Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Imagemaking

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Imagemaking par California Institute of the Arts

4.5
étoiles
2,156 évaluations
459 avis

À propos du cours

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Meilleurs avis

LC
8 oct. 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

ID
21 mai 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

Filtrer par :

351 - 375 sur 456 Avis pour Introduction to Imagemaking

par Kelly J

5 déc. 2016

This course was a fun one that encouraged experimentation and making a lot of images. I would say the assignments could have been more challenging though.

par Anastasia O

17 juin 2018

I learned a lot about imagemaking but I wasn't sure what the point was about making a book. It was fun but I felt "bookmaking" should be another class.

par Fergus N

14 juin 2016

Very enjoyable and encouraging course - I haven't used watercolours since I was a child and this course prompted me to go back out and try them again!

par J-Man

25 mars 2019

Quite a free and open guide which kind of minimises it as a tutorial. However it shows how iteration and alternative methods can help with creation.

par Sarah N

3 nov. 2016

This course is very good for beginners of using images and need to know how to set images together and anyone did not studied graphic design before

par krystal G

5 mai 2020

It's a good course that introduce me to art and design. Anyway, it take a lot of time and might not suit for who didn't have basic in art.

par Lana

24 mars 2019

I felt like standalone course its probably good, but as a part of specialization it is a bit repetitive of the design introduction course

par Chimdiebere A

21 sept. 2020

The course was a very enlightening one. I liked every bit it. I would like it if the course could cover digital image making in details.

par Seung H L

9 sept. 2020

I did not like how less people contribute to the course.. some people neglect the comment and don't read some comment about the artwork.

par Mihaela-Lucia M

25 août 2020

great course for learning and practicing your skills. I gave 4 stars because some of the assignments were unclear and a bit confusing.

par Nannie A

14 mai 2016

This course teach you to think out of the box and if you have the courage and try, you will take it for the rest of your life.

par Hibah D

9 juin 2020

The course is incredible, it gives a wide range of options to execute the assignments beautifully! I learned a lot

par Jelome C

14 janv. 2017

I liked how there's such an open approach to the course and it gave me a lot of chances to practice design.

par Kelly L

7 avr. 2018

I wish there was more lessons on specific creative techniques. Otherwise good class. Well worth the time!

par Beverley H

25 oct. 2016

Really enjoyed the challenges it made me face with designing my own booklet.Has inspired me to do more.

par Justyna B

12 juil. 2019

Great course and quite heavy on the assignment part. Nevertheless, this is where true learning starts.

par Susan M

24 mars 2017

Good introduction to important workflow concepts for creating and designing publications from scratch

par Kasturi K

30 mai 2020

very very interesting , highly recommend if u looking for a good course to do during this quarantine

par Eumorphia K

20 juil. 2016

Very interesting through creative assignments you can learn and refine things about image telling.

par Stacey J J

11 juin 2020

fun course - lots of hands-on assignments and the videos did a good job explaining the concepts.

par Winnie W

14 juil. 2017

More theory and example will give students more detail about image making. Not only a notion.

par Mohamed K E S

26 juin 2017

again for this kind of course, peer review isn't really effective.

but the content is nice.

par MUSTAFA A

8 avr. 2017

Thanks for this creative course that learned us different ways andaspects of image making.

par Chris

10 mai 2020

Great video content. Assignment targets can be difficult to understand at times.

par Kolya K

16 févr. 2018

Nice course of superb specialization. Wish it could be a little more detailed.