Chevron Left
Retour à Reducing Gun Violence in America: Evidence for Change

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Reducing Gun Violence in America: Evidence for Change par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.7
79 notes
27 avis

À propos du cours

Reducing Gun Violence in America: Evidence for Change is designed to provide learners with the best available science and insights from top scholars across the country as well as the skills to understand which interventions are the most effective to offer a path forward for reducing gun violence in our homes, schools, and communities. Through this course, you will learn how to: 1. Appreciate the scope of gun violence and the importance of considering the issue across a variety of contexts. 2. Describe the role of law and policy in addressing gun violence at the federal, state, and local levels. 3. Compare the effectiveness of gun violence policies and highlight the importance of changing the way we talk about gun violence. 4. Describe state standards for civilian gun carrying and use and how those standards affect crime and violence. 5. Describe how firearm design is regulated, the effective and just enforcement of firearm laws, and strategies for reducing police-involved shootings. 6. Identify and explain evidence-based programs to reduce gun violence and understand public opinion on gun policy. As a student of this course, it’s important to recognize that you are part of an international learning community. We understand that gun violence can be a difficult issue to discuss and we all have our own set of opinions and beliefs. However, we ask you to please remember that gun violence is something that affects every person differently. It’s important to understand that this course is intended to generate productive and meaningful conversation. We ask students of this course to abide by the rules outlined and expected of you by Coursera’s Code of Conduct Policy. Please help us promote a healthy, productive, and sustainable learning environment for all and practice the following principles: Be polite.  Treat your fellow learners with respect.  Insulting, condescending, or abusive words will not be tolerated.  Do not harass other learners.  Polite debate is welcome as long as you are discussing the ideas or the evidence, not attacking the person. Be sensitive.  Remember that Coursera is a global forum with learners from many different cultures and backgrounds.  Be kind, thoughtful, and open-minded when discussing race, religion, gender, sexual orientation, or controversial topics since others likely have differing perspectives. Post appropriate content.  Content that violates the Honor Code or Terms of Service is not permitted.  You may not post inappropriate (e.g., pornographic or obscene) content.  Do not post copyrighted content.  Do not advertise or promote outside products or organizations.  Do not spam the forums with repetitive content. Please note that violations of Coursera’s Code of Conduct, Honor Code, or Terms of service are not permitted and may result in:  Deletion of posted content.  Removal from the course.  Losing access to the Coursera site. *It is important to also note that certain policies and laws mentioned in this course are likely to change and develop over time. As a result, we understand that course content may need to be updated to reflect such changes. While we will strive to do this as quickly as possible, we appreciate your patience. All information included in the course is reported accurately at the time of recording and we intend to update lectures as soon as possible and to the best of our ability. The development of this course was made possible through generous financial support provided by the David and Lucile Packard Foundation, an organization committed to improving the lives of children, enabling the creative pursuit of science, advancing reproductive health, and conserving and restoring the earth’s natural systems....

Meilleurs avis

LH

Jun 14, 2019

This is an excellent, thoughtful, and thought-provoking course, one that should be required for all legislators and people with any interest in guns or gun control.

OC

Jul 18, 2019

Outstanding course, I am so very pleased these experts and educators came together to create this. I have and will continue to highly recommend it to people I know.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 27 Examens pour Reducing Gun Violence in America: Evidence for Change

par Ippolit M M

May 26, 2019

The course is a bit superficial in presenting the findings but not the methods of studies; however, that is perhaps understandable for an "entry-level" course. Still, especially if the course is intended for high-school students who are not (yet) scientists trained in critiquing studies, I fear this course has left them unable to evaluate papers by any metric other than "I like/dislike its conclusions."

That criticism would be unimportant in a course that acknowledges that there are two sides to both an undecided scientific question and a hotly disputed political subject, and so discusses both. Unfortunately, only one side has been well presented. I think that harms the understanding of both the law and the science, and erects obstacles to discussion between persons with different opinions.

In contrast, I have only great praise for Dr. Crifasi's presentation on safe storage in practice; Professor Meares' presentation on police-involved shootings; and the Week 6 materials on "Cure Violence", on cooperative efforts around promoting safe storage and suicide risk recognition/suicide prevention, and on place-based, community-led "healthy neighborhood" interventions--all OUTSTANDING!

par Mindy S

Jun 13, 2019

As someone interested in gun violence as a result of mass shootings, I thought this course was excellent. It allows you to replace the emotional response that is often ineffective in gaining traction for change with evidenced based research that could actually lead to change. As someone with high school students, I do think it is a stretch to get them to engage with a class like this (as it is will all things educational). I think it will be more effective at the college level.

par Leah H

Jun 14, 2019

This is an excellent, thoughtful, and thought-provoking course, one that should be required for all legislators and people with any interest in guns or gun control.

par Dana Z

Jun 03, 2019

I highly suggest this course for anyone interested in finding out what is going on in the United States with regard to guns. Then I suggest anyone taking this course settle into a comfortable chair in a peaceful room each time you tackle a week's content. This is not light breezy material and deserves your clear attention. The amount of concrete data on way to SOLVE gun violence is uplifting and promising. It's implementation becomes another issue, but second to the purpose of this course.

par Douglas M

Jun 06, 2019

Look fwd to updates on this course if possible to augment our knowledge. Perhaps a residential seminar annually & follow up courses as new research comes in and can be applied. We are beginning to define the narrative with evidence based and evidence informed data which we can use practice. Stories as to the train cost of gun violence and the efforts to stem from it need to be told.

par Adrian B

Jun 25, 2019

I am very thankful to Johns Hopkins, Dr Webster and his team, for offering this online certification. I didn't know a lot about Gun violence and I feel this past 6 weeks have very very informative , interesting and important. It is always important to educate yourself on subjects you don't know and I feel that i can form an informed opinion and Guns. Gun rights and Gun Violence. Thank you very much.

par Doug D

Jun 27, 2019

Lots of helpful information. A bit dry in terms of presentation. Significant appearance of bias on the part of the researchers and presenters. As always from any good scientist -- "more research is needed!"

par Phillip W

Jul 09, 2019

There are a few modules which feel repetitive in a way that isn't reinforcing a message, as well as others which feel a bit as though they are filler, fluffing a course that either didn't build enough groundwork to fully integrate their thesis into the overall course goals, or were convenient on hand and easy to add into the video stream despite being of minimal (though some!) instructional merit.

The course starts off strong and the reading lists are robust, and provide good sources for further education. I think more emphasis could be placed on understanding gun advocates thought processes and on cultural and social efforts to reduce gun violence beyond legal frameworks.

par William S

Jun 19, 2019

I highly recommend taking this course for anyone interested in learning more about gun violence and gun policy in America.

par George H

Jun 23, 2019

I found this course as dealing comprehensively with the issue of reducing gun violence and quite well organized so that it can be readily assimilated. I highly recommend undertaking this course if you are at all interested in reducing gun violence in America.

par John L

May 24, 2019

This course did a wonderful job of outlining evidence for ways in which the US can work to prevent gun violence. The pacing was excellent, and the fact that the studies in question were listed on the slides and included in the available readings was a great help.

par Lily C

Jun 07, 2019

This course gave me knowledge and ideas on guns that I had never thought about prior. I do appreciate the fact that one of the instructors is herself a gun owner and that she enjoys doing research to effect gun policy. I received a lot of surprising information about how much overall (not everything) gun owners and non gun owners agree on policy. Thank you guys for an easy to use course on the education of gun violence! This is an ever-growing issue in this country.

par John B M J

Jun 13, 2019

Whether one is an avid gun owner or avidly anti-gun, there is something here for both of you. The learner will have an accurate understanding of Wayne LaPierre's, "..good guy with a gun" mantra. Ending the course with the stats that gun owners were aligned so closely with non-owners on some key issues gives me hope for at least a start to Congressional consensus on SOMETHING. That hope is for my grand kids, since I and my 30-something children will likely see no changes in the near future. There's too much money, ego, and influence-pedaling in Washington for the foreseeable future to be anything but "business as usual".

par Olyvia G C

Jul 18, 2019

Outstanding course, I am so very pleased these experts and educators came together to create this. I have and will continue to highly recommend it to people I know.

par Sarah L B

Jul 19, 2019

Excellent evidence-based solutions to begin the dialogue.

par Robert P

Jul 23, 2019

Thank you for putting in the work to inform us on the problems and solutions to the epidemic of gun violence in our country.

par Michele M

Jul 23, 2019

quite good, I liked the format and the knowledge gained

par sherri b

Jul 27, 2019

Thank you.

par Kathryn B

Aug 04, 2019

I learned several approaches to reducing gun violence that I was not aware of, and I think the cooperative and evidence-based approaches advocated in this course are really important for actually enacting the change, both legal and cultural, that we need in order to save lives. I wish our political discourse took a more similar approach, but hopefully I will be able to contribute to that as a citizen, voter, and activist.The cooperative and evidence-based approaches advocated in this course are really important for actually enacting the change, both legal and cultural, that we need in order to save lives. I wish our political discourse took a more similar approach, but hopefully I will now be able to contribute to that as a citizen, voter, and activist.

par Scarlett B

Aug 18, 2019

So informative! Really changed my opinion about gun violence

par Marta S

Sep 05, 2019

An excellent course, particularly for those wanting to learn about gun violence. The course filled my expectations, Comprehensive syllabus. I gained an awareness about the stats behind gun violence, laws, policies, interventions, public opinion, gun storage that I lacked before. I find the list of readings and data sources invaluable.

par Lisa M D

Oct 04, 2019

This course was very straight forward and easy to comprehend. The simplicity of the graphs coupled with the to the point lessons from the instructors made it a very pleasurable experience for a more visual learner like myself. I feel much more confidant about discussing the topic of gun violence and what I can do personally to contribute to some of the solutions for curtailing it.

c

par Brian H

Oct 24, 2019

This was an outstanding course. Evidence was presented that showed what laws, policies and practices have been effective in reducing gun violence in the U.S. Whether you are a gun owner or not, I think you will find the data presented as an informative and unbiased learning experience. If your area of interest in community involvement, this course offers many examples of how you can help reduce gun violence in your community.

par Albert C

Oct 26, 2019

A very informative course. Even for those without a background in public health. I highly recommend this course to those that wish to participate in a discussion of firearms with knowledge, not just emotion.