Chevron Left
Retour à Practical Time Series Analysis

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Practical Time Series Analysis par Université d'État de New York

4.6
étoiles
1,501 évaluations

À propos du cours

Welcome to Practical Time Series Analysis! Many of us are "accidental" data analysts. We trained in the sciences, business, or engineering and then found ourselves confronted with data for which we have no formal analytic training. This course is designed for people with some technical competencies who would like more than a "cookbook" approach, but who still need to concentrate on the routine sorts of presentation and analysis that deepen the understanding of our professional topics. In practical Time Series Analysis we look at data sets that represent sequential information, such as stock prices, annual rainfall, sunspot activity, the price of agricultural products, and more. We look at several mathematical models that might be used to describe the processes which generate these types of data. We also look at graphical representations that provide insights into our data. Finally, we also learn how to make forecasts that say intelligent things about what we might expect in the future. Please take a few minutes to explore the course site. You will find video lectures with supporting written materials as well as quizzes to help emphasize important points. The language for the course is R, a free implementation of the S language. It is a professional environment and fairly easy to learn. You can discuss material from the course with your fellow learners. Please take a moment to introduce yourself! Time Series Analysis can take effort to learn- we have tried to present those ideas that are "mission critical" in a way where you understand enough of the math to fell satisfied while also being immediately productive. We hope you enjoy the class!...

Meilleurs avis

SS

6 avr. 2021

It is a very good course which builds on the basics of time series and also covers more advanced topics like SARIMA. The course contains ample examples which helped me better understand the material.

SA

23 janv. 2020

Excelente, uno de los mejores cursos que he tomado. Lo más importante es que se practica muy seguido y hay examenes durante los vídeos. Si hay un nivel más avanzado de este tema, seguro que lo tomo.

Filtrer par :

401 - 425 sur 430 Avis pour Practical Time Series Analysis

par Sharon M

27 févr. 2020

While this course was pretty thorough, it was way too mathematical and not nearly as applied as I would have expected a 'practical' course to be. It was also extremely frustrating that a large proportion of the forum messages went unanswered - I've never done a Coursera course before where there hasn't at least been a research assistance answering questions. You really had to try to follow everything yourself, and if you had a question, you had to find the answer yourself. A bit disappointing.

par Richelle S A

21 juil. 2019

It was a nice course, very informative. But week 3 simply had way too much matter in it in comparison with the previous 2 weeks which makes it difficult if you've set a timetable. Also, week 6 had poorly maintained data availability, and missing code. Lastly, the professors are absent from the discussions. There are unanswered doubts from longer than a year ago.

But if you dedicate enough time and effort, this course is pretty good.

par Kasra S

14 nov. 2021

I think, most of the time the link between application and the theory is absent in this course. A significant emphasis is put on the formula and theory, but not enough connection to the real world. The last point, please be a story teller, and start with why?? why use this? why use that? motivate us and guide us through the process.

par Lyla F

24 janv. 2020

It's decent for what it is - a course trying to balance theory with practicality. However, it uses R for the target implementation environment. That's fine, but as a matter of taste, I prefer python. Therefore, for me, the practicality aspect of the course wasn't the greatest, and that was its main selling point.

par Arman A

8 oct. 2020

It is in R, making it rather limited for applications in industry, however using Python's statsmodel you should be able to keep up with the notes.

I was expecting a lot more theoretical explanation of the concepts rather than just demo'ing some R code and fitting some libraries to data.

par Rachel S

21 mai 2021

If you want to see a whole lot of proofs and have someone tell you complicated things are really simple and obvious, then this is the course for you. I wanted a class to teach me how to do the tasks at work. It spent a little bit of time on that and a WHOLE lot of time on the proofs.

par Christopher K

13 nov. 2020

It was definitely a gentle and accessible introduction to time series analysis. I was hoping for something a little more comprehensive and challenging, however, and sound quality was sometimes poor. This would serve as good preparation for an introductory course on time series.

par Pablo C

14 oct. 2018

Overall, this is a good course for beginners in time series analysis.

However, I wish they had go beyond the basics. I missed more advanced content, discussions between different forecasting techniques, multivariate forecasting...It is pretty basic.

par Herman d V

6 nov. 2019

Very interesting course. For a 'practical' course, I did find it rather theoretical. Also, some links to downloadable data are missing and there are some small errors in the R scripts that are offered. Nonetheless a good course, I learned a lot!

par Loganathan S

20 nov. 2020

The coding for the steps confusing and can follow how the tutor explained. I would like to suggest for the course coordinator to create a document on steps with coding for each model or test we want to run. Thank you.

par Andrew G

17 janv. 2021

Good/thorough introduction to moving average, auto-regressive, intetgrade, and seasonal models as well as basic forecasting. Some of the labs don't work, as well as links, and the organization is messy in places.

par Jignesh K

29 mars 2021

If you have non-technical or not much aware of stats, you will probably face problems understanding the equation algebra. I think the tutor has to explain how to calculate with a manual example.

par Pranav K

9 avr. 2021

I was interested in learning more about situations where one time series affects another, on which there was no content. Somewhat disappointed by that. Very rigorous, apart from that.

par Emanuel N

9 mars 2020

While professor Thistetlon gave the classes in a way that kept my attention,Prof Sadigov wasn't so good at it. Clearly he know a lot but not as a teacher.

par Mark H

27 juin 2018

Would have loved more work with the ready made packages, I feel like I still can't master using them in R, although I did understand the material.

par Ivan D

17 janv. 2021

good, but not great. needs more explanation about the intuition. needs a lot more exercises. needs to cover more topics.

par Saket M

18 avr. 2020

Instructors are good but as per the title this is not more than 30% practical Time Series Analysis

par Roger L

20 avr. 2022

A lot of the lab content links and library in the codes in quizes are not working

par Maria B

19 oct. 2018

The content was great, but I'd have liked to see more practical exercises.

par Cesar T

12 mai 2022

O curso peca na questão de ser realmente prático.

par stephane d

21 mars 2020

I find the course a little too theoretical

par António M F B d C C

18 juil. 2020

I finished this course with grade over 90% and yet I feel disappointed with it.

Divided between intense theoretical (I could say "impractical") formulations and forcing implementations in R, it feels like the course could never really achieve the objectives of teaching what it was meant to.

And so, I feel like I will hardly be able to implement any of the given topics by myself with my current knowledge...

Apart from my critique of the course, the course really needs a revision because many contents are not up-to-date (like filenames) or even working (several pieces of code throughout the course, specially crucial in quizzes)...

par Sam M

23 janv. 2022

The material was good, although sometimes it was hard to see the "practical" side (now that I've modelled the time series what do I do with that?). The course also needs to be updated as some of the links no longer work. It would also be helpful if the two professors coordinated their efforts better - flipping back and forth between two instructional approaches was frustrating.

par Jens F

6 mai 2022

I​'ve stopped with week 3. Are you kidding, rushing through the notions of series, convergence, and ultimately invertibility? The sound is getting progressively worse, I had to increase the volume for every video.

par Antonina K

21 oct. 2021

A lot of math, a lot of mistakes, outdated models, nothing about practical application. Mostly a theoretical course (90% of materials).