Chevron Left
Retour à Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation par Université du Cap

4.8
étoiles
1,024 évaluations
410 avis

À propos du cours

This free 6 week course is for anyone who wants to make a difference. Whether you are already familiar with the field of social innovation or social entrepreneurship, working for an organization that wants to increase its social impact, or just starting out, this course will take you on a journey of exploring the complex problems that surround us and how to start thinking about solutions. We will debunk common assumptions around what resources are needed to begin acting as a social innovator. We will learn from the numerous examples of social innovations happening all over the world. You will be challenged to get out of your comfort zone and start engaging with the diverse spaces around you. By the end of the course, you will have formed your own approach to social innovation, and you will have begun to develop the concepts, mindset, skills, and relationships that will enable you to start and evolve as a changemaker. You will be able to purchase a Verified Certificate if you wish to show evidence of your achievements, but this is optional, and you may apply for Financial Aid if you are unable to pay the certificate fee. The Bertha Centre for Social Innovation and Entrepreneurship co-created this course with RLabs, a social movement ‘born-and-bred’ in Bridgetown, Cape Town that is now active in 22 countries. The movement empowers youth through innovative and disruptive technology by teaching them vital skills and providing much needed support and a sense of community. Advocating and supporting initiatives such as RLabs forms part of the Bertha Centre’s mandate. The Centre is a specialised unit at University of Cape Town’s Graduate School of Business, and is the first academic centre in Africa dedicated to advancing social innovation and entrepreneurship. You can view the course trailer at www.youtube.com/watch?v=TcWYG64WO20 Tweet about this course using the hashtag #socinnMOOC...

Meilleurs avis

SA

Jul 03, 2020

This course was great! I learned a lot through discussion and project submissions. I have not only learned how to create change in my community but I have taken the first steps to make it a reality.

PJ

Jun 05, 2020

This was an inspiring course. I enjoyed applying Design Theory to an idea I had been pondering for years. I was able to refine my idea in order to share it with others and explore its feasibility.

Filtrer par :

101 - 125 sur 406 Avis pour Becoming a changemaker: Introduction to Social Innovation

par Alandrea D

Nov 07, 2016

This course is extremely informative and comprehensive without overburdening the learner with vocabulary, dated theories and complex concepts. It teaches you through the examples of verified Change Makers who are successful today!! Thank you!!!!!

par Ntosh N N

Oct 28, 2017

i would like to thank the instructors as well as RLabs for the incredible knowledge and perspective. this course has skilled me the knowledge i need to kick off my social entreprenuership journey. i feel empowered and encouraged. thank you

par Ebhoma C

May 24, 2020

This is a 5 star course. It has been an interesting journey so far!

This course has changed my outlook of the world of social innovation. I'm now set to start executing my project.

Thank you Coursera for being part of my success story 🙏

par arlene r

Oct 30, 2016

Excelent course. You will be taught with up-to-date information, guided by inspirational stories and taught by great professionals in the area. Really, a most take if you want to learn more about social innovation and, of course, impact.

par Chua Q M

Aug 22, 2019

I love it, thank you! Using Rlabs case study to demonstrate the concepts allowed me to better understand. I aspire to be a changemaker and am glad that I have this resource to revisit as I am sure I will have queries during the journey.

par BENOIT D M

Apr 27, 2018

This course has definitely increased my confidence and my understanding in social entrepreneurship!

I loved the videos, the recommended sources; the pedagogy is really well done, thanks a million to all people who made this MOOC!

par Rudolph R

Jul 30, 2017

This course is very well thought through with a good combination of knowledge, practice and examples. Also the part of peer review makes is more lively and interactive. Great job, that will create great social business I think.

par Sanjib S

Oct 09, 2017

This course is really interesting and well customised. all the sessions are effectively designed and the course moderators, the videos, RLABS story is wonderful. Learnt a lot on design thinking and way for social innovation!!

par Alvaro M M

May 11, 2020

It was a delightful trip, full of information and experiences. Thanks to Marlon, Francois and Warren for their transfer of knowledge and to the University of the Cape for sharing these beautiful stories of social innovation.

par Karim K

Jun 08, 2020

Great eye opener course, which focuses on what each one of us can give back to world

Step by step understanding of how to become a change maker or be part of such community

Thanks to all the for putting this course together.

par Carolina H

Jul 23, 2020

It is a very interesting course, it is well structure. I really like the mix between theory and case studies. IT gave me a lot of tools to use at work and also to start thinking in new ways to work in social innovation.

par Katherine W

Jun 22, 2017

This course is very insightful and interesting. This gives a lot of very useful materials and can be rewatched. This method can create impactful change in a community but this course also acknowledges the challenges too.

par Christa R V

May 11, 2020

Outstanding on every level -- from the scope of social innovation theory and practice that we covered to the online presentations to the assignments and the peer review process. I learned. I got inspired. Thank you all!

par Francisco N C D

Mar 05, 2019

Grounded on inspiring practice, complemented with theory. Interactive, with people from beautiful Africa and around the world. Simultaneously, it encourages you to know your context, its problems and its opportunities.

par OMKAR N P

Apr 17, 2020

https://digitalmarketcourse.blogspot.com/2020/04/becoming-changemaker-introduction-to-social-innovation.html

well I really appriciate the content provided to us ,Becoming a changemaker:Introduction to social innovation

par Michelle D C

Jun 20, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed this course! The content, the presentation and the participants all thought-provoking and attention-grabbing. I would recommend this course to anyone in the human service and nonprofit sector.

par Jacek S

Jan 10, 2018

I really enjoyed the course - inspiring examples based in real life, stimulating leading questions and useful resources. Call for action at the end does make a difference. Great job Uni of Cape Town, thank you!

par Pablo A O

Nov 28, 2016

Great course from a great team. These wonderfull overskilled people is doing an amazing work. This course succeed in scaling a critical questions that hopefully turn in more projects that can make a difference.

par David D

Aug 28, 2018

I really enjoyed this course and feel that I learnt a great deal. I feel well equipped and confident that I can be a changemaker for good in my community and country.

Thank you for the opportunity and lessons!

par Serena M

Jun 11, 2018

Great balance among learning and doing, it inspired me very powerful reflections and really taught me a lot, both about notions and self-confidence, to start making the difference in my community. Thanks!!

par Lennard L

Jun 19, 2020

Professors were articulate and open-minded, very engaging course. Other than social innovation, this course teaches us about critical thinking and analysis in solving problems, which is incredibly useful!

par ABHISHEK J

Jun 03, 2020

At first, it looks look why are we doing this course but after a few assignments it all comes together and you will realize that how good this course is. A brilliant effort by the team behind this course.

par Nila G

Jan 28, 2019

Awesome course -- the right length,, practical in every way, applicable, excellent instruction!

Also, kicks your butt to achieve your goals and think critically ... while thinking about and helping others!

par Yogita W

Apr 13, 2020

Definitely a Great source of Information and Motivation. Justifies the Title 100% .It gradually takes you through the whole Social Innovation journey with many illustrative examples all around the world.

par Shannon A

Jul 03, 2020

This course was great! I learned a lot through discussion and project submissions. I have not only learned how to create change in my community but I have taken the first steps to make it a reality.