Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Genomic Technologies

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Genomic Technologies par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.6
étoiles
3,625 évaluations
571 avis

À propos du cours

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Meilleurs avis

SS
27 mai 2020

It was well taught. I liked the fact the two professors focused on two different subjects- biology and statistics portion of this course. The paragraphs written below each video was extremely helpful.

KK
20 nov. 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

Filtrer par :

526 - 550 sur 569 Avis pour Introduction to Genomic Technologies

par Saaket V

2 janv. 2018

A good introduction to Genomic Technologies. Positives: Concise, to the point quizzes, at times funny alternatives answers. The instructor was world class. Could have included few examples of technologies and software being used for sequencing. Trends and what to expect in next five years. Linking to the applications like Precision medicine, Companion Diagnostics, and Personalized medicine would have further improved the delivery of the course.

par Raúl O R

13 sept. 2021

N​o es un curso que recomiendo para quienes ya han cursado materias básicas de biología, estadística y leído un poco sobre lo que es bioinformática. Sin embargo, es un buen punto de repaso si es que quieren iniciar desde cero todo lo que esto implica. Yo buscaba una iniciación en herramientas para trabajo de secuencias genómicas como R, Python o cualquier otra cosa, pero tarde me di cuenta que no era nada parecido a eso.

par ELISA W

11 avr. 2018

This course included a lot of background information which most I already had. The lecturers were engaging, however, spoke quickly. Luckily I could rewind. Some concepts were inadequately glossed over, but then tested on. Since, as I said, I already had background I could still successfully answer the quiz questions. But I could see how someone who is taking this without prior knowledge would have more difficulty.

par Jessica R

20 mai 2016

This is an extremely basic course. In my opinion, it isn't worth $49 and is thrown in just to add to the total price of the specialization. It is a useful refresher, but doesn't really contain much information. Just a couple of topics are covered at a very basic level. You could also get this info from watching Youtube videos.

par Abhinaya S

25 oct. 2017

Average course. The initial part was taught by someone who doesn't do Molecular Biology and still tried to push off a course material. It sounded like it was dumbed down to below basic levels in some cases and while I understand the course is meant for general population, the material was presented in a very un-scientific way.

par Wesley W

22 juin 2016

I am a PhD student in genetics, so the background material there was review from undergrad courses. Obviously some people who are not biologists will need this background. I do wish, however, that the statistics intro was more applied and covered a better intro and application to the why!

par Youssef T

26 juil. 2021

Not what I expected to be honest, needs a lot of upgrades and further detailed information as the course in total was kinda shallow for people having previous experience/degrees in field. Looking forward to see how the rest of courses in specialization will look like though.

par Abhilash K T

26 avr. 2020

Overall, the flow and the materials covered are good. I was really interested to learn the statistical part of the course, however, there were very few examples and the speaker went through all the materials like everyone here knows all the statistics that he was teaching.

par Nikita T

13 juil. 2017

Mostly, it is an interesting course, although it is very short - if a person knows something about molecular biology, then it is feasible to finish it a couple of hours. Nevertheless, probably it provides us with a good introduction to the rest of the series.

par Sergio R B

29 mai 2020

I did not find the course on an intermediate level, it is pretty basic. The statistics parts need materials different than the videos to have a deeper understanding of the different parameters/calculations and what do they mean.

par Clara M G

6 juin 2020

could have a bit more application of analyses, at least the statistical parts. I enjoyed the application of reading the paper and answering questions. I am looking forward to the next section of the course!

par Khairunnisaa' B S

15 août 2020

If you are learning this for the first time without any prior knowledge like me,this course is difficult and there are many technical terms which you have to memorise and know for the Quiz.

par Abdur R A S

16 avr. 2020

The Graded quiz regarding the statistical part was a bit difficult and the course project article was also difficult to understand and the quiz for that was also not easy to solve.

par DIKSHIT A

30 juin 2020

1 star just for instructors English , it's really disgusting , he is saying too fast .

course content is really good .

He reminds me of Phil Coulson

par Giuliano B

8 avr. 2018

Very basic and introductive to the following courses of the specialization path. Very clear explanation, waiting for the rest of the course.

par Maria T

12 oct. 2017

Good overview, but not very detailed - very quick to go through and not for anyone who already knows something about the area of study.

par Suki S

20 mars 2016

This was a little light, despite the fact that this is not my area of expertise. It was a goo start overall, tho.

par Sana S S

30 juil. 2020

The lectures were too long and drawling. It would have been nice if lecture slides and readings were provided.

par John M

14 mai 2017

The course is very concentrated and short. I suggest to add more time and explain things in more detail.

par Michael O S

20 janv. 2020

Somewhat easy for an introductory course, but good for people without prior background.

par Jean-philippe M

25 oct. 2016

Good introduction to the field

Good presenters

Poor illustrations during course

Thank's

par Kriti S

16 juin 2020

basic introduction. The statistics lectures were new to me. good for a start.

par Harshita M

2 sept. 2020

Not worth the time for a person having a biology background.

par Dave S

12 avr. 2020

The stats section in week 4 sucked. The rest was spot on.

par Junior B

27 juin 2020

A nice but sometimes to shallow introduction into genomics