Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Genomic Technologies

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Genomic Technologies par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.6
étoiles
3,424 évaluations
532 avis

À propos du cours

This course introduces you to the basic biology of modern genomics and the experimental tools that we use to measure it. We'll introduce the Central Dogma of Molecular Biology and cover how next-generation sequencing can be used to measure DNA, RNA, and epigenetic patterns. You'll also get an introduction to the key concepts in computing and data science that you'll need to understand how data from next-generation sequencing experiments are generated and analyzed. This is the first course in the Genomic Data Science Specialization....

Meilleurs avis

SS
27 mai 2020

It was well taught. I liked the fact the two professors focused on two different subjects- biology and statistics portion of this course. The paragraphs written below each video was extremely helpful.

KK
20 nov. 2017

Relatively nice introduction course, contents are maybe rather limited, yet as an instructive course, it does provide a clear overview which correlates well with the required answers for the quizzes!

Filtrer par :

376 - 400 sur 530 Avis pour Introduction to Genomic Technologies

par PRABHJEET K

30 avr. 2020

This was my first course on coursera and this course is very well structured . i did the molecular biology and measurement technology very easily but found little difficulty in data science part as that part was new for me. I feel good that i got to know more by joining this course.

par MATHEUS D L C

13 juin 2016

The last module and the final paper was a little confuse for whom is not from Biology (I'm from computer science). But the course is very well made and gave me the notion I'd like to have. The professores are very well qualified and inspired me about the subject.

par Jason T

2 août 2016

Very good intro course. Information is presented clearly and concisely, and it was pretty easy to comprehend even with no background. Only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was the quizzes were a bit too easy and I don't think touch on all the important details.

par D T

26 août 2017

Excellent short introduction to Genomic Technologies and a good starter course for the specialization. It provides a very good overview of what is to be expected in the other courses while at the same time establishing a good foundation for what is to come.

par Guillermo A B

16 mars 2021

This course touches very basic points and its good for refreshment if you already know these topics, not so good if you are new in the field. The two instructors are clear, concise and they show they are very experienced in the subject.

par sidney R

28 déc. 2017

Hard to comment without having done subsequent courses. Was surprised by what was assumed to be known by participants. Review of DNA structure and chemistry and the chemistry of contemporary sequencing would have been useful.

par Nicholas Y

13 déc. 2018

It is a good introduction course for people how are getting into genomics or bioinformatics, would recommend for those who are starting in this field, or want to update their information on new technological advancements.

par K H

27 juil. 2020

Nice course containing main important technologies and statistical analysis but I felt there can be more videos about types of PCR, NGS, etc . but overall good content. It was helpful for me to recall my knowledge

par Dan C

9 juin 2016

Good overview of the knowledge domain. Perhaps it could be extended with some advanced, optional reference material for those keeners who would like to explore in more detail some of the topics presented upon....

par Makragić A

3 nov. 2016

The course is a good introduction into genomic data science, I disliked last week because teacher gave too many unnecessary information. But overall it is great course for Computer Scientists especially.

par Saurabh M

8 sept. 2019

This course is very well suitable for beginners. I am eagerly waiting to start the next course of the specialization for deeper understanding. Although, this course was very informative.

par Khoo L T

17 nov. 2019

This course had gave me the overview of the statistical analyses for genomic data analysis. This is useful for me as I can employ those statistical Analyses knowledge in the near future

par Thodoris S

12 nov. 2017

Nice introductory course for those who are new to the interdisciplinary field of bioinformatics. However, experienced users could also skip this course and go straight to the next ones.

par Alicia F

21 janv. 2021

Complex topics summarized to key points, which is great. One criticism is that some questions on the quizzes required prior knowledge (fact recall) that wasn't covered in the course

par Ben S

1 sept. 2016

The final project was way more work than any of the other weeks (10 hours!), but it was definitely worth stumbling my way around Galaxy and foreign genomic terms for that long.

par Jaslyn L

10 juil. 2020

A very nice course, but can be difficult for someone with totally no background in this and other tech/statistic stuff. Really enjoyed the course work though, was interesting.

par Athul

28 juil. 2020

Good for someone who want to learn about genomic technologies. Those who wanna be expert in this field has to go a lot beyond this course. But this one will be a good start

par Halyna K

6 mai 2017

Good introductory course, highly interdisciplinary. You will need some basic knowledge in molecular biology and statistics in order to better understand video lectures

par Gareth H

25 juin 2017

This course lays out the foundation for the rest of the Specialization. The course feels a little light on content but the concepts it does cover are well described.

par Samuel D L

12 juin 2020

A good, general & quick overview to new technologies in Genomic Data Science.

Recommended to be completed not discretely, but with the entire Specialization Program.

par Giulia P

18 févr. 2016

Interesting topic, maybe an improvement could be to provide the material as one file and not many files one for each video (also easier to consult in the future).

par Heather R

18 avr. 2019

Wish it was a bit more challenging for those of us in scientific research, but I understand the need to be broadly applicable. Enjoyed it and learned a lot.

par Lukas J

8 janv. 2019

A good basic overview of the subject. Can be skipped if you have some biology background as many of these topics are covered during a standard sequence.

par Elia C C M

14 oct. 2018

Good and helpful introduction on genomics. The use of real life examples was especially important on how we use, protect and analyze our data.

par Monika C

21 sept. 2019

Introductory course for the subsequent genomic data science courses. The lecturers are smart and their teaching approach is very encouraging.