Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction à la pensée mathématique

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction à la pensée mathématique par Université de Stanford

4.8
étoiles
2,383 évaluations

À propos du cours

Learn how to think the way mathematicians do – a powerful cognitive process developed over thousands of years. Mathematical thinking is not the same as doing mathematics – at least not as mathematics is typically presented in our school system. School math typically focuses on learning procedures to solve highly stereotyped problems. Professional mathematicians think a certain way to solve real problems, problems that can arise from the everyday world, or from science, or from within mathematics itself. The key to success in school math is to learn to think inside-the-box. In contrast, a key feature of mathematical thinking is thinking outside-the-box – a valuable ability in today’s world. This course helps to develop that crucial way of thinking....

Meilleurs avis

PD

29 juin 2020

It has help evaluate what I put into decision in any applicable context. Since I've noted what decision I make and how outcome can be made to vary when I consider all components in a isolated manner.

AM

23 nov. 2019

It was an amazing course! Lots of interesting content. The content is also explained really well, i found it really easy to understand. The assessments are a little challenging, but reasonably sized.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 567 Avis pour Introduction à la pensée mathématique

par KRISHNA P

15 nov. 2020

I enjoyed the course immensely. I am 53-years old now and had finished my Bachelors in Math at the age of 21. Subsequently, I moved on to Engineering and did have to use Abstract Math. This course is an ideal introduction to future Math students. Prof. Delvin's empathy for first-timers will certainly encourage many future students.

par Jordi A

29 nov. 2018

This is a fantastic introduction to the world of college-level math. Recommended to HS students, social science majors who are quite analytical, and maybe even some STEM freshmen. While it takes considerable effort to follow the course and assignments, it's quite a learning experience, and I with I had taken it earlier in my life.

par bj d

13 mai 2017

Excellent course! Started off slowly and methodically laying the foundations for successive lessons. Prof. Devlin explains, demonstrates and allows one to "hear" him think through solutions. My math skills got stronger, but more importantly, my approach to the logic of mathematical thinking can be transferred to other disciplines.

par Abhay G

17 juin 2019

I get a new thinking in Mathematics. Now, i get a new approach to tackle mathematical problems.

I learnt some new different methods to prove the theorems and get a paradox(in which we have proved 1 = 2) that give me a new sight to see a problem.

I realise "Mathematics does not depend upon solution, it depends upon a process".

par Mikhail Z

18 sept. 2017

This course is a fun, thorough and thoughtful introduction to the basics of mathematical thinking. I've used it as a supplementary course for series of seminars for philosophy of mathematics. The peer-review assignment is a brilliant way to grasp the difference between solving a problem and thinking about solving a problem.

par Dimitrios G K

5 mars 2021

Needless to say, how good Dr. Keith Devlin is, but I would like to mention the satisfaction anyone gets after finding a path to prove something on his own. Gradually, with a lot of humor, he introduces some key facts you can use in order to acquire the skills to analyze a problem and step by step to be led to its solution.

par Tim D

25 mars 2019

I just want to say thanks to Prof. Keith Devlin. I have never been quite comprehend the proof techniques and usually have to prove statements arithmetically directly. Thanks to this course, I finally see how I can approach the problems more systematically, thus being able to find the answers faster and more consistently

par Adam M

25 mars 2020

A great assignment-based introduction to discrete math with an emphasis on communication and thinking. This is a course to improve how you approach problems, and although it provides highly useful skills for university math courses, the disciplined thought process outlined in the course is applicable to the real-world.

par Sayar D

8 juil. 2022

This course helped me to review problems logically from the point of view of the problem itself and not think from a certain pre established framework. It has also helped me develop out of the box solutions in some cases. Overall it is a very good course for anyone pursuing higher studies in engineering or sciences.

par GUILLAUMÉ J

26 déc. 2021

C​ours de très grande qualité visant à l'apprentissage de la pensée mathématique dans le supérieur, à penser comme un chercheur en mathématiques : un mathématicien. Ce cours, dispensé par une pointure du domaine, se révèle très enrichissant. Je recommande celui-ci à toute personne passionnée par les mathématiques !

par Jaime R

28 oct. 2020

This class has a very well laid out approach to learning online. The videos were to the point and applied to each week's theme of the course. It was especially helpful to have some of the answers to the practice sets shown in a separate video. The professor does a very good job of teaching a very difficult subject.

par Anhad S

28 oct. 2019

Great course for someone trying to get back in touch with college level mathematics after working professionally and/or more usually, someone trying to get started on graduate level mathematics. Dr. Devlin is quite a thorough professor and I wish I had more professors like him during my undergraduate years as well.

par Megan M

3 avr. 2021

The professor is fantastic as he thoughtfully and thoroughly explains the material. Ultimately this course is about YOU taking the time to slow down and think about a variety of mathematical concepts. The goal is to help you increase your abilities in thinking mathematically and communicating clearly with others.

par Anatoly S

27 août 2020

I did not learn much new facts, but the course helped to structure and put in order what I already was familiar with and what I could remember from school and university. This was an interesting, productive, and thought-provoking experience. I believe it will motivate me to further work on my mathematics skills.

par Minh D

11 déc. 2018

The course name itself is a importance not only for individual but for the world. The development of Mathematic can significanly boost if we not only know calculate, how to calculate the formation, but know how to think (Mathematical Thinking). Huge potential course that can change our community! Thank teacher!

par Giovanni P

21 oct. 2020

El profesor que dicta este curso es sin lugar a dudas un profesional sumamente capacitado y referente en lo que yo considero educación de calidad. Ha causado gran satisfacción de mi parte al realizar este curso y me ha brindado herramientas que me serán sumamente útiles una vez que ingrese a la universidad.

par Elmer N

27 août 2019

Excellent instruction and pacing. As a veteran Professional Engineer, I found the course challenging and informative. I enjoyed especially the real-world examples. I would recommend this course to anyone with a desire to discover the fundamental principles of number and set theory.

Elmer A. Norvell, PhD, PE

par Alfred B

6 déc. 2021

I love this course so much. It makes you think outside the box. The truth is, so far this is my difficult course on Coursera 

I'm very grateful to this wonderful instructor Keith Devlin.

Coursera you're my helper I can always run to. I will always make good use of the opportunities you have been giving me.

par Vishal

15 mai 2020

it is a very fantastic course which improves our ability of thinking. It is a easy course at the beginning but little bit challenging in last weeks of this course also assignments some how hard but overall course is very fantastics and also well design. Thank you sir Dr.Keith Devlin for your guidance .

par Sagar P

28 sept. 2017

The 9-week mathematical journey taught me a lot and made fall in love with mathematics back again. I wish , I had worked harder and earned a better grade but commitments to my family and job did not let me do so. I await for another opportunity to get tutored by Dr. Keith Devlin and Stanford Univ. again

par Serhiy O

12 août 2020

My true thanks to Standford University staff that made this course happen. I believe, this course is a firm stepping stone toward many sorts of precise sciences. With this course, one may: 1) improve consistency in reasoning; 2) learn accurate word usage; 3) get to know a bunch of smart people.

par Luiz F

29 juil. 2020

This course is extremely good. I just got out of High school and the vision of mathematics this course gave me is totally different. My way of reasoning certainly changed and now I can recognize the importance of the use of language when comunicating, does not matter in what way it's been doing.

par Chloe L

7 juin 2020

I never appreciated math or thought myself capable of doing math well. Now I am excited about real numbers and integers and solving puzzles! This course was a great life experience, and I am indebted to Prof. Devlin for the excellent design and meaningful principles that he put into the course.

par Assaad E

11 juin 2020

just an awesome course that anyone should take. Since I began in this course, I saw mathematics in a new way that is more brilliant and effective, also my grades at the university goes up as well as my understanding of math and science materials.

Professor Keith Devlin will make you love math!!

par Thein H A

7 mars 2021

Love it. The professor is really keen and helpful in his delivery of the lectures. Very clear explanation for most of them, but for some, be prepared to struggle especially if you are not familiar the rigorous mathematical proofs. Well, this is why we are here anyways. So good luck and enjoy.