Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Imagemaking

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Imagemaking par California Institute of the Arts

4.5
étoiles
1,860 évaluations
381 avis

À propos du cours

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Meilleurs avis

LC

Oct 09, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

ID

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 376 Avis pour Introduction to Imagemaking

par Viorel-Daniel S

Sep 16, 2017

The course failed to make me enthusiastic about image making the way I was enthusiastic about typography in the preceding course.

par Mary A V

Nov 07, 2019

To be honest, the professor had a lot of extraneous meandering monologues that seemed poorly written (or possibly off the cuff), and I sometimes felt that criteria for performance evaluation was very subjective or ambiguously written for a course where we are subject to peer evaluation.

par Holly H

Jun 01, 2018

Out of all the different ones in this specialisation, I felt like this one was the course that could have the most work done to it. I didn't feel like I learnt anything in this section, as yes you could be imaginative, however there was no real structural lessons apart from showing how to make your booklet at the end. Lessons about random placement and other overlapping didn't really give me any more depth of understanding compared to what I learnt in the last few courses in the Graphic Design specialisation.

par Dave L

Aug 31, 2016

The weakest of the series so far. Overlap with some of the other courses. Too much art therapy.

par Dries N

Jun 29, 2017

Not enough video's and explanation and what's there is to simplistic.

Not so good questions to review other people's work.

par Christine

Jun 13, 2016

Not up to the standard of the previous two courses. The material was already covered in the first course - Fundamentals of Graphic Design - and nothing new was brought to the table. Even the assignments were a re-hash of the ones from the first course. I realize the point of the lack of specific guidance was intended to encourage us to explore the "making" of multiple iterations of the images. I just would have liked to have more instruction or examples of the elements of composition hierarchy.

par Lin Z

Sep 11, 2017

The course is generally interesting as a purely visual exercise, but It's not very clear what are the learning points are. Even the final assignment is not very clear in its objective, and no samples are shown. (The final video shows the process of handcrafting a book, but doesn't even show us the final book!) Would recommend this only for people who have created artwork before, or at least have a keen desire to do so.

par Jeannie N

Aug 31, 2016

As an educator myself, I found this class to be rather pathetic in its structure and the assignments. These are topics and activities that I was doing as a student in middle school and junior high (both public schools mind you, not arts centered charters). Charging people for a certificate in this "class" is tantamount to what diploma mills do as the course requirements are not up to even senior high school level coursework. Truly, Coursera, what happened to your open education offering real education?

par Ирина

May 05, 2016

Nothing interesting. Common information about nothing. Sorry

par Giorgos A

Jun 01, 2019

complete waste of time, I didn't learn anything valuable

par Daniel B A

Nov 19, 2017

mostly abstractions and not many objective guidance

par Iskra D

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

par Ruth J

Aug 19, 2018

This is more challenging that it seems. It forces you to think creatively and critically with a seemingly simple subject. I recommend this course for anyone who wants to work with their hands a bit

par Rohit N

Aug 31, 2016

The course content was good but the assignments weren't structured that well. While reviewing I realised some people made very simplistic stuff like me after following instructions, while others with more design experience created really amazing stuff. They should have included some advanced example for demo.

par Molly B

Jul 08, 2018

I was excited about this class but I felt like it was a little lacking. There were not many videos so I felt like I was not able to learn a ton. I also felt the assignments just felt a little like busy work, basically just copying and pasting the same images. I would have like to have learned a little more detail about actually creating images through video and had a few different, more useful assignments.

par Sayem

Dec 07, 2017

Almost nothing is taught! :/ Assignments are boring and uninspired. Everything is really abstract and more guidance is needed.

par Chana M H

Jul 31, 2018

I enjoyed this course. I do not draw or paint, but the course did expand my knowledge of layout and establishing visual hierarchy in designs. I was forced to think more about using a grid as part my concept development. It was also helpful in developing a stronger sense of how to integrate colors scale and text into my work. Great additional reading suggestions for continued growth in image making for those who are into making their own image, which I am not!

par Dorcas J P P

Sep 01, 2019

ME GUSTA BASTANTE ESTE CURSO, YA QUE PODEMOS APRENDER MAS, REALIZAR VARIAS TAREAS O CUESTIONARIOS PARA EJERCITAR NUESTRA MENTE Y SABER QUE FUE LO QUE APRENDIMOS...

YO APRENDÍ MUCHÍSIMO GRACIAS A ESTE CURSO.

par Kara K

May 11, 2016

If you enjoyed the first course in this specialization, you'll enjoy this course, as it's much of the same. The class is more of an independent studio session rather than an instructional course. If you're looking to work with a single visual subject for a few weeks (but lack the discipline or knowledge to do so on your own), this course will benefit you. If you're looking to save money, perhaps stick to just the first class in the specialization (or take this one if you're only interested in image-making).

par Anton R

Jun 04, 2018

Nice course, would have liked to be able to work with different subject matter for various exercises to mix it up a little. i.e. Not just using the same idea.

par Amy B K

Aug 25, 2019

Overall the course was wonderful. I wish I personally would have had more access to art supplies or experience with computer programs ahead of time-doing so would have made this course more rewarding and engaging for me.

par Kenzie B

Nov 29, 2016

If you've completed the first course in this specialization, then this is a repeat of a lot of the same information. I didn't find the teaching style very effective either, though it may work better for others.

par AMIN R

Jun 29, 2016

Good course if you are driven and can teach yourself. I like the instructor's approach. I'm giving 3 stars only because I was looking for something more about techniques..

par Lisiane P P

Aug 07, 2019

I didn't like the rythm, the way that the tasks were passed. Many times it was a bit confusing.

par Elzbieta Z

May 22, 2020

I am very sad with my rating because I had great expectation. This was the part of this specialization where I expected to unleash my creativity, and it's a pity that it turned out to be the weakest link. The instructor failed to instruct, simply said. Of course, imagemaking and creative arts in general, can't be easily systematized and subjected to measurable rules and conditions. However, the instructor made the whole course and the assignments incredibly confusing. I believe, such a teaching technique works in person, when all the questions and doubts can be cleared, the coursework follows a certain rhytm and develops naturally, an many iterations are possible. Unfortunately, the instructor's style doesn't translate well to online course. Discussion forum is full of people not sure what the assignments are about and the staff, although present and active, doesn't do more than copying and pasting same instructions the students are asking about, as if it made things clearer. This lack of clarity impacts final grade, because all the peers understand the tasks differently and rate accordingly.