent-based modeling on standard (free) software (netlogo). The central organizing idea of the course is to examine the obesity epidemic at a population level as an emergent properties of complex, nested systems, with attention to feedback processes, multilevel interactions, and the phenomenon of emergence. While the emphasis will be on obesity, the goal will be to explore ways in which the systems approach can be applied to other non-communicable diseases both nationally and internationally. Topics will include: a) the epidemiology of obesity across time and place, b) theories to explain population obesity, c) the role of environments and economic resources in obesity c) basic concepts and tools of systems science, d) modeling energy-balance related behaviors in context, e) agent-based models, systems dynamic models, and social network models...

Meilleurs avis

CS

Apr 01, 2019

Fantastic course. Really thought provoking, and well presented. Useful as an intro to systems thinking, and as a way to understand the obesity epidemic in a nuanced way.

PV

Sep 12, 2017

This course was surprisingly challenging and educational. I had little background in system science, and very much enjoyed the learning process!

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 27 Examens pour Systems Science and Obesity

par Charles D S

Apr 01, 2019

Fantastic course. Really thought provoking, and well presented. Useful as an intro to systems thinking, and as a way to understand the obesity epidemic in a nuanced way.

par olivier h

Dec 18, 2018

I've finished week 1, and I think it could have been much much better.

The subject is very interesting.

The pace of speech by the prof is way too slow, and the quiz isn't up to my standards.

I urge them to add explanations for instance, it would help to increase the understanding of the student, not just evaluate if she has viewed the (somewhat boring) videos..

I'll update this review after one or two more weeks...

UPDATE:

this gets even WORSE towards the end and the last quiz is bogus.

Really, this is sad, and it's making me angry, since the subject is interesting, efforts have been put towards this course (not only mine I mean) but the result is a bunch a videos lacking professionalism (huge typos in the quizzes, files missing, lack of overview binding the videos together, lack of proof for some assertions etc)

par Dean P

Sep 02, 2018

Great course! They explain greatly why obesity is a result that comes from complex socioeconomic systems. They also give you insight on how you can use software that can imitate such systems. By doing so, you can develop systems in your own comfort from your own PC and see the results. Truth is we need far more data and human systems are too complex, but this is a good initiative and we should pay attention to their findings! I hope in the near future to be part of a big system development that can bring clear results so that we can take definite action. My opinion is that we kinda know what to do, but some lobbies and established corporations are not changing their attitudw towards human public health and they keep sickening us. NOT TO MENTION cruelty against animals.

par Ngô T S

Aug 23, 2018

Finally, I finish this course. Thank you for your shared knowledge.

par Bui N A

Aug 20, 2018

Useful course with excellent learning materials. Thank you!

par Luis W D M

Feb 26, 2018

I am an electrical engineer who worked for a few years as a system's engineer. Lately I have been interested in studying how the dynamics in working environment affects itself. When I saw the System Science and Obesity course at Coursera I had the feeling it would present me some social concepts and tools which would give me a starting point. I had the feeling the knowledge the course offered would go beyond health systems. After finishing the course, I am really happy to conclude I was right. I am also really greatful to Johns hopkins professors who made this excellent course available. Thank you all!

par Melanie C

Oct 29, 2017

good, you need more time to complete the quizzes.

par Carolina A

Oct 24, 2017

great

par Luis T

Sep 29, 2017

The approaches to understand obesity in this course are really interesting and I enjoyed them. Obesity is such a complex problem and it was nice to learn from it with different softwares and a lot of different approaches.

par Hugo G G H

Sep 12, 2017

Very interesting and useful tools for analyzing complex networks and designing interventions.

par Paige V

Sep 12, 2017

This course was surprisingly challenging and educational. I had little background in system science, and very much enjoyed the learning process!

par Paola S

Aug 07, 2017

amazing!

par Hadeel D

Aug 05, 2017

It is only that the language is little hard for non native speakers

par Charleen S

Jul 25, 2017

More about systems analysis than obesity but interesting. Too much on computer model software.

par Amanda A

Jun 28, 2017

I thought this was interesting and informative. I'm neither a programmer nor a scientist so I had my doubts about how much I would get out of it, but I think it was at a good level for a beginner. Obesity seemed like a great topic to introduce systems science ideas and vice versa. I never felt too confused.

par Thiago G d S M

Feb 26, 2017

very good

par JOHN Q

Feb 13, 2017

FUN AND INTERESTING COURSE. THANKS.

par Olusola A

Feb 10, 2017

Inspirational, novel, one of its kind. Am glad to be part of the course

par A B

Nov 29, 2016

I' really enjoy this course. It's a complete view of the actual problem of obesity! Thanks a lot for all the effort!

par Reena A

Oct 28, 2016

Good course, the lab classes can be improved further.

not easily comprehensive

par Rachel A B

Oct 24, 2016

I very much enjoyed this course because it used a real-world example to teach systems thinking. I also appreciated that the more technical aspects, like using software, had been moved into Labs, which left space and time in the lectures to cover material relevant to the topic.

I was surprised at the lack of interaction, though. I have no idea if there were more than a handful of other students nor if there was a support team since there was hardly any participating in the discussion forum. One technical question remained unanswered for example... It seems that there could be a lot of great discussion on the course material if more engagement were encouraged.

par Rahul G

Oct 04, 2016

I enjoyed the course! It helped me organise information about methods in understanding complex systems. I would have definitely used some more detailed explanations about the model building process.

Thank you very much for your kind interest and effort!

par Rubina G

Sep 27, 2016

very informative and extremely insightful.

par Musalula S

Sep 11, 2016

Great introductory course

par David O N S

Sep 07, 2016

Well round course, excelent for everybody ho is in charge of public health.