Chevron Left
Retour à Quantum Optics 1 : Single Photons

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Quantum Optics 1 : Single Photons par École polytechnique

4.9
étoiles
216 évaluations
49 avis

À propos du cours

This course gives you access to basic tools and concepts to understand research articles and books on modern quantum optics. You will learn about quantization of light, formalism to describe quantum states of light without any classical analogue, and observables allowing one to demonstrate typical quantum properties of these states. These tools will be applied to the emblematic case of a one-photon wave packet, which behaves both as a particle and a wave. Wave-particle duality is a great quantum mystery in the words of Richard Feynman. You will be able to fully appreciate real experiments demonstrating wave-particle duality for a single photon, and applications to quantum technologies based on single photon sources, which are now commercially available. The tools presented in this course will be widely used in our second quantum optics course, which will present more advanced topics such as entanglement, interaction of quantized light with matter, squeezed light, etc... So if you have a good knowledge in basic quantum mechanics and classical electromagnetism, but always wanted to know: • how to go from classical electromagnetism to quantized radiation, • how the concept of photon emerges, • how a unified formalism is able to describe apparently contradictory behaviors observed in quantum optics labs, • how creative physicists and engineers have invented totally new technologies based on quantum properties of light, then this course is for you....

Meilleurs avis

CW
10 nov. 2020

This was an awesome course. I recommend it to all who are working with Quantum physics, Quantum mechanics, Quantum Optics, Quantum Computing and Information Science, Quantum Communication

SS
20 nov. 2019

Very clear and informative. The courses are short respectively and they are very exciting. The quizzes are a very good review to keep you concentrated.

Filtrer par :

26 - 48 sur 48 Avis pour Quantum Optics 1 : Single Photons

par Binod J

7 déc. 2019

Great Course! Thinking about taking the second part of this series.

par Gregory B

21 sept. 2017

A. Aspect is clear methodical and precise. It makes learning eas

par Benassi A

12 déc. 2019

Enseignement très pédagogique et très intéressant: Efficace

par Adan A

6 juil. 2020

a great introduction to the quantum optics field

par Timothy R

29 mars 2017

A challenging course but well worth the effort.

par Chandra K

7 nov. 2019

Very Well helped me to understand the concept

par Nidhi P

30 avr. 2020

Wonderful course to learn Quantum Optics

par K. V R V

27 mars 2019

i learned so much from this subject

par Shrinivas J

2 août 2020

Brilliant course!

par Thiago d S V

5 juin 2020

GREAT COURSE!!!!

par Felipe V

28 juin 2019

Incredible alain

par simon s

21 oct. 2020

Fantastique!!!

par Rahul B

30 avr. 2020

Nice Teaching

par Daniel V d R J

9 nov. 2020

Ótimo curso.

par maraka d r

27 mars 2019

nice

par Jing H

23 juil. 2020

A very good introductory course for quantum optics. But there are two things I am not so satisfied: first, there is some typo in the video, and it would be better if the professors can add a part for the correction, just like in the last video section of the week 1. Second, for some attached documents (papers), I couldn’t get the access to them since I don’t have an account for those scientific paper websites. So even though the prof highly recommended me to read them, I couldn’t.

All in all, it’s a good introductory course.

par Bas A

20 août 2017

More exact usage of English language would help. Also written course material would be great. I ended up buying Mr. Aspect's book because I like the topic so much. A final exam would give a more satisfying feeling. I have the feeling I muddled through on lots of the questions. I am redoing the course now to get "perfect" understanding an memorizing things. Alternatively, a final test could be to write a reaction about a resent article.

par PHILIPPE C

17 mai 2020

Tres interessant car abordant des questions théoriques et pratiques a la frontière de l'optique quantique. Le cours est toutefois un peu trop dense et mériterait d'être plus aéré en détaillant les étapes intermédiaires du raisonnement et du calcul

par Giacomo V

5 déc. 2019

Really good course, but you need to have a strong background in quantum mechanics in order to understand the lessons. Professor Aspect clearly explains the topics

par Abanoub M S M

16 avr. 2020

The concepts are made clear as well as the calculations. The wave particle duality is made clear along with a quite long discussion.

par Manuel S

10 mars 2018

There should be more resources to study like some lecture notes. Besides that, the overall level is very good.

par Jonathan G

22 mars 2018

It's math I put surprisingly easy.

par Rod B

30 avr. 2017

Poor. Very boring and dull presentation. Hardly anything is explained very clearly. It would be far more profitable to simply study an appropriate textbook or online course notes.