Chevron Left
Retour à Using Databases with Python

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Using Databases with Python par Université du Michigan

4.8
étoiles
20,125 évaluations
3,070 avis

À propos du cours

This course will introduce students to the basics of the Structured Query Language (SQL) as well as basic database design for storing data as part of a multi-step data gathering, analysis, and processing effort. The course will use SQLite3 as its database. We will also build web crawlers and multi-step data gathering and visualization processes. We will use the D3.js library to do basic data visualization. This course will cover Chapters 14-15 of the book “Python for Everybody”. To succeed in this course, you should be familiar with the material covered in Chapters 1-13 of the textbook and the first three courses in this specialization. This course covers Python 3....
Points forts
High quality course material
(143 avis)
Top rated instructor
(176 avis)

Meilleurs avis

MM
12 mars 2018

The course is great... You can definitely learn many things... Was kind of hard for me and i went many times back and forth through most of the lectures... However i think i learn many new things....

GB
13 janv. 2018

It's an excellent course. Thanks for the oportunity to learn. Thanks to Coursera, to the University of Michigan and of course to Dr. Chuck, a very good an enthusiastic teacher! All the best for you!

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 2,986 Avis pour Using Databases with Python

par BHARGAV G

7 janv. 2017

Dr Chuck has covered basics of relational database as well in this course where i learnt how to model a database from the available data we have .He has also successfully covered different ways to extract data from files (html,xml,json) and dump into database as well as pulll from database and write into file in specific format.

par João G S

2 juil. 2019

Teaches in a very clear way some fundamental concepts about databases and its integration with Python, although its relevante goes way beyond Python, as the concepts presented are fundamental to understand databases in any context. Very good job in introducing databases to those that have no previous knowledge about this topic!

par Mouhamadou G

10 avr. 2019

I am so glad to part of this specialization Dr. Chuck, Thanks to this specialization, I've learned a lot about programming in Python. In this course, We have learned how to design model a database, how to use python to clean raw data and store the cleaned data into a relational database, how to query data with SQL and so on.

par محمد أ

26 juil. 2019

Course is really easy yet informative. It doesn't require writing a lot of code in the assignments, since you're given startup code for assignments, you only have to modify it to complete the assignment. Dr Chuck explanations are straightforward and easy to understand. The lectures are short and you can fallow them quickly.

par 慈曦

6 juil. 2017

It's a great course,it tells us how to connect python with other thing,like database.

And let me know what is data mining.

This serialization has help a lot,i love the professor,he is funny and patience,i think he is definitely a good teacher.

If i can go to university of michigan and be his student,that would be really great.

par ZheAn Y

3 mai 2017

Love Dr.Chuck , leading me into Python programming and become a learner of Python programmer.

Love these series of courses and I have complete these courses today. Thanks again to Dr.Chuck and faculty of course. It helps me a lot and I feel accomplishment. Looking forward for my new courses in relate courses(data science ).

par Jay L

18 oct. 2021

Awesome class. I learnt a lot from it. Database has always fascinated me and this was a great first step into learning how they work. The Teaching Asst was fantastic when I had difficulties with a couple projects. I would definitely recommend taking this course and the others by Charles Severance. He is a great instructor.

par Frank D

28 août 2020

I found this course brilliant. The topics were so well explained and it was an easy introduction to Databases with Python. I would highly recommend the course and recommend Dr. Charles Severence for his easy teaching style and his humour. The videos were very effective and the references to other sites very interesting.

par Matija Č

27 déc. 2016

Very well organized, great course materials (small modules and simple enough to understand),

thoroughly explained in video lectures, but tasks need to specify more on what it is that's expected of participant to do. Also, very much like the history lectures and would like more of those as well as the more practical ones.

par Rajesh C

13 janv. 2016

This course provides very useful information on how Python can be used to access the DB and how the data can be manipulated from the plain text/xml to DB and then to the real word applications such as Google Maps.

Very useful and learnt a lot. The presentation was very detailed and to the point.

Thank you for the effort.

par Maksym S

14 janv. 2016

Great course and excellent introduction to the SQL databases. The only minor point is the last assignment - I was really looking forward to be challenged in some D3.js data visualisation, but the task had nothing to do with programming. On the bright side - I've got some boiler plate code to play with in my free time.

par Juan C

14 juin 2020

This course was very well presented. It is specially suited for people with no prior knowledge of SQL, this course got me very interested in SQL and databases. I will be signing up for the professor's SQL course. His style is great for online courses. He has a great way of explaining things and keeping your interest.

par Richard Y C

21 mai 2020

It is first time for me to have a bigger picture about Database and visualization, especially how to improve the data search capability by defining the three different keys, instead repeating data themselves.

Recommending Dr. Chunk to pay a visit to Taipei Taiwan. Should be quite a feeling at info island to Professor.

par Jin L

23 sept. 2019

Learned a lot about how to use database by instructions on python, how to manipulate data and renew it. And I've got the oppotunies to combine the things I learned before with database, like pulling out information in Email/html and download it to the database. As an introductionary course, it is pretty good! Thanks!

par Vladimir K

31 juil. 2016

Being the last course in Python for Everybody Specialization, I expected this course to be somewhat harder than others, but it turned out to be just opposite. Maybe because I had some prior knowledge about SQL and database administration.

Excellent work and effort by Professor Charles Severance and the teaching stuff.

par Muhammad S A

27 févr. 2016

I faced certain gap in this course and its been difficult to remember the syntax , although concepts i did know , But For a university student of A country where English is not dominant , Understanding the question is quite difficult for people who learn so many languages in their fields :) . But Still I recommend it

par Pamela M

28 juin 2016

Dr Chuck is an excellent teacher. His examples are clear, his methods are exemplary, his style is engaging.

This course was listed as Beginner Level and it certainly met that expectation.

Now, if he would only teach an Intermediate course on SQL and Python with more challenging examples, then I'd sign up right now!

par Josh J

5 janv. 2021

Dr. Charles is one of the best teachers in an online course. He explains each concept with much vigor and enthusiasm in a conversational and engaging manner, such that it leaves you itching to learn for more. His emphasis is on understanding the concepts and how they apply to the real world, which I really liked.

par Patrick M

29 juil. 2019

This course is a little more "dry" than the other courses in the series but still very necessary. You'll learn about SQL, JSON, and XML. These are important skills to adequately understand how Python can be used to store large data sets. Overall, Dr. Chuck does a great job as usual by keeping the student engaged.

par Luke O

16 janv. 2018

This class was great. It was the first computer science class I have completed that took you beyond working trivial "back of the chapter" programming problems. By the end of the course, I felt like I had a decent preview of what real software was capable of doing, and what it felt like to work on bigger projects.

par Sebastian J

3 juin 2020

The series of courses has been really great though I have enjoyed courses 1 and 2 way more than 3 and 4. The instructor is the stand out performer throughout all the courses, simply fantastic. The peer graded assignment takes time to get reviewed by instructors, there should a mechanism to assure faster grading.

par Ravikanth G

4 févr. 2017

The best ever course, Dr Charles is at his best and I would recommend this course to everyone who wants to start learning Python. I have gained confidence over Python.

Thank you sir for a clear explanation of all the things, and I would definitely go through the videos multiple times in case I have any questions.

par Ilias I

7 mars 2016

Excellent structure. A course I really enjoyed and learned

Perhaps should add optional assignments for more experienced users, in order to intrigue them. Additionally, upon completion, perhaps the e-mail should contain a link to the "correct" files of alla assignments, in order to assess our progress and methods

par Dagart A

7 mai 2020

Using Databases with Python was a great introduction to what is possible with Python. It's not extremely rigorous and in-depth, but it gave me the basics to start learning more. If you are doing the certificate, it is certainly worth continuing through this course. A view into the potential power of databases.

par Héctor M

7 sept. 2017

I think this specialization is one of the best ways to start programming. I did start with this course and I cannot be more grateful! I'm currently developing my thesis project on python and I'm using databases, which are real hard to get right! Yet thanks to this particular course I got a huge head start!