Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Computer Programming

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Computer Programming par Université de Londres

4.2
étoiles
614 évaluations
207 avis

À propos du cours

This MOOC provides you with the foundational skill set required to write computer programs. If you are interested in learning how to write interactive, graphical programs from an introductory level in a real programming language, this is the course for you. You will begin by learning the basics of editing and running programs. Then you will learn how to create 2D graphics using shapes and coordinates. Finally, you will learn how to create interactive graphics that you can control with the mouse. You will even solve a set of interactive puzzles using your coding skills in the Sleuth game which has been created especially for this course. The course uses the Javascript language and the p5.js library....

Meilleurs avis

GT
8 juin 2019

The course is built up well, the steps are easy to follow. Even when there is some research required, the intentional gaps are highly manageable. The gamified deliverables were really fun to do! :-)

AG
19 juil. 2021

It's worth the hard work. I'm insatiable for learning and need more impossible looking projects or games that Coursera designed to help the student really get into the world of computer programming.

Filtrer par :

176 - 200 sur 208 Avis pour Introduction to Computer Programming

par Deleted A

18 avr. 2021

Good Knowledge and Quizes

par Shagufta M

11 nov. 2020

I was actually expecting this to be more basic level. I am experienced but yet for a beginner level I found this course a bit confusing. Also there are a few things that can provide a better experience if improved. First, the assignment was placed in week 1 with limited knowledge relevant to attempt the assignment. It could have been placed at the last week and with enough knowledge to attempt the questions. Second, it was way too repetitive, I feel the idea here is to engage newbies with clear concepts rather than getting them to do repetitive tasks without a clear understanding. Third, I received the certificate soon after completing week 1 assignment. If for this course completion the requirement was to only attempt the assignment with 80%+ marks, I'd prefer to have it at the end of the course after I have gone through all videos otherwise I will loose interest to keep going through learning material after achieving the certificate.

par Robert M D

28 avr. 2020

I had initial problems using the text editor, brackets. I eventually figured it out however it took me hours. there were many similiar comments to mine complaining about the same issues. the introductory portion to this class needs to have a better tutorial on downloading and using brakets and all other software that may be needed. when there are many similiar complaints about a topic and they are not addressed and adapted into the lesson it makes for a terrible lesson and class. I would gladly up my star review if they make changes to the tutorial of how to use brackets.

par Fatih G

6 nov. 2019

everything was ok so far but sleuth was real disaster and very very difficult to get 80% especially for beginners without any video help. I spent hours to get 80%. Yes I learned so manythings but I dont think this should be the way of learning online.

par YUE Z

31 août 2021

unclear instruction, confusing class schedule.

For the assignment, I can see they try to make it fun, but but I think it's a failure with ambiguous feedback.

par Loren D

2 oct. 2019

sleuth assignments were frustrating. bit more theory could have been provided, examples on creating events, initializing objects etc.

par Medina b

28 avr. 2020

I couldn't find the examples they were referencing and could not get any support

par Adam K

26 août 2019

I've had better.

par Kristine R

17 sept. 2020

This is NOT a course for beginners. The layout of the curriculum is backwards; already in week 1 the students are given a hefty amount of rather complex programming assignments that are not in the least aligned with what's being taught in the syllabus at the moment. Most of the solutions and tools for completing the programming assignments in week 1 are not presented until week 2-3. If you're lucky you can find some pinpoints in the discussion forum (where old students are equally as tired and frustrated) and pass the assignments simply through trial and error. Not at all an efficient learning strategy.

Also, the technical issues with Sleuth need to be fixed, asap. There are a handful of students who cannot raise their grade to 100% since Sleuth app is bugging and won't accept the final assignment(s). The app is supposed to reset itself after x amount of incorrect uploads - which it doesn't. NO ONE from staff or technical pays any attention to this - although the bug is frequently mentioned in the forum. No student's interested in paying another month's Coursera fee just IN CASE staff at school decides to finally answer in the discussion forum. The lack of mentorship and advise being given in the forum is waaaay below acceptable. Sleuth assignments need to be split into three units and presented at the end of each week, based on that week's curriculum. Your final grade should be calculated as the sum of all quizzes and assignments - after the last week's assignment is done. You're not supposed to be able to download your certificate in week 1 - just because you've guessed your way through all queestions. Someone needs to correct the layout of this course.

par Alex B R

12 déc. 2020

All the download links don't work. It's not specified very clear what language you'll be using. I tought it was C++, but it's JavaScript and as a beginner you have to specify what the differences are or if they matter much. Anyway, that wasn't the biggest issue. I downloaded the Brakets software, everything seemed ok, then in the first week course it says you need to download a file, which I had to guess where it was.. then I try opening the file as instructed and I get error codes in every command line, before even trying to edit anything. Overall, this course just seems unprofessional and not very begginer friendly.

par Francesco B

22 avr. 2021

This course will make any beginner very frustrated to point of considering quitting and losing excitement about learning to code. Needs to be updated and be more comprehensive to help with the assignment. Also the programming assignment should be updated and fixed up, seems to be buggy.

par Alyssa M

10 mai 2021

Some of the necessary materials aren't available for download anymore, and the assignment you need to complete don't seem accept correct answers from many people. There's also no instructor help with these issues, so I'd recommend trying another beginner computer programming course.

par Pamela T

21 janv. 2021

Not great instructions - sort of figure it out on your own, got the brackets software - which was only a mention. Found the rec info. But kinda for someone with a bit more experience. Should be a fun informative lesson.

par Антон В

9 oct. 2019

Very frustrating coding assignment, with poor support for Windows users and overall tasks, are easy but tought to set every pixel right and you will punish for wrong attempts though you did all right.

par Robert W

16 janv. 2021

Brackets doesn't function properly and it came preloaded with a folder that I couldn't get rid of. I don't need the hassle.

par Santhusha J M

28 oct. 2021

Too much work to do in order to complete one assignment. It's not all about computer programming. It's like a child game

par Kilian W

20 sept. 2021

N​ever seen anything worse. The detective game in particular is very sobering and a definite waste of time.

par Steve U

5 mars 2021

Software stated wasn't available to download plus 'Sleuth' downloads would not run.

par Krystian B

10 mai 2021

W zadaniach podaje prawidłową odpowiedz a nie zalicza mi jej. Strata mojego czasu!

par Jeanette W

30 sept. 2021

c​annot download the programs needed to navigate course and topics covered

par Meghan D

18 mars 2021

This course Is awful and the recommended software Is no longer available.

par Sree I

20 juin 2021

Appears to be a bit outdated. Unable to get past beginning material.

par Islam W

31 oct. 2020

It was a terrible experience, the idea of sleuth is totally trash.

par Francisco S

29 juin 2021

h​ard to get help and they using editor that cant dowload anymore