Chevron Left
Retour à Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health par Université de Copenhague

4.6
étoiles
489 évaluations
173 avis

À propos du cours

The MOOC introduces learners to key environmental health and natural resources management challenges associated with the rapid growth in international tourist arrivals into low-income countries. Since infrastructural and regulatory capacities in such countries are often limited they are more exposed to the negative implications of such development. The MOOC will present experiences and potential avenues to develop a more sustainable form of tourism. The Course particularly focuses on the problems and potentials of tourism development in small island states in tropical and sub-tropical settings and highlights the challenges of such development on vulnerable ecosystems. It also highlights how tourism development in Zanzibar results in increased pressure on its marine environment, solid waste management, water resources and control of mosquitoes. These factors will be used as tracers of impacts and areas for future improvement towards a more sustainable form of tourism. The Course topics also relate to a number of targets under the global Sustainable Development Goals connected especially to Goals 3: “good health and well-being”, 6: “clean water and sanitation”, 14: “life below water” and 17: “partnerships”. Thus, the Course is a continuation of the efforts and discussions raised as part of the 2017 international year of sustainable tourism. A diversity of perspectives and areas of expertise will be presented by researchers from the University of Copenhagen, State University of Zanzibar, representatives from the hotel sector and international experts in specific areas of sustainable tourism....

Meilleurs avis

TB

May 14, 2020

Very understanding for someone like me who is not in the tourism sector. Only but is that there are articles and videos which are not for public access. The videos and interviews are very interesting.

AB

Mar 08, 2020

Amazing course. Full of great information, straight to the point, with many life examples and research data. Very helpful for both environmental enthusiasts and hospitality professionals. Many thanks!

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 174 Avis pour Sustainable Tourism – promoting environmental public health

par Mariana R K

Jun 08, 2019

The course is OK, but just that. It is too focused on one case study, and the quizes are all about specific statistics on the case of Zanzibar. It feels like you're doing a course on the tourism challenges of one specific place, instead of broadly speaking about the sustainability of tourism in different scenarios.

par Ulla M K N

Apr 17, 2020

The course was very focused on Zanzibar. As the owner of a travel agency I needed a broader view on the subject. The quiz parts were more or less just numbers from stats or quotes from Danish professors. I hoped for a far more practical course rather than this "Learn these numbers from Zanzibar and remember them...

par Elkin A

Dec 28, 2018

It is a great course for those interested in sustainable tourism! Keep in mind that it is developed on a case study (Zanzibar) and it focuses a lot in coastal environments. Still, you could apply the knowledge to other environments/scenarios.

par peter j

Sep 07, 2019

The topic is broad and deep, so this short course hardly scratches the surface. That is okay, but what is not is the poor mechanics of it. Many of the links were broken. Of those that were not they led to forums that require a sign in to download the document. Most of the material was between 5 and 10 years old. Some of the material was too light - media articles written for an uniformed audience, while other material was too heavy - scientific papers written for scholars in the field. There was not much balance. On top of all that, the English transcriptions of the videos are full of errors, which sometimes made them incomprehensible.

par Monica J

Apr 22, 2020

Many of the links required signing up for a service. Suggest having the information in a .pdf instead of links. I learned mainly about Zanzibar. Suggest including more countries or changing the title of the course to reflect that Zanzibar is the focus.

par Esther H O

Aug 27, 2019

Aunque el contenido del curso está genial, muchos de los links a contenidos están rotos o caídos, con lo que encontrar esos materiales es complicado o imposible a la hora de contestar los cuestionarios.

par Nicolas C W

Aug 29, 2018

very specific, not widely applicable

par Kelsey K

Dec 02, 2019

The clarity and enthusiasm with which Professor Flemming Konradsen presented the material in each lecture was extremely effective and helpful. His interviews with different experts, researchers and local professors were incredibly interesting and informative and his questions helped me get a much better sense of the situation. I came into this course not having much of an idea about the complexities of ecotourism and emerged knowing much more about human impact on the earth in a variety of different environments. Topics from water usage to mosquitoes to fishing habits kept me interested and the constant statistics were there for support. The class was set up very organized and I would take another course with this department in a heartbeat. I just wish I hadn’t procrastinated and put it off for so long! (But the option is there.) Thank you Staff at Uni of Copenhagen!

par Alexa C

May 02, 2020

I have a masters in sustainable tourism (social research) from King's College London and I learned a lot from my programme, but my course did not delve in detail about the human health related impacts of tourism as much. Unless your dissertation focused on tourism and health, we only spoke of the impact of tourism on health in general terms. This specific course by the University of Copenhagen was a great way to better understand the more specific relationship between health and tourism. I learned a lot and was grateful for the new sources and materials shared. I especially thought that the case study approach was a great way to make the issues more real and 'understandable'. Well done to UofC for a great course! Would recommend.

par Monica G

Mar 01, 2020

Excellent course, excellent presentations, very interesting approach, interviews, questions, reflections, approaches to the tourism model that must be revised for the future.

The proposals made that take into account the local populations and the need to control the ways of doing business that do not take into account in social or economic terms the residents of the populations themselves, which are utilities from the point of view of heritage, economy and human and natural resources, are extraordinary.

Also excellent is the leadership of the coordinator, a key person who runs the course beautifully and is a pleasure to listen to. Congratulations on this course which is a gem.

par Hilary M

May 18, 2020

This was a great introduction to some of the broader issues tourism causes, and with a helpful deep-dive into the situation on Zanzibar. Plenty of supplemental materials to read and watch. My one complaint is that several of the optional readings were from research websites where, even after creating a student account, I wasn't able to access. Also, a few of the other links were broken. But still, the videos and content in the main part of the course were really excellent.

par Ryoko O

Aug 12, 2019

Great introductory course to the field of sustainable tourism. It covers various aspects of the field by focusing on a specific real-life case, Zanzibar. I was able to learn not only of the issues arising from poorly managed tourism, but also how and why it became an issue from the past, as well as potential solutions for the future. As a traveller myself, it has made me a "conscious traveller," and also encouraged me to study further into this field.

par Kadir B

May 11, 2020

I went through really effective training. Sustainability is a very important concept in the tourism industry. Tourism is an industry with economically large businesses. Therefore, success must be permanent in this regard. The tourism sector, which faces various problems, has various studies in terms of options, one of the solutions to these problems. Thanks to this training, I have added some more important notes to my knowledge. Thanks!

par Ajmeth R

Jul 06, 2020

Fantastic course. Only drawbacks would be statistics and studies that maybe outdated now, and some links to studies that are not open for all readers. Use and reference to Zanzibar as a case study throughout the course while a good idea for statistics and examples, the course felt a bit to exclusive to Zanzibar's sustainability issues. More examples like when the course brought in India, Mallorca etc may have helped.

par Colleen R

Apr 17, 2020

This course does a great job introducing the environmental and social challenges and impacts caused by increased international tourism. The main case study reviewed is Zanzibar, but the course does include other examples and readings for other popular island tourist destinations. Good introduction and not a huge time commitment for those interested in learning more about this topic.

par Андрей С Ш

Jun 10, 2020

Жестокое пособие по выживанию, по развитию крепких нервов, а так же улучшению понимания английского языка. Этот курс требует полной концентрации внимания. Бывает порой нереально сложно и жутко от некоторых тестов, но мне понравилось, хоть я и не мало уничтожил нервишек.

Хотелось бы сказать, что некоторые дополнительные материалы немного старые и желательно бы их обновить.)

par Ganapati K

Mar 27, 2020

Excellent course. Even though the Course by and large limited itself to the various aspects of tourism in one country, viz., Zanzibar, it extrapolated worldwide, examining the repercussions of tourism growth, covering Sustainable Development Goals, disposal of solid and water waste, and possibility of increase of diseases if no control was exercised. Great !

par Narviz O

May 01, 2020

It has been a very dynamic course, supported by very important, illustrative and diverse information that makes us reflect on the dimension of the problem at a global level, even when the example is a particular place.

The conduction of the interviews, presentation, times. Everything well designed and thought out.

Thank you very much, I liked it very much.

par Nivedita K G

Aug 07, 2019

I really enjoyed going through this course. In fact, there were many facts that i was unaware of before doing this course. This has changed my perspective of tourism and has made a responsible global citizen and tourist. Thanks to University of Copenhagen and Coursera for making it viable for environment-conscious people like me.

par Annika G

May 06, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It was varied in the interaction with experts and well supported and researched. Presented in a clear manner and was relevant to the industry overall - focusing on sustainability but also making major cases for why the hospitality industry should be worried about these issues in specific examples.

par Sergio A E

Apr 30, 2019

A really interesting introduction regarding the reality behind the tourism industry. Videos were really clarifying, readings so interesting.

I am thinking on starting something on tourism, and now, after this course, I will definitely apply some of the concepts learnt in this Course. Thanks

par Ken A

Jul 08, 2020

The course has useful information for freshers in tourism and those interested in knowing about Sustainable Tourism. I personally feel Sustainable Tourism should be mandatory for every tourist destination. People need to understand the importance of protecting the land that feeds them.

par Ali M

Apr 19, 2020

I really enjoyed the course because I learned many things about sustainable tourism and all of the headlines were so useful and the case study (Zanzibar) was good one

just one thing if you considered it would be better, more discussions

btw thank you for the amazing course

par Ahmet M K

Jul 05, 2020

This course is a useful and enlightening course with plenty of good videos, facts, statistics and cases with a plain language. It's a great introductory study that benefits career knowledge and it suggests valuable solutions and important questions to ponder about.

par Braulio R H

Apr 07, 2020

Of course it has a very local approach but the principles can be applied to other (island) contexts. I think I leave with the satisfaction of a properly organized curriculum and would love to check out what else is available from the same institution and lecturers.