Chevron Left
Retour à Model Thinking

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Model Thinking par Université du Michigan

4.8
étoiles
2,093 évaluations
475 avis

À propos du cours

We live in a complex world with diverse people, firms, and governments whose behaviors aggregate to produce novel, unexpected phenomena. We see political uprisings, market crashes, and a never ending array of social trends. How do we make sense of it? Models. Evidence shows that people who think with models consistently outperform those who don't. And, moreover people who think with lots of models outperform people who use only one. Why do models make us better thinkers? Models help us to better organize information - to make sense of that fire hose or hairball of data (choose your metaphor) available on the Internet. Models improve our abilities to make accurate forecasts. They help us make better decisions and adopt more effective strategies. They even can improve our ability to design institutions and procedures. In this class, I present a starter kit of models: I start with models of tipping points. I move on to cover models explain the wisdom of crowds, models that show why some countries are rich and some are poor, and models that help unpack the strategic decisions of firm and politicians. The models covered in this class provide a foundation for future social science classes, whether they be in economics, political science, business, or sociology. Mastering this material will give you a huge leg up in advanced courses. They also help you in life. Here's how the course will work. For each model, I present a short, easily digestible overview lecture. Then, I'll dig deeper. I'll go into the technical details of the model. Those technical lectures won't require calculus but be prepared for some algebra. For all the lectures, I'll offer some questions and we'll have quizzes and even a final exam. If you decide to do the deep dive, and take all the quizzes and the exam, you'll receive a Course Certificate. If you just decide to follow along for the introductory lectures to gain some exposure that's fine too. It's all free. And it's all here to help make you a better thinker!...

Meilleurs avis

GK

24 févr. 2017

Great content and lectures, that possibly provides new dimensions to look/explain the situation in context, I guess I will comeback for references to continue with this journey in to 'Model Thinking'

YK

6 avr. 2018

The course presents a multitude of models that enable us to analyze human and systems behavior and interactions. By making implicit assumptions explicit we can understand real world processes better.

Filtrer par :

401 - 425 sur 468 Avis pour Model Thinking

par Michel D

10 oct. 2015

I wasn't planning to follow the whole course and doing assessment and homework. It end up being a good learning and I watched most of the videos. I skipped known information and skimmed to relatively familiar ones / or when there was too much examples. I understand the course was built for common denominator student. Thanks for making this free course. It's much appreciated. - Michel

par Mário C

7 déc. 2015

Contents of the course are very diverse, clearly changes your way and ability to identify patterns, and fit real world in to models to extract additional information ...

It does not have a very in depth, description about most models, but enough to understand them, because there are so many different concepts that are fit together ...

Its an excellent introductory course to models.

par Gehazi B

19 mai 2019

This is a very comprehensive course of modeling, with excellent explanations, slides, readings and exercises. However, it's heavy based on rational economic models and intuition. This approach can be a barrier if you have come from a less deductive background like Behavioral and Biological Sciences.

par Xavier

20 juil. 2017

I rate 4 stars for the originality of the theme of his course ... not really an academic thing as far as I know. Doesn't get a 5 stars because I would have wished something more formal and rigorous. Indeed many models are covered and the lack of proper definitions make some concepts "blurred"

par Nikita B

31 août 2019

This course let me unserstand basic things about models, I think it was the target of this one. I would prefer to have more mathematics, more depth, but I think it is perfect for beginners, all topics in this course are quite easy understandable for the majority of people. Thank you!

par Andrew C

29 juin 2017

An fascinating but difficult course, especially if you are just doing it out of interest rather than having a background in the subject. There is a fair bit of maths which isn't difficult but is rather swept over if you haven't done any for the last 30 years!

par Samuel D

10 janv. 2020

Broad range of modeling topics covered relatively quickly. Depending on your background, some of the concepts will be more or less difficult to understand. Nice way to familiarize and challenge yourself with new material at the same time.

par Roberto G R

27 déc. 2015

This course is both very instructive and fun. The professor covers a lot of interesting topics. It would be better if he speaks a little bit slower, so the non native English speakers like me can understand all he is saying.

par Dmitry U

28 févr. 2016

The course focus is broad and instructor is great. However, some particular models have been described too general, e.g. the lectures on Lyapunov functions had no connection to the ODEs and other mathematical phenomena.

par Christopher A

10 janv. 2016

Very interesting course. It isn't a hard course whatsoever but the concepts you learn are very fundamental and can be applied in so many domains. Very important to be a well rounded thinker.

par zoeywang

20 mai 2022

The content of the course is good, but the organization needs to be improved, and the focus is not prominent, knowledge is extensive but the analysis is not deep.

par Milind G

31 déc. 2015

A must do course for everyone.. It's a rejoinder to all those who say that what you learn in schools/colleges is of no use in practical life.

par Toke S

27 mars 2016

I found this course very educational and i feel brighter after finishing.

Modelthinking helps me to interpret the world and my surroundings.

par George T M

25 févr. 2019

Model Thinking by the University of Michigan makes one a better thinker and helps one to understand practical situations using models.

par Nikita V

19 févr. 2016

One of the greatest courses on MOOC! The only thing which is still hard to handle with is the temp of speech of the tutor. :)

par Luuk T

16 janv. 2016

Contributed to making me a clearer thinker and was a good refreshment of material from my MSc Business Administration.

par Sid R

28 janv. 2016

Love it! This is my first foray into model thinking. I wish there is a better way to say thanks to Professor Page.

par Venugopal B

14 nov. 2019

Good introduction to the material. But don't depend on the lectures / course if you want to go deeper

par 李培春

9 oct. 2016

The teacher is witty. It's a great course, but more mathematical calculating would be better.

par chandra s

14 sept. 2016

I think everyone should take this course although some of the lectures are hard

par Kirk r

14 sept. 2017

Good class. A little topical, I would have liked more time Net Logo.

par Albert N

24 oct. 2017

The main takeway for me is the ability to understand complex models

par bob n

2 juil. 2020

very interesting material, easy to follow, useful quizzes and tests

par Ross T J

18 janv. 2020

Pretty good course. The book is also very interesting.

par Pietro P

9 juin 2016

I think it is terrific course - it is just right for me