Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction à la pensée mathématique

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction à la pensée mathématique par Université de Stanford

4.8
étoiles
2,379 évaluations
579 avis

À propos du cours

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

Meilleurs avis

PD

29 juin 2020

It has help evaluate what I put into decision in any applicable context. Since I've noted what decision I make and how outcome can be made to vary when I consider all components in a isolated manner.

AM

23 nov. 2019

It was an amazing course! Lots of interesting content. The content is also explained really well, i found it really easy to understand. The assessments are a little challenging, but reasonably sized.

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 564 Avis pour Introduction à la pensée mathématique

par Victor O

3 sept. 2018

Keith did really great course for those who missed formal proofs method at school or at university. I wish I had this course in high school or in my first college year. Math, unlike to other STEM disciplines, is based not on experimental confirmations, but on the chain of logical steps (aka proofs). Keith explains and teaches you how it all works. I strongly reccommend to everybody who wants to establish truly solid background in maths and then be able to study it further in his required directions. Really enjoyed. Universe is very beautiful and math is such an astonishing side of it. Keith is amazing.

par Edwin C v E

3 nov. 2018

Excellent course. Many important mathematical concepts are covered during the course, such as proof techniques, quantifier handling, logical and mathematical thinking and objectively assessing other people’s work. The pace of the lectures as well as the variety of topics is good. The final chapter might be a little out of some students’ comfort zone, especially since the prof takes a deep dive quite quickly, but remains interesting nevertheless. Highly recommended.

par Alexis H

12 févr. 2019

Touches the foundamental parts of mathematics. Really helped with my mathematical thinking.

par Wesley T

5 déc. 2017

I really want to learn this material. I believe the module may be more improved if the videos were subdivided into smaller chunks. Passionate speaker though, theres a lot of promise here.

par Juan A

20 août 2021

last test is unnecesary and annoying

par Mudita S

7 juil. 2020

I work in publishing and have absolutely no day-to-day brush with Mathematics but since I had a high school background in the subject, I wanted to make contact again. This course served my purpose perfectly. The instructor, Dr. Devlin, has provided very detailed lectures and he never makes the subject boring. The in-lecture quizzes are a big help to keep your attention in check.

I was a bit apprehensive of the course content as I'm not from the United States and wondered if it would make sense to me, given my limited knowledge. But I stand corrected; it was easy to follow.

From structure to progression, this is indeed value for money. I'd highly recommend it!

par Ken L

24 juil. 2020

This was a return to mathematics for me after many years (I am in my late 60s). I completed modules in mathematics during my psychology degree and throughout my career had to use statistics for research purposes. The course has reawakened my interest and revealed something that I have overlooked, that deep down I have a love for mathematics!

The course tutor is outstanding, both in clarity, sense of humour and in having a kindly approach that inspires confidence. It is not an easy course and it certainly requires effort, but the reward for the effort is that what seems initially obscure gets quite a bit clearer and appreciation grows.

par Bruce S

30 juin 2020

The course was interesting and challenging. Professor Devlin did a very good job of explaining the material and, while I appreciated that he did not want to lead us by the hand, it would have been helpful to have all the assignment and problem set answers available somewhere. I went into the class knowing nothing of higher level mathematics or proofs and am interested in learning more. I would be interested in a followup course focusing on proofs.

par Nickolas F

31 août 2017

A truly amazing course that gives the student an excellent taste of mathematical thinking and makes even those who hate mathematics understand its depth. A special thank you to Dr. Keith Devlin for teaching this course and giving me a true glimpse into university level mathematics, but also to Coursera for giving me the ability to be an active student in such amazing courses. I hope that more courses like this are to follow in the future.

par James H

18 juil. 2020

This is an excellent preparation for higher pure maths study. It's essentially an introduction to proofs - building them and assessing them.

It's worth looking at, even if you think you know this stuff. If it's 10 years since you graduated, it's still worth working through, to get your mind in order; if you think you are comfortable with the material, watch the videos at high speed to save time, until you start failing the quizzes :)

par Christopher C

30 mars 2018

What anyone could ask for in a basic proofs course: logic, proofs, induction, some application of what they learned to higher mathematics. I like the idea of teaching a bit of abstract algebra right away, but this course goes with some basic results of analysis (probably for the low-hanging surprising results in analysis). Nice job!

Grading proofs was subjective, but keep in mind the threshold to pass a quiz is very low.

par Marcus K

17 mars 2018

I work in the digital visual effects industry as a developer and wanted to understand scientific papers better. Searching the the for solutions, I came across this course. It is very well structured and offers tons of materials to work with. You can test yourself with quizzes, assignments and problem sets throughout the course.

I can only highly recommend it .

par Yuliya A S

12 juin 2017

Some work is involved and probably a good ideas to start on assignments earlier then later, but it's really thought through material that is being presented and great concepts.

par Rob G

31 janv. 2021

Great but ditch the test flight as it seems really arbitrary on who is marking as the people marking including myself have no experience marking others work. Some of the assignments could have been more thoroughly reviewed as opposed to the "i will go through a few questions and leave the rest for you and your classmates to work out". When you are learning how to do proofs it is really dangerous to leave your learning up to other people who are learning how to do proofs.

par Rahul A K

5 juil. 2022

I wish to give this course 5 out of 5 stars for the content and for the way it illustrates the link between logic and mathematics. However, I am withholding one star because - my submissions for my final tests were evaluated after a very long delay and after many requests for evaluation. Please speed up your evaluation process. Apart from this, I love this course and its contents and the teacher's method of explaining.

par Zirou-matikz D

25 juin 2021

El curso es bueno a secas. En mi opinión, se podrían usar materiales audiovisuales para hacerlo un poco más atractivo e interactivo, pero considerando que está basado en la lógica y el desarrollo del pensamiento individual, cumple con los objetivos del mismo.

par Wakash K

30 août 2019

Good Course, A must take for college math majors. While the course covers most of the contents, Professor should have given more attention to Proofs and Real Analysis which are assigned just two weeks in this course.

par Almaz

29 déc. 2017

completely disagree with evaluation exercises as it allows to get >= 12 points for completely wrong solution. It's better to use [0,7] based system as used in IMO. it makes more sense and checks problem solving, not ability to bullshit

par Zhenqin L

19 déc. 2017

老师很幽默。讲的很细致,可是没人最后改我的作业,以后不交钱了。

par CA G N

26 juin 2018

think differently....

par Mohammed A S

26 sept. 2017

This Course is only good if one has a group to study with. Online , whtatsapp, or social networking groups are not that effective. If you want to do this course make sure that you have friend or two planning to enroll with you.

par zarghona H

30 août 2020

all the videos and quiz are lock

par Yonatan G

3 juil. 2017

Tengo Problemas con la traducción al Español, me notificaron que este curso tenia subtitulo en español me voy a dar baja.

par S M R R

8 oct. 2020

This course has a great introduction to why you should take this course. Professor Keith Devlin introduced us to why high school mathematics is different from university mathematics. High school mathematics deals with math which invented kind of before the 18th century. But what happens to the mathematics that was invented in the 19th century. Because of your kind information many modern mathematics techniques invented in the 19th century. How to deal with those problems?

In varsity level mathematics you just don’t use or apply formula that was predetermined but you think about the problem. You brainstorm and make the reasoning behind the problem. A mathematical proof needs to be dealt with great care. Because you have to deal with its uniqueness universality. Of course, you have some certain predefined tools that you learned in high school, but you need to think before applying, not as it was done as a template set in high school.

So, Coursera offers this course to introduce you to a glimpse of how mathematical thinking procedure works. This course introduces us to Logic and Logic Combinators, Logic Implication, and Equivalence, Quantifiers, several proof techniques such as proof by contradiction and proof by Induction, proofs involving Quantifiers, introductory Number Theory, and some proves associated with it. The hardest part of this course is Real Analysis. Each proof associated with Real Analysis involves so much thinking and reasoning. At the very last week, i.e. at the 10th week, you need to submit some assignments involving proof techniques that will be peer-reviewed before you get your certificate.

par 徐致远

14 févr. 2020

First of all, thank you very much for this masterpiece. This is the most challenging course I've ever had on the Coursera.

One more comment on the final peer review assignment: the question about whether 0 is a natural number.

Only after taking this course and doing some research on the Internet do I realise that there's a lot of argument on this question. I am a college student from China, and I major in physics, rather than mathematics. For me, the statement "0 is the least natural number" is a fact that was written in my primary school's textbook. So I was quite surprised when I was told that 0 is not a natural number. After searching on the Internet, I finally got more knowledge on this.

Fortunately I was not supposed to lose too much on that. However, I do recommend that you make this clear in the course content so that everyone can discuss under a common assumption, regardless of their background education.

Above all, this course experience is a lot of fun. There's no standard answers here, only remarkable thinking and a space of infinity to explore. Thank you for all of it! I'm giving 23 out of 24 marks for this course, taking away 1 point for clarity about whether 0 is a natural number.