Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Imagemaking

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Imagemaking par California Institute of the Arts

4.5
étoiles
2,588 évaluations

À propos du cours

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Meilleurs avis

LC

8 oct. 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

RJ

18 août 2018

This is more challenging that it seems. It forces you to think creatively and critically with a seemingly simple subject. I recommend this course for anyone who wants to work with their hands a bit

Filtrer par :

376 - 400 sur 569 Avis pour Introduction to Imagemaking

par Kristian J D R

25 mars 2017

Very Nice

par Christian S G

13 juil. 2021

Amazing.

par liangzi l

28 juil. 2017

Amazing!

par Reham R

18 oct. 2021

amazing

par Eimy S M G

3 janv. 2020

I loved

par Doaa M M

2 août 2019

جيد جدا

par udit k

30 janv. 2018

thanks

par kelly t a t

1 juil. 2021

buenn

par chise

9 févr. 2020

goood

par lily r

18 juin 2017

Nice!

par Joel O

22 mars 2022

good

par Luca B

12 déc. 2020

Nice

par CHADALAVADA V

31 oct. 2020

good

par Nagaraja G

13 oct. 2020

good

par Federico N

17 juin 2020

good

par M R

4 mars 2020

szxd

par ahmed a e

30 oct. 2018

good

par B B

18 févr. 2017

<3

par ruben

29 juin 2018

.

par kati s

26 sept. 2016

A

par Corinne M

14 avr. 2016

G

par Olesya K

29 juil. 2021

I​ enjoyed the assignments. It helped me to create themed works based on my photographs and drawings. The idea of the course to use the same images throughout 2 weeks didn't fit my own objective. I did new project for each week. I was totally disappointed at lack of the imagination of so many people who blindly copying instructors work, just changing an animal. Learn to use your own imagination. If you take this course, be creative, be authentic. No One needs people who can copycat. Create something better based on what you have learned. People taking this course shouldn't assume they are ready to create children's books, for example. The problem I noticed throughout the course the lack of good composition. Gal "plays around" with bad compositions and then it becomes a norm for these poor students who don't know better. Encourage these people to flip through good books. Learn more.

par Monica E G

27 mai 2019

The contents of the classes itself is really really good, the videos, the assigment. But my 4 starts is because the method of coursera is annoying, having to go to forum many times to ask people to review so you can go on in the course, so the forum doensn't work to share knowledge is just for people to ask for review. Also there is no moderation about the reviews, I had a lot on reviews just saying "good"or well done". I expected at least the final course would be checked. One thing that made me waste time is that for 3 times I had to go to chat with us to ask to unlock my course, I didnt do that I would have to wait more than a week for star the new week and I had the impression is an impressiona that coursera make this to make us spend more time on the plataform.

par Keith W

8 juin 2016

Very good course with fun and challenging assignments. My only criticism of this series of courses (the graphic design specialization) is the grading process and lack of instructor interaction. While the peer grading is setup so that it's not too difficult to receive a decent grade if you do the work, there is virtually no instructor feedback on assignments, which is a bit dissapointing. I realize this may be due to the huge number of students, but usually when I pay for a class, interaction and feedback from the instructor is part of the package. Perhaps if you did that, though, then the tuition cost would be much higher.

par D.S. L

1 mai 2021

This course was very good. I could tell the instructor didn't want to limit the student too much, but I'm afraid it made her directions a little too vague. For instance there weren't any clear examples of work for students to see, she would often opt for wordy explanations instead of examples. I get it, you don't want students to just copy work, but it was pretty hard sometimes to really grasp what the expectations were for some of these assignments, I can't imagine what it would have been like to someone for whom English is a second language. All in all, it was a fun course with a fair amount of useful work.