Chevron Left
Retour à The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II par Université de Tel Aviv

4.8
étoiles
414 évaluations
88 avis

À propos du cours

This course will discuss the developments in the Middle East from the early 20th century to the present. It will discuss the rise and retreat of Arab nationalism, the problems of internal cohesion of the Arab states, issues of religion and state, and the evolution of Islamist politics. It will also focus on the evolution of the Arab-Israeli conflict and its impact on the region and will conclude with an in depth analysis of the “Arab Spring” by placing these contemporary revolutionary events in their historical context. Please note that this course builds upon a previous course - The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part I (https://www.coursera.org/learn/modern-middle-east-1/home/welcome) Learn about the history of the Middle East for a deeper understanding of current regional developments!...

Meilleurs avis

MK
30 juil. 2018

Excellent Course. Professor Susser does a thorough, careful job of bring the Middle East up to date to 2013 or so. Would love to see an additional week added dealing with developments up to today.

FA
7 mai 2020

A FASCINATING COURSE WHICH WAS MOST ENGAGING THROUGHOUT. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS COURSE. IT REALLY HELPS TO PUT INTO CONTEXT THE CONFLICT IN THE MIDDLE EAST THAT IS STILL VERY MUCH ONGOING.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 87 Avis pour The Emergence of the Modern Middle East - Part II

par Michael K

31 juil. 2018

Excellent Course. Professor Susser does a thorough, careful job of bring the Middle East up to date to 2013 or so. Would love to see an additional week added dealing with developments up to today.

par Daniel F E

4 mai 2017

One of the very best courses available, the historical examination of continue changing in the Middle East, allows students think the pieces that derive in actual regional struggle.

par Deleted A

31 janv. 2016

An excellent course that examines the evolution of the Arab- Israeli conflict and which provides a historical context for the "Arab Spring" Insightful and thought-provoking...

par Tracy T

1 mai 2016

An excellent follow-up and continuation to Part I. This course offers great insight into the historical and current relations of the countries within this region.

par Angel V

26 mai 2017

I recommend this course to anyone interested in learning about the Middle East. (I took Part I and Part II of this course) The Middle East is a very hot topic of discussions these days, but sadly a lot of people don’t know much about the region. Most of the people learn about the Middle East trough media. Popular (mainstream) media creates an image of the region that only involves terrorism, autocratic governments and civil war. Even though most of the Middle East contemporary problems are extremely complicated, this course will help you understand a little about the region’s modern history, culture and ethnic/religious diversity. Understanding Middle East’s history (especially its modern history) will help you a great deal to understand the region’s contemporary issues. The Middle East is much more than what we see in the news. This course will greatly expand your knowledge regarding the history and culture of the region. I recommend people to take both, Part I and Part II, of this course. You will not regret it.

par Gládiston d S C

23 août 2020

Boa noite, meu nome é Gládiston, sou brasileiro e moro em São Paulo, Brasil. Sou professor da rede pública e resolvi fazer este curso porque é muito importante pra minha formação contínua. Os conteúdos aprendidos serão muito úteis para as minhas aulas. Gostei de todos os módulos do curso, pois cada um abordou o tema de uma nova perspectiva. Agradeço, profundamente, pela oportunidade, pois, certamente, poderei contribuir para formação de seres humanos dignos e responsáveis.

Good evening, my name is Gládiston, I am Brazilian and I live in São Paulo, Brazil. I am a teacher in the public network and I decided to take this course because it is very important for my continuing education. The contents learned will be very useful for my classes. Enjoy all the modules of the course, as each one approached the theme from a new perspective. I deeply thank you for the opportunity, for I will certainly be able to contribute to the formation of worthy and responsible human beings.

par Deborah C

19 mai 2016

Thorough, insightful and taught with passion, this course gave me the understanding of the middle east conflict that I was looking for. They say experts can explain a complicated subject and make it feel simple and easy to understand and that is what Prof. Susser did with this course. Truly a "do not miss" course for any level if you want to gain insights into the history or get a simple and real understanding of the modern middle east. Really a great course.

par Jim

4 juil. 2018

Excellent course! Although it is very good as a stand alone course, I highly recommend that you do the first part, even if you don't care about the Ottoman Empire or the origins of the Islamist movement (and the first part is a bit more challenging, I thought -- lots to remember). There is no way to truly understand the modern Middle East without this historical context.

par (Rob)Wang S

19 juin 2018

Prof Susser has presented a detailed case on the politics after the collapse of the Ottoman. I have learnt a lot about the conflicts and struggles in the Egyptian, Syrian & Jordanian context. This is, in my opinion, worth knowing if you would like to grasp the mirage happening in the middle east currently.

par Kyle C

27 juil. 2017

This course explained more about the Middle East than I had ever known in my life. I never understood the conflicts in that region, or why there was so much strife, but this class explained that perfectly. I wish this had been taught in school for me, I would have felt so much better informed.

par Suharto G

19 févr. 2019

This is an excellent course on the Middle East, its recent history and political landscape brilliantly outlined in such a way that one can have a bird's view of the whole region as it moved from one point in time to the modern era with full consideration of every tidbit of important events.

par Carlos C

31 janv. 2017

Get ready for a wild ride as you're taken on a journey from the Ottoman Empire to the Arab Spring revolutions as Professor Susser presents the cold, hard facts about the Middle East and its dealings with traditionalism and modernity. Highly recommended!

par Darcy R J

18 déc. 2015

A great course all around, just like Part I.

Bitter sweet to be done as there was so much great information in here.

I highly recommend both courses if you want to learn a good amount of information on the Middle East in a short period of time.

par Beatriz m D

28 févr. 2020

It has been a very good course,as it was,the first part.I appreciate that the videos could also be heard in spanish and that they have such flexibility to be able to finish the couse as they say,at my own pace.Regards,Bea.

par Monica L

7 avr. 2018

Excelente curso, dictado de manera espléndida por el Dr. Susser, quien deshebra de manera clara y precisa los problemas que acontecen en el Medio Oriente. Muchas gracias al Dr. Susser por compartir sus conocimientos.

par Bob F

15 févr. 2017

Exactly as Part 1 the lectures of Part ii were lean yet fully comprehensive. I would put them in the top five of the courses I have taken on line with Coursera. Congratulations to the professor and his university.

par Christopher W

16 déc. 2016

This course was thorough and non-bias look at the modern Middle East. A great two part course to help anyone better understand what is going in the region today, and how the events transpired from WWI onward.

par FRANK A

8 mai 2020

A FASCINATING COURSE WHICH WAS MOST ENGAGING THROUGHOUT. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS COURSE. IT REALLY HELPS TO PUT INTO CONTEXT THE CONFLICT IN THE MIDDLE EAST THAT IS STILL VERY MUCH ONGOING.

par Marius S P

5 févr. 2018

Both part 1 and 2 are great courses and can be recommended, to anyone who wishes for a deeper understanding of the underlying events that have led to the Middle East we see today.

par MARCIO P D A

28 janv. 2016

Professor Asher Susser is wonderful!

It is amazing to have the opportunity to study such high quality classes.

Thank you very much and best wishes from Brazil! :)

par Karen A D

29 mai 2016

An excellent course for getting an understanding of what's happening in the Middle East today. It's a very balanced an comprehensive treatment of the subject.

par Serdar B

20 janv. 2018

It would be much informative if the lectures are in chronogical order (year wise) instead of region (country wise). I think there should be Part III as well.

par Mary F H

5 avr. 2016

This was a brilliant course that has given me, for the first time, an understanding of the history of and issues in the Middle East. I highly recommend it.

par TANIA O L

8 juin 2020

I learnt a lot about the root of the conflicts in Middle East and I can now understand why there are still issues in that part of the world. Great course.