Chevron Left
Retour à Strategies for winning. Meteorology in a round the world regatta

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Strategies for winning. Meteorology in a round the world regatta par Université de Barcelone

4.5
étoiles
110 évaluations
37 avis

À propos du cours

In this course you can learn about the mechanics of global weather, the foundations of ocean meteorology, predictive modeling and how sailors receive data via satellite and use high-performance navigation software. This course looks at oceanic meteorology and climatology through the lens of the sport of sailing. You will gain a basic knowledge of meteorology needed by sailors to take part in a regatta such as the Barcelona World Race, the only double-handed, round the world regatta with no stops. You will learn about the strategies employed during a round the world regatta and how these are put to use on board the latest ocean racing yachts....

Meilleurs avis

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 37 Avis pour Strategies for winning. Meteorology in a round the world regatta

par Miguel S B M L

14 janv. 2021

Lots of knowledge is given from these gentlemans, really impressed with the easy way that they teach all the contents, i am wishing for more courses like these in the future about other regattas and seas, comment from a Officer working in a Tall Ship

par Kristina F

15 sept. 2017

Awesome course. If you're into sailing or meteorology there is nothing better. The amount of knowledge conveyed in this short course is immense, yet it's fun and captivating the whole time.

par Matt M

30 août 2017

interesting course, sometimes the subtitles are not correct. But overall it is easy to follow. I had sometimes some difficulties to see the boats on the screen behind Marcel in the case studies.

par David W

3 juin 2018

Instructors did a great job introducing not only Meterology, but the basics of sailing equipment and technology for taking a boat around the world. Excellent!

par Clare E H

16 août 2020

I loved this course, as sailors with a 28ft blue water boat this has relevance as one day we would like to sail the world... until we do, this has added valuable meteorological and sailing knowledge.

It was difficult to see the screen sometimes and I found it useful to have google maps open too.

I also had to research the difference between high and low pressure and how they are formed as I didn't find this clear.

Not speaking spanish the subtitles were invaluable.

Many thanks, Clare

par Fethi O Ö

26 juin 2017

''No man will be a sailor who has scheme to get himself into a fence,for being in a ship is being in a fence, with the change of being overwhelmed.'' Said James Boswell in 1759. It's not good enough to become a sailorThis course telling us how to use winds when you on the sea surface.Thanks for the creators and all sailors teached us which kind of subjects the meteorology included.

par Luis A R A

6 juil. 2018

Curso muy interesante para planificar navegaciones a la vuelta al mundo. Guía práctica y bien explicadas de las condiciones meteorológicas reinantes en cada área en donde se desarrolla la BWR. Material didáctico muy útil que hacen más entretenido y fácil el aprendizaje de todos los contenidos.

par John B

15 janv. 2018

This is my first MOOC and it lived up to my expectations. The material covered was well presented by great instructors. That some of the lectures were in Spanish (which I do not speak) was not a problem. I would recommend this course for anyone interested in

par AUBIN N

16 déc. 2018

Really interesting course to have a really good idea about what system can be expected on a round the world regata. Also really good material for local effects and tactics.

par Elise M

29 mars 2021

Thank you very much for this course, very very interesting. It is precious when one hasn't access to live marine meteorlogy course and before reading books to learn more.

par Mark A J

24 mars 2021

As a deck cadet learning meteorology this really helped show the practical weather considerations as well as giving a nice picture of the global circulation system.

par Joseph B

11 mars 2018

Great course for any aspiring navigator or anyone who wants to learn about weather.

But, a majority of the course is in Spanish but, there are subtitles.

par Christian A M B

20 janv. 2020

Disfruté mucho aprendiendo acerca de regatas alrededor del mundo y cómo los distintos componentes del tiempo afectan la estrategia.

par Patricio M

8 sept. 2020

Muy ilustrativo, entretenido y finalmente entnedí bastante más de como funcionan lo vientos. MUchas gracias

par Iustin T

3 avr. 2018

Very interesting material, nicely explained. I have learned a lot from this course. Thank you!

par Pedro R

26 juil. 2019

Curso focado bem na rota da Barcelona World Race com ótimos conhecimentos e boa didática!

par Mustafa İ

14 déc. 2020

Whatever your goal is, success depends on working

Thank you for all!..

Best regards

par JOHN Q

26 juil. 2017

Not only interesting, but a hula lot of fun to take. I felt in the race!!

par Daniel C P

13 mars 2018

Great info and clearly presented! Very usefull!

par Vincentas K

8 déc. 2020

really interesting world race simulation

par Johan S

22 févr. 2021

Great Course nicely presented

par Adell V

23 juil. 2020

Super! Very interesting!

par Sandip D

12 mai 2020

Great course

par Johannes A

6 févr. 2021

The overall structure and compilation of the course is good and fun to learn. Quizzes are good and at a fairly well-defined level. Everything is logically building up from the basics.

A good portion of the course is in Spanish (lectures), with different teachers involved. But transcription texts are good with just some minor translation flaws, example: "tiempo" can be translated to "time", but also "wheather", sometimes, this is wrong. In my case, none of these flaws have had an effect on passing the exam quizzes. There are some inconsistencies in the vocabulary due to the various teachers involved using both, English and Spanish, and also due to personal preferences in the graphic illustration of wheather fronts, etc. For some beginning the course with zero prior knowledge, this might be confusing - however, it might also be a plus for those who can handle it and get to know two systems without getting lost in translation.

The projection in videos sometimes lack contrast, so some of the details (maps) are not clearly visible.

par Conny R

7 juin 2020

it would be useful to see the questions and selected answer for the incorrect ones in the quiz, as it is hard to remember what one needs to review.

The translation from spanish to english was often hard to follow, and the whiteboard drawings hard to see due to a weak contrast.

Overall though a great course, informative and well presented.