Chevron Left
Retour à The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II par Université de Tel Aviv

4.8
étoiles
433 évaluations
94 avis

À propos du cours

This course will discuss the developments in the Middle East from the early 20th century to the present. It will discuss the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. It will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that this course builds upon a previous course - The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-1/home/welcome) Learn about the history of the Middle East for a deeper understanding of current regional developments!...

Meilleurs avis

MK
30 juil. 2018

Excellent Course. Professor Susser does a thorough, careful job of bring the Middle East up to date to 2013 or so. Would love to see an additional week added dealing with developments up to today.

FA
7 mai 2020

A FASCINATING COURSE WHICH WAS MOST ENGAGING THROUGHOUT. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS COURSE. IT REALLY HELPS TO PUT INTO CONTEXT THE CONFLICT IN THE MIDDLE EAST THAT IS STILL VERY MUCH ONGOING.

Filtrer par :

76 - 93 sur 93 Avis pour The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II

par Solomon Z

14 mars 2018

great brief info

par Liang W

21 mai 2019

Very helpful!

par Ioannis M

16 janv. 2019

Excellent!!

par Paloma M

15 juin 2020

Loved it!

par Mahmoud E

7 août 2018

very good

par kasite U

29 mars 2017

great!

par Mona A A

23 sept. 2020

good

par Kyong H K

6 févr. 2019

V

par Tom L

19 févr. 2021

I find the course comprehensive and balanced. However, when the lectures are in English, which is not the instructor's native tongue, the result can be a halting delivery. While this does not impact the video so much, I find the transcripts can be difficult. When the instructor pauses to order his thoughts and words, the transcript all too often shows a period, creating a disjointed narrative; among other things, there are words misunderstood ("designer's" for "the Zionists"); the dreaded apostrophe ("it's" for "its"); words missing (so guesswork is required to maintain continuity), when a little more effort may fill the gap. I feel some editing to produce a more readable version (though not a verbatim copy) would benefit all.

P.S. I found similar problems with "Russian History: Lenin to Putin".

par Zakaria G

25 sept. 2019

it was nice seeing things from the other side's perspective (the way Israelis see it) as opposed to being bombarded by the same ideas all arabs (governments and individuals) promote...a necessary step if people really want to form an objective opinion about this long lasting conflict, even more important for those directly concerned if a peaceful solution is sought (dreamy but who knows) just wish of the MENA region universities (other than israeli universities) had the decency to make such an objective course available...would help a lot

par Eden H

27 déc. 2015

This course is wonderful, and does not seem biased. My one complaint is that for so so much information, there are only two quizzes. I would prefer to have a test at the end of each weekly lesson, especially since the quizzes are so short. The material and videos themselves are wonderful! I learned a lot :)

par James H

23 sept. 2020

This is a very good course, and Professor Susser is a very engaging speaker. The course is inevitably biased towards the Israeli perspective, and misses out the development of several states in the region. Yet what it does cover, it covers fairly impartially and is sympathetic of other perspectives.

par Kamil K

21 mai 2016

Very well made course, although I wish to see more on other countries, because Egipt, Israel and Palestine were making most of lectures.

par bethany l

29 sept. 2017

The quizzes are fact based - they do not check understanding, only how well you rote-learned some parts of the lectures.

par John M

23 juin 2016

Good background and enjoyed delving into the detail of the Middle East.

par zachary r

6 déc. 2016

Not nearly as good as Part 1.

par Faisal B K V

30 juil. 2020

Thank you

par Mubarak A G

17 févr. 2020

lie