Chevron Left
Retour à Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach par Université de Washington

4.6
étoiles
13,086 évaluations

À propos du cours

Do you have data and wonder what it can tell you? Do you need a deeper understanding of the core ways in which machine learning can improve your business? Do you want to be able to converse with specialists about anything from regression and classification to deep learning and recommender systems? In this course, you will get hands-on experience with machine learning from a series of practical case-studies. At the end of the first course you will have studied how to predict house prices based on house-level features, analyze sentiment from user reviews, retrieve documents of interest, recommend products, and search for images. Through hands-on practice with these use cases, you will be able to apply machine learning methods in a wide range of domains. This first course treats the machine learning method as a black box. Using this abstraction, you will focus on understanding tasks of interest, matching these tasks to machine learning tools, and assessing the quality of the output. In subsequent courses, you will delve into the components of this black box by examining models and algorithms. Together, these pieces form the machine learning pipeline, which you will use in developing intelligent applications. Learning Outcomes: By the end of this course, you will be able to: -Identify potential applications of machine learning in practice. -Describe the core differences in analyses enabled by regression, classification, and clustering. -Select the appropriate machine learning task for a potential application. -Apply regression, classification, clustering, retrieval, recommender systems, and deep learning. -Represent your data as features to serve as input to machine learning models. -Assess the model quality in terms of relevant error metrics for each task. -Utilize a dataset to fit a model to analyze new data. -Build an end-to-end application that uses machine learning at its core. -Implement these techniques in Python....

Meilleurs avis

BL

16 oct. 2016

Very good overview of ML. The GraphLab api wasn't that bad, and also it was very wise of the instructors to allow the use of other ML packages. Overall i enjoyed it very much and also leaned very much

PM

18 août 2019

The course was well designed and delivered by all the trainers with the help of case study and great examples.

The forums and discussions were really useful and helpful while doing the assignments.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 3,043 Avis pour Machine Learning Foundations: A Case Study Approach

par Ron M

26 sept. 2018

I signed up for this course and began the reading and videos, but once it was time to begin interacting with the technology required (Amazon Web Services) , it appears this course is not longer supported by the instructors. Most communication on the course seems to have stopped between 1 and 2 years ago. Recent comments on the discussion forum no longer receive a response.

par Yaron K

13 juil. 2016

The Lecturers are very enthusiastic, but I was hoping for examples and assignments based on Pandas and Skikit-Learn. Instead the course examples and assignments are based on a machine learning package called Graphlab, that stopped working when it was upgraded to version 2 (there are workarounds that enable it to work locally, but clearly it isn't "enterprise ready")

par Charlotte E

12 avr. 2016

I feel like it should have been mentioned a lot clearer before starting that this was simply a course in how to use the creators library. These skills are not transferable anywhere else as I would have to pay to use them in future! Would have been a lot more useful as a how to for sci-kit and pandas.

par Sam Z

20 déc. 2016

Great course!

Emily and Carlos teach this class in a very interest way. They try to let student understand machine learning by some case study. That worked well on me. I like this course very much.

par Florian M H

12 mai 2020

I am a professional SW developer (Embedded C for control units). I do not recommend this course for people who already know something about machine learning. If you want to learn the basics of ML, Stanford's Machine Learning course is a far better choice (is based on Matlab though).

This one here has far too little content.

Moreover, in case you cannot install the needed GraphLab/TuriCreate SW package (only MacOS or Unix, for Windows not always working, as for me also!) then you're basically left alone with finding a) the SW packages you need (I took scikit, numpy, pandas) and the corresponding commands (because the entire course explains ONLY commands for Graphlab, NOT for the other packages) - this is BIG extra work you need to do on your own. Now the big joke is that all other courses in the specialization are NOT based on Graphlab, but on the other packages I mentioned ;).

In addition: Literally 0 support from teachers/mentors in the forum during the course. The students have/had to handle most/all problems themselves. This is a no-go.

par Susan L

5 nov. 2018

Out of date. Should be retired or updated.

par Andreas

4 janv. 2017

This specialization is delayed for months now - very annoying! Don't give them money!

par Iori N

26 janv. 2016

i cannot spend $4000 per year package just to learn this course. sorry i am off...

par Sarah S

13 févr. 2016

Unsufficient information for the programming assignments.

par Ken C

4 févr. 2017

Not happy about course 5 & 6 got cancelled.

par Hugo N M

7 févr. 2016

The course has a fundamental problem, it relies completely on a library developed by one of the instructors, which is not open source. In the end, it seems like a big opportunity of delivering a marketing campaign by the instructors then otherwise.

I definitely will not spend time and money on the other courses of this specialization.

par Nils W

19 sept. 2019

The course could be great, if it won´t depend ob Python 2.7 and graphlabs (because scikit isn´t scalable). Also some quiz questions are so hard, that it is impossible to answer only with the material. So they use forum posts to answer how you can find a solution to the quizzez. So in total more a waste of time.

par john p

13 mai 2016

No Open Source Libraries, this course is not educational; it is a sales pitch to use their expensive software. Good luck having an employer pay this amount of money for software when they can hire employees that can use free open source libraries.

par Christopher W

15 oct. 2015

The fact that the class uses GraphLab instead of pandas/numpy/sklearn should have been stated up front

The course felt like an advertisement for the professor's toolkit

It was very disappointing that the equivalent standard workflow was not supported

par Miro F

14 mars 2020

The instructors need to specify that you can run this course specialization using MAC or Linux only. I have wasted my time for the past 3 weeks trying to figure out how to run the Sframe or Turi using windows and could not find any solution.

par Natalia Q C

24 juil. 2019

The instructions to download GraphLab don't work and even when you sign to use the AWS platform the instructions are also old and I haven't been able to start any of the assignments because of that! I want MY MONEY BACK!!!

par Alejandro

13 juin 2016

Shame that it was not possible to progress with this course without using graphlab which the creator of this course himself created. Please see the course as just a training sales promotion for his ML application.

par Brett L

17 oct. 2016

Very good overview of ML. The GraphLab api wasn't that bad, and also it was very wise of the instructors to allow the use of other ML packages. Overall i enjoyed it very much and also leaned very much

par Pooja M

19 août 2019

The course was well designed and delivered by all the trainers with the help of case study and great examples.

The forums and discussions were really useful and helpful while doing the assignments.

par Anton M

12 févr. 2018

Very interesting course, many thanks to Emily and Carlos.

The approach in explaining materials was exactly what I was looking for in order to understand both applications and implementation of AI.

par Wei-Zhe Y

18 mars 2019

在上這門課之前,其實我就具備了這堂課大多數內容所需的知識,包含這些模型的方法以及數學證明等,因此這門課對我的幫助在於graphlab的使用、各種案例的探討及實踐。

由於有一些先備知識,這門課程的部分案例及題目,是我覺得不太能接受的,例如說:雖然課程中有提到overfitting觀念,但很多題目看起來都只在表達參數越多效果越好。

另外可能是在下才疏學淺搞錯了,在一些linear regression或是logistic regression的範例中,由於案例中的dummy variable過多,造成變數之間線性相依(n維空間中有k組向量,若k > n,必然存在若干向量彼此線性相依),直覺上有無數組解都可以達到幾近0的SSE,因此縱使結果再漂亮,對那幾個case中的參數,個人其實感到相當的疑惑。類似的困惑還有推薦系統的上課實例等。

課程主要專注在案例分享及各種方法的簡介,整體順序安排相當不錯,兩位講師的描述也相當生動有趣,有很多地方讓人感到耳目一新、獲益良多。不過關於模型的限制覺得還需要更多的解釋,才不會讓人誤用了一些不恰當的方法。

par Mohamed A E

6 juin 2020

the course concepts were good but as everyone is saying the materials are outdated and you use TuriCreate instead of GraphLab so you have to search for the appropriates functions some times, and the installation was hard too because TuriCreate works only on Linux or WSL, I almost quit the course because I couldn't install it at first

par Igor K

18 juin 2016

I can only infer that this course's target audience is rich pregnant women who care about shoe shopping and celebrities. Unfortunately I am none of those things and had to cringe my way through the examples, watching the videos at 2x speed.

The course itself is incredibly shallow, even for a survey course, and basically serves as an ad for one of the professors' own products -- Graphlab Create. You'll be much better off taking Andrew Ng's course, which is significantly more in depth and forces you to write your own solutions to problems instead of relying on a proprietary library.

The only reason to prefer this course is if you really dislike the idea of using matlab.

par Dmitry V

1 avr. 2016

I'm sorry, but this is just ridiculous. I can't recommend this course to anyone. It's all about advertizing: Emily Fox can't stop but recommend Amazon services, and Carlos Guestrin does the same for his Dato's Graphlab Create, which is might be great in general, but absolutely useless in educational purposes. The practice part of every week is just a waste of the time.

I can't say "money well spent".

par 郑轶松

27 déc. 2015

LIKE an advertisment!

Why not use pandas and numpy sk-learn?

Open source is more popular!