Chevron Left
Retour à Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.1
étoiles
465 évaluations
129 avis

À propos du cours

Introduces to the commands that you need to manage and analyze directories, files, and large sets of genomic data. This is the fourth course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Meilleurs avis

CW
5 août 2020

There were some typos and confusion about the need not to follow the example code for Exam 4.\n\nHowever, I thought that the course was good and useful overall.\n\nThank You!

JJ
22 juin 2018

Thank you very much Dr./Professor, Liliana Florea. I've learned a lot. It's a very good opportunity to improve my knowledge. This means a lot to me.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 127 Avis pour Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science

par Andrew J D

27 août 2018

Very informative course. Only downside is that the example datasets/scripts are not provided (which I tend to find to be useful for learning informatics).

par Gonzalo C S

6 févr. 2017

It was a useful course. A pity that the instructor makes so many mistakes when speaking, which makes sometimes a bit confusing to follow.

par 邵文

15 juin 2018

The speaker's accent and inaccurate subtitles sometimes make it difficult for me to understand.

par Erik K

3 mars 2019

Excellent Introduction to Command Line Tools used in High Throughput Sequencing Analysis.

par Vassil D

8 janv. 2017

More in-depth explanation would be better. Reasonable projects, overall. Well structured.

par Aleksandr F

18 mars 2021

Course is good, Exam 4 requires extra instructions. DO NOT USE ANNOTATIONS WITH TOPHAT!

par Avinash K

1 mai 2020

Good course to improve your command line skills in analyzing genomic data.

par Thiago C S

15 mai 2019

Some questions were way too specific and out of scope from real practice.

par Geoffrey K

22 avr. 2019

A worthy introduction to the problems facing computational biologists.

par Qianhao L

12 mai 2018

Could have more tools introduced, for instance SNP calling tools.

par Xing Y

2 oct. 2018

The course is good but not "self-contained"...

par Noman A

21 nov. 2019

I like the course too much,

par Pu J

20 févr. 2017

this is a useful course

par Catherine J

19 mai 2020

Excellent presentation

par wenting w

10 sept. 2017

Useful course.

par Kasper T K

21 nov. 2017

Great course, the instructor does a great job in introducing the students to some off the important sequencing analysis tools. Some of the lectures are although a bit bland, where the instructor reads the entire contents of a slide for format files or program options, this is sometimes quite useless as you can read that yourself by... simply reading the slides.

Forums were not always very useful, sometimes solving error messages were supported by referring to the manual page, instead of actually bothering to look through the code for providing more constructive feedback on what goes wrong in a given example.

Instead, examples should be given which elaborates on the effects on chosen different parameters - like "If you want to make a local alignment, use the bla.bla option. However, beware that when using this, more errors are prone to be assigned...bla.bla.".

For the format, interesting columns in the format files in general are interesting, when looking for e.g. "amount of unique genes" etc.

By doing this, we would be helped better into understanding questions of the quizzes, while also delivering an even deeper understanding of the formats and tools.

par Onur S

19 févr. 2018

I really struggled to complete this course. The extent of coverage of the topics is quite good, however this is a applied course and application part is lacking A LOT. The biggest drawback here is that the instructors demonstrations are not accessible to learners. This limits the learning experience so much that you get stuck even at the easiest question in a module exam. Some questions in the exams really require the learner to think and do google searches to figure out a strategy to answer the question (this is a good thing, though). However, it can be very easy to get bogged down and lose focus while figuring out what's going wrong. It is advised to visit discussion forums before taking module exams. I think you should not expect to master the presented tools after finishing the course, but you will still get a decent understanding of them

par Emil C F

3 févr. 2020

Great inclusion in the specialization. I never knew anything about shell until now and I feel like I can use a lot of things from the course in my day-to-day data treatment/processing tasks. I am only giving 3 stars because I spend about 40-50% of the time troubleshooting technical things. The CentOS Vmbox is a great idea but that hardly worked for me (it interfaced weird with OSX and I could get it to understand my keyboard layout, shared folders did not work either) and was a source of frustration. One suggestion for the course would be to help the student verify the initial data set before completing all the analyses on it ... e.g. in the reading section mention the length of the output or similar. Twice I filled out an entire exam "correctly" but had the wrong initial output. You don't learn a lot from that but it does take a long time.

par Manuela L

7 mai 2021

This course is a good introduction to using command line if you're a complete beginner. However, this course needs a total update (this is the most outdated course I have taken in the specialization so far). Most of the tools used are already deprecated (TopHat, Cufflinks) but you still need them to pass the exams. Finally, there is no interaction in the forum and no answer to the messages, so you will have zero help from the staff. If you need to earn a course certificate, do not take the course. I am still surprised coursera charges for this course.

par Igor L

11 juil. 2018

Very interesting material, but presented in a very dry manner and without going into too much detail. You do have to have some background in Linux and Biochemistry of DNA and RNA, otherwise it could be very hard to understand. Also, the last test deviates somewhat from what is presented in Week 4 lecture. Be very careful and read the questions with alertness before answering them

par Raymond F

14 août 2017

Presentation was less lively than the others. Exercises prone to errors unrelated to the course objectives. A lot hof hints based on questions that are repeated a lot on the forum should be incorporated or stressed more in the exam instructions.

par Tom S

14 oct. 2018

The theoretical lectures are ok, but the practical ones are a bit slow. Could have been more scirpt based from the beginning. The Exams are quite different from what is explained in the lectures I think. Especially in week4.

par Pedro S

22 janv. 2021

I didn't find funny the way to explain the lessons, although the organization of the material was cool. Maybe, a little outdated for 2021, but I know the course is 6 years old. In conclusion, good for knowing the basics

par Shipra G

8 avr. 2017

I would prefer the lecture command line notes too in presentations or any other files in each week modules. It was difficult for me to understand her way of teaching and I felt the lectures didn't flow correctly.

par Rafael O B

22 sept. 2021

Gives the basics for genomic analysis but the RNA-seq part is outdated. The tools used in the course such as cufflinks or Tophat are deprecated. There are other more recent tools that should be used instead.