Chevron Left
Retour à How To Create a Website in a Weekend! (Project-Centered Course)

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour How To Create a Website in a Weekend! (Project-Centered Course) par Université d'État de New York

3.4
341 notes
103 avis

À propos du cours

What you’ll achieve: In this project-centered course*, you’ll design, build, and publish a basic website that incorporates text, sound, images, hyperlinks, plug-ins, and social media interactivity. We’ll provide you with step-by-step instructions, exercises, tips, and tools that enable you to set up a domain name, create an attractive layout for your pages, organize your content properly, ensure that your site functions well across different operating systems and on mobile devices, keep your site safe, and finally, let people know your site is online. We’ll even show you how to track your visitors. Throughout the course, you'll engage in collaboration and discussion with other learners through course forums and peer review. Once you complete your first website project using Wordpress, you can move on to our optional, extended module that covers more advanced techniques such as using a simple text editor, coding in HTML, CSS, and Javascript, and more. What you’ll need to get started: This project-centered course is designed for learners who have little or no prior experience developing a web site. You will need a computer with a stable Internet connection. We’ll use Wordpress to get you started, provide lots of downloadable examples, and guide you through the process of giving and receiving constructive peer-to-peer feedback. *About Project-Centered Courses: Project-centered courses are designed to help you complete a personally meaningful real-world project, with your instructor and a community of learners with similar goals providing guidance and suggestions along the way. By actively applying new concepts as you learn, you’ll master the course content more efficiently; you’ll also get a head start on using the skills you gain to make positive changes in your life and career. When you complete the course, you’ll have a finished project that you’ll be proud to use and share....

Meilleurs avis

TS

Mar 22, 2016

The title of this course is so inspirational that I actually ended up creating a website in a weened. Now I am using course material to enhance it.

PR

Jul 22, 2016

Me ayudó a aprender todo lo que necesitaba saber. Muy bueno!! Y sí es cierto que se puede hacer un sitio web en un fin de semana :)

Filtrer par :

51 - 75 sur 103 Examens pour How To Create a Website in a Weekend! (Project-Centered Course)

par Yi W

Apr 09, 2016

The content for teaching how to create website is nothing. The name should change to how to create a website with Wordpress. I found some videos on the internet help more than this course. However, some links and information are very useful.

par Qianqiang L

Oct 03, 2016

It's quite simple and doesn't show specific steps of how to do it.

par Aleksandra L

Apr 11, 2016

This course is very helpful to motivate oneself to create a website. But it looks like the authors themselves made the course in one weekend. The lectures are too short and not informative enough to complete the assignments. Some videos don't show what the lecturer is talking about, maybe there is bug or something, but there is only some irrelevant picture. The due dates are inconsistent through different pages. Finally, the next day after the course ends I am not able to view my assignments and the grade for the last assignment, even though the authors sent an email that it would be possible.

par Rakesh N

Mar 27, 2016

This course is super fast for beginner and i colder find the pause button. Great info but could've been delivered better.

par Trixia

Mar 15, 2016

The links provided are informative.

par Jasmine S

Jul 18, 2018

The course structure is quite confusing. One must really search hard to find what assignments are due, what readings/videos are pending, as a single list is not available on the Homepage of the course itself. Moreover, despite having submitted your assignment on time (promptly), one may still be marked "overdue" for the same, in case peers' submissions are not reviewed also. However, in reality, if the peers have not submitted promptly and there are no submissions to review, you will still be marked "overdue" which may affect your grade for reasons beyond your control. Overall, the course material is quite informative and interesting. Thank you SYNU and Coursera.

par Robert S

Jun 05, 2019

It has great advices but it is very limited.

par Gabe G

Apr 20, 2016

I normally struggle to give poor reviews to free online content, but there are so many glaring fundamental issues with the presentation and content of this course, that it I feel it's important to warn people not to waste their time with this course in it's current form.

The mapping and planning lectures raise some good points, but the rest give only the most basic overview of the topic at hand, glossing over steps enough that you would probably learn just as much watching youtube, or looking around inside wordpress on your own. The delivery of the lectures needs a lot of work, with distracting, erratic pauses between words, and the sound frequently cutting out mid-word as they switch between slides. I found it difficult to make it through more than 15 minutes of content.

I gave more than 1 star because the links underneath the slides contain some valuable information, so if you can be bothered trawling through the slides you can gleam some knowledge there.

Hopefully the creators of the course take on board the many negative reviews and give a major overhaul to the course, to bring it in line with the quality of almost all other content on Coursera.

par Michelle B

May 18, 2016

So basically it cuts off. It's like it gives you part of the information and then drops off. They also speed through it much like my old math teacher in college whcih caused 73% of the class to drop. Now I'm in them mist of it Paid for blue host. Paid for my web name and it looks like I'm going to have to pay someone to finish it. So bascially what I got was a bunch of added on expenses and still no web site. I would not recommend this course.

par Alena Y

Mar 21, 2016

1 out of 10.

A waste of time. If I cannot participate in discussions, forums, submit assignments, or give reviews, I might as well watch youtube lectures.

The course content was very poor as well. (this is based on the unpaid material)

This course should be scrapped and not offered as an unpaid course. Its a classical case of bait and switch.

par Jorge I L

Mar 02, 2017

Not really helpfull

par Corinne M

Mar 15, 2016

This course lacks a level of professionalism. The splicing of the videos is bad, and for me actual video of how t

par Sandeep K

Oct 02, 2016

Taking this course is like getting lost across a ton of different websites!

par Shadi D

Nov 12, 2017

I feel that I put a lot of effort into my first assignments and I wasn't given appropriate feedback considering my background in design compared to peers who only just started learning about website maintenance.

par Shannon L

Jan 23, 2017

I did not find this helpful for a complete beginner. I will try an alternative course!

par Keron S

Jul 25, 2017

not challenging enough, not enough information about making a webpage

par Cynthia E

Jul 03, 2016

I have some html/css background. I listened to the first Module and then part of the second module. For a intro level course to get a site up and running using Word Press, I feel like it is missing some key information. As a non-beginner I am finding this course frustrating and not likely to continue. There are definitely better courses out there.

par Lizzy P K v H

Sep 03, 2018

Not clear to me that it's concerning working with Wordpress. Personally I hate Wordpress so I try hard to avoid working with it . So starting this course has been pointless for me and I'll quit it right away.

par Valerie W

Jan 31, 2019

Not what I expected from the description. Instruction was not clearly defined and I abandoned the course. I did not find the instruction useful.

par Carol L W

Apr 12, 2016

If I could give this course a lower score, I would. It was not helpful at all. I ended up having to take another course so I could actually complete my website.

par Johanna H

May 16, 2016

I thought you would learn how to actually create a website, not just how to pick and install a premade wordpress theme.

par Leah O

Jan 01, 2017

This course does not live up to the high value that I've come to enjoy and expect at Coursera. The videos are read by the "teachers", so the inflections are wrong, making it very hard to follow. The videos are clipped short and cut off the words at the end. The information is given so quickly with terms not explained that a novice will likely not understand parts of it. I found no value here. There are far better tutorials on the web. I can't see how any college or university would respect any certificate from this course.

par Andrew A

Jun 02, 2016

Very horrible and boring course, poorly designed and the teachers can't even speak properly.

par Rana F E

Oct 18, 2016

The course is very disappointing and useless. The two lecturers are not explaining anything properly, they are just showing slides and handing out links.

The only useful part of the course is Module 4, which is outside the scope of the course and taught by guest lecturers.

I would not spend time on this course and instead find another source for learning WordPress.

par Saeed N

Jun 25, 2016

The sequence of the learning movie are not good and some times while teaching the the movie is ended.

Besides, rather than educational material this course refer to several website.