Chevron Left
Retour à Understanding the Music Business: What is Music Worth?

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Understanding the Music Business: What is Music Worth? par Université Vanderbilt

4.6
109 notes
27 avis

À propos du cours

This course will examine the music industry in the United States, with the unique perspective gained by Vanderbilt University’s location in Nashville, TN. Nashville is a major center of music in the United States, and the music created here has a global reach, particularly in the country, rock, pop, singer-songwriter, and Americana genres. However, students will learn that the basic principles of recording, marketing, copyright, licensing, and live performance are the same, regardless of musical style or genre. The music business is one of the most rapidly changing industries in the US today. It is also an industry filled with contradiction, and media headlines and anecdotal stories often add to the confusion. Here are just a few statements paraphrased from recent news stories: * The music business has collapsed * Demand for music is expanding at the greatest rate in history * Historic recording studios are closing at an alarming rate * More people are making recordings than ever before * Musicians usually lose money touring * Musicians usually make money touring * Major artist pulls songs off streaming services because they don’t pay fairly * Major artist makes a fortune from streaming services * People won’t buy records anymore * Vinyl record sales are soaring This course will attempt to make sense of these seemingly contradictory trends and data, outline the basic structure and mechanisms of today’s music industry, and encourage students to think critically and entrepreneurially about the future of music. Leaders from various areas of the music business will lend their perspectives through in-depth interviews, and footage from a recording session will give learners a behind the scenes look at how a song goes from the spark of an idea hummed into a cell phone to a finished recording. Participants will grapple with questions about art and commerce which are both timeless and crucially important today, and will emerge from this course with tools allowing them to make more informed decisions as creators, promoters, and consumers of music. Course launches February 19, 2016....

Meilleurs avis

GR

Mar 06, 2016

Really interesting course even for someone who's kids begged me not to sing a lullaby to them.

GP

Apr 03, 2019

It feels like a formal training.I thank the team for a lot of valuable informations

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 26 Examens pour Understanding the Music Business: What is Music Worth?

par Georges

Mar 01, 2016

Loved it.

It gave me insight to how thing work in this business.

Great Job.

par LeAttol ( E L

Aug 21, 2018

Best Music Course on Coursera Le

par shantanu v

Jun 20, 2016

love it.

par Alicia C

Apr 04, 2018

Although I was only an auditor, the information I learned from this course was invaluable. Professor Gunderman's passion and knowledge on the subject was astonishing and the modules more than thorough. Although I was a music-lover prior to the course and committed to purchasing music and related products, I hadn't realized that there were so many other ways I could support the overall community, or just how many people rely on that support to make a living. Now, having gone through the course materials, I am more determined than ever to support the music community, pay attention to industry developments, and engage others in crucial discussions about the worth of music and the obligations we have to artists.

par Silviya D

Mar 06, 2016

This course contains really interesting information, which is presented in a creative way (suitable for the artistic mind of a musician). The lessons can easily be put into practice. I like the discussions because they are very thought provoking and really challenge the students to think of different ways to add more value to their music.And last but not least I like the interviews, because they give some really practical real life advice.

par Xianghui ( M

Dec 13, 2016

it's great, all vivid content and clear explanations.

par Andrew G

Mar 28, 2016

Very enjoyable survey of a variety of issues involved in the state of the music business today. The instructor did a great job of assembling relevant material, and the course was presented in an engaging, very professional way - highly recommended.

par CARLOS C

Mar 22, 2016

Great, excellent information. Very hype

par Evan B

May 11, 2016

supah nice

par Walerson S C

Oct 06, 2016

A course of great value, with very important informations. I wanna another course like this, approaching music marketing! Thank you

par Emily T

Nov 14, 2016

I absolutely loved this course. Honestly, I thought it could get a little boring, but I was totally wrong. She made it fun and SUPER interesting, and her interviews were great as well. Highly recommend this course, even if you're just a music consumer and don't necessarily want to get into the business! I kind of want to take it again...

par Gordon R

Mar 06, 2016

Really interesting course even for someone who's kids begged me not to sing a lullaby to them.

par ARTURO L R

Mar 30, 2016

perfecto

par Erich C

Jun 23, 2016

Fantastic course, really great information!

par Juan E G N

Jul 26, 2017

I really enjoyed the course

par Benjamin M

Mar 05, 2016

Besides Songwriting from Berklee this was the most practical and useful course I have taken so far. It answered so many questions I had and gave so valuable tipps for the modern musician. Thanks a lot!

par Natalia F

Jun 30, 2016

Great course. It gives very good basics of what you need to know if you want to make a career in the music business. I loved all the interviews with industry insiders - they sort of allow you to see the big picture from different angles. All the recommended reading was also pretty useful.

par Girish P

Apr 03, 2019

It feels like a formal training.I thank the team for a lot of valuable informations

par Greg T

Mar 19, 2019

Good content - videos are very helpful. Enjoyed the written assignment. But the peer-review pro

par Diego F

Jun 29, 2016

Interesting. Good for beginners but some info is a little bit out of date. Overall, good course.

par knvg r

Jun 13, 2016

Great Course !!!!!!! (:

par Miguel A V

Mar 21, 2016

great course

par Andre G

Jul 18, 2016

This class featured valuable interviews of industry professionals and provided an up-to-date and realistic view of many aspects of the popular music business in the USA today

par Victor R

Aug 16, 2016

it's a basic course very focused on the mainstream music industry, it is very concise and worth reviewing, unfortunately you can not get feedback from the exams if you don't pay.

par Deleted A

Jul 27, 2016

Good intro course, but that's all it is - an intro course. Expect great interviews and lecture videos, but don't expect too in-depth of a course. My review is biased because I already took Music Business Foundations from Berklee on Coursera and the material w