Chevron Left
Retour à Global Energy and Climate Policy

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Global Energy and Climate Policy par Université de Londres

4.6
étoiles
326 évaluations
113 avis

À propos du cours

The Global Energy and Climate Policy course offers an introduction to the theoretical and practical understanding of how energy and climate change policies are designed, shaped, advocated and implemented. As energy markets go truly global, domestic energy policies are becoming more and more entangled with wider issues of international governance. Concurrently, the urgent need to mitigate and adapt to climate change and transition to a low-carbon future is adding a further layer of complexity. The course is aimed broadly at people interested in learning more about interconnected issues in energy and climate policy globally. It assumes a level of interest but no necessary previous knowledge. However, the course also offers sufficient up to date research and new critical perspectives to be of interest to people with expertise in or academic familiarity with the topic as well. The main aim of the course is to provide this wide-ranging introduction in a self-contained, but in-depth form, alongside the important practical skills necessary to understand and discuss energy and climate policy, and lay the groundwork for greater engagement in the future – either through academic study, in the public, private or not-for-profit sectors....

Meilleurs avis

SN
22 avr. 2019

I loved the course. It is very important for beginners to understand climate change and policy before committing to their careers and this course if perfect for people diving deep into this sector.

SM
24 juin 2020

Awesome time studying this MOOC. I loved Dr. Harold's approach and line of questioning to facilitators. It helped me read in between the lines and find my stance on some of these complex issues.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 114 Avis pour Global Energy and Climate Policy

par Katrin H

22 févr. 2018

Excellent overview on global climate and energy policy. I liked the peer reviews for assessments, and the fact that different perspectives have been presented during the course. Just one recommendation: Some of the documents, videos and readings were not up to date but date from around 5 years ago, it would be nice to update those resources - especially for the section on the interlinkage between climate and energy policy, an area in which fundamental changes have happened over the last few years. Overall, I can strongly recommend this course !

par Rozan B

28 oct. 2019

Great articles and super interesting videos! It really taught me a lot I didn't know about energy policy. Only thing that bothered me is that my bought certificate is signed by professor 'John Doe', which is of course something I cannot share on Linkedin or my resume. Aside from that: highly recommended!

par Phitcha P

2 févr. 2019

Well-established, Im an energy engineering, I took this course I wanna be an expert in climate policy as well.

par James G

19 avr. 2018

This course gives a great summary of many of the current policy issues around climate while giving a good basic introduction into any scientific or jargonistic concepts. I also thought is was good that many of the experts interviewed gave different opinions, showing both sides of each debate. Each week takes a different issue and there is a good balance between video and readings.

par Mateo S

25 mai 2020

The contents of the course are not entirely up to date, but they are great for an inital approach to climate policy. The dynamics of the course is appropriate, since fellow learner feedback makes you think of other aspects you had not considered.

par Maria E R

5 juin 2020

This course has not met my expectations. First of all, it is not mentioned anywhere in the description that it is an interview-based course. I think this is important information that you should include in the description. In my opinion, a set of interviews does not qualify as a course, but rather as a debate. People are providing opinions and not facts.

Another important point is that several of the links on the reading material are outdated and do not work.

On a happy note, I find that Ms Felicia Jackson has been excellent in her discussion.

par Joel P

31 mars 2020

This was a great learning experience. Being in the Energy field myself, I was intrigued to learn how the world functions when it comes to regulating policies and trading Energy on a large scale. Peer-peer grading is a first-timer for me and I must say it's a great way to learn more and get another perspective on a given week's topic. I'm going to purchase this course for the work put into this. Great work!

par Perminder D

16 févr. 2018

This is a highly informative course. Course is well-structured with uptodate information.

par Mora T G

5 juin 2020

It´s quite outdated

par Jonathan R

12 juil. 2020

I stopped taking the course because a major portion of the course was reviewing and commenting on other participants contributions. Nearly all of my peers I reviewed copied and pasted from other sources. Additionally, many of the sources used in the training were dated and in an industry such as Energy and climate policy, dated sources leads to older non-innovative information

par SORAIA D M F

6 oct. 2020

Dear Mr. Harnald Heubaum and collaborators,

Thank you so much for your time in developing this amazing project. This course is a perfect way to understand why sustainable energies and shaping our daily life. Moreover, if you are a beginner this course gives you a clear view of some points of view. Although I believe that this course is more or less three years old, the ideas work for our present days, struggles are still remaining in our daily life and Institutions (both local and international), have not addressed these problems properly. This gets intensified in developing countries.

par Romaine G

30 sept. 2020

This free MOOC is outstanding, one of the most informative I have studied in Coursera on this topic. Videos are well structured and readings are well chosen and extremely dense of information. However, note that it does NOT take 40 minutes each week to read those, some documents are up to 50 pages long (and there are 3 of those each class).

@Mr Heubaum, maybe you could update some readings, which are often a bit old (2014) and have broken links.

Thank you for the course!

par Franziska A

25 sept. 2020

I enjoyed attending the course on global energy and climate policy. Through the videos and the peer evaluation of the weekly work, the course had a personal component of being part of a community. Every week, I was happy to see Dr. Harald Heubaum and his colleagues again. The course is very well structured, it allows each participant to enter the topic at his or her individual level and develop further. Many thanks for this excellent experience!

par Kerri B

1 juil. 2020

This was an excellent course. The format was excellent, diverse opinions and research were presented throughout, and I have learned so much about an area I truly care about. The tasks were challenging, but not too advanced given I had never studied policy before. The peer review system was also excellent because it enables a collaborative approach where students are located all across the world. I will definitely do another SOAS MOOC.

par Lukasz K

19 mai 2020

It was a highly professional and demanding course conducted by experts in their field. I have learnt world's leading energy and climate policy science in a truly international environment. This course gave me a solid research background and challenged me with intensive workload. I also had an opportunity to learn how to feedback my peers' research which will be a highly transferable skills that I will utilise in my career.

par Jagunmolu N

23 juil. 2020

A great course for me. The concept of energy security and how it speaks to climate change was well explained. The opportunities and challenges of integrating energy and climate policy and governance. The purpose this integration serves. The available and desirable policy interventions for integrating and up-scaling renewable energy production. The benefits and challenges of these policies were some my major takeaways.

par Amy C E

13 juil. 2020

This was a really interesting course! I found that it to be really engaging and challenging which made completing the assignments enjoyable. The lecture content and readings were really good and this course exceeded all expectations I had. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in the field and thank the lecturers and staff who made the course so enjoyable and shared their knowledge.

par Saptarshi M

24 juil. 2020

Basic understanding of global energy and climate policy can be achieved through this course. The interviews of various experts from the industry is worth watching. The course content is quite helpful for the learners who want to improve their knowledge in climate policy issues. As a nuclear engineer, I think, the interview content of the nuclear energy chapter is little weak compared to other issues.

par Tamara R P

13 août 2017

Thank you for such a great course. The videos and debates were very enriching and relevant. It challenged me to think and research further into the present status quo on climate policy, we need more awareness if we are to improve our future through climate change and energy policy! Long way to go but let's ourselves contribute towards a better future through our energy consumption and choices

par Daniela C

15 avr. 2020

I found the course content and structure very appealing. I enjoyed very much the lectures with different perspectives and the accompanying course readings to go further in depth into the subjects. The prompts for the written pieces were thought provoking and helped engage further with the subject matter. Look forward to more courses like this from the University of London SOAS.

par Stephen J

15 avr. 2020

A very well presented and interesting course on a vital topic for everyone. I feel much better informed about the issue of fossil fuels and ways to reduce the damage the CO2 they produce is doing to the planet. It was an easy course to understand while still giving detailed information about the issue. There's plenty of follow up info to be read if you want to do it as well.

par José P D C A

20 juil. 2020

Great course! Every week topic is addressed with a diverse quantity of videos and lectures for further research. The main questions that Dr. Heubaum states in his videos cover a wide range of issues regarding every weekly topic. You'll find this course of great value if you're interested in the sustainability field (especially climate change and energy).

par Angelika M D

23 août 2020

I really enjoyed how the discussions were facilitated and I appreciated the required assessment after every lesson because it encouraged me to analyze the global climate and energy context and think of policies and resources that must be developed as we consider a low-carbon future. The resources provided are very helpful in my work as well.

par Mussa A M

7 nov. 2019

This course was so insightful and especially when you combine energy and climate change issues; it give details on how you can manage your energy production without compromising the environment. But again it gives more elaboration on how you can mitigate or adapt to climate change effects and pave ways to a sustainable energy investment.

par Syed M N

23 juil. 2020

Excellent course that develops understanding of the link between the energy mix and climate change. It develops understanding of the different fossil fuels used for generation and their limitations. The course also discusses the renewable energy prospects and methodology to up scale renewable energy and integrate it in the energy mix.