Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Game Design

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to Game Design par California Institute of the Arts

4.7
étoiles
1,980 évaluations
588 avis

À propos du cours

Welcome! This course is an introduction to the primary concepts of gaming, and an exploration of how these basic concepts affect the way gamers interact with our games. In this course you will understand what defines a “game” and the mechanics and rules behind different types of games. Through four linked assignments you'll learn ways to create and describe a game concept, and specifically what makes a compelling game. This course focuses on the conceptual underpinnings of games, and all assignments can be completed with a pencil and paper – no previous programming knowledge is required....

Meilleurs avis

TN
12 avr. 2020

I really loved doing this course. Learnt how to make a simple game and make it really interesting! I loved how the easily the instructor was able to teach us and make us curious throughout the course.

DG
12 févr. 2020

The lecture videos from Professor Fran and his old friend were surprisingly entertaining. Kudos to the team because they were able to make it fun, informative, and engaging throughout the four weeks.

Filtrer par :

426 - 450 sur 572 Avis pour Introduction to Game Design

par Laís L

20 févr. 2017

Excellent!

par Miles S

1 juin 2020

very epic

par Danijel B

9 mars 2020

Loved it!

par José d J N V

20 déc. 2019

Excellent

par Daniel F F C

16 juin 2018

Superb :3

par Luis E

8 mars 2018

Loved it.

par Xindi H

6 févr. 2016

It's fun.

par Anubis L

16 janv. 2016

Excellent

par 王成昊

17 sept. 2015

excellent

par Manar M N H

9 juil. 2020

Great!!!

par Rajesh

26 sept. 2016

its good

par Senala P

12 juin 2016

Amazing.

par Gabriel V

9 sept. 2017

Awesome

par Klaus D D d S

27 juil. 2017

Nice!!!

par Nelson J R d S

27 mai 2020

top d+

par Chris T

26 mai 2018

fun ;)

par Licinio S

19 mars 2018

Great!

par Daniel D

26 janv. 2017

Nice!!

par Joel P

5 mars 2017

Great

par Syed F B S A R

23 juin 2020

Fun!

par 盛成成

15 oct. 2017

nice

par Javier I C S

10 juil. 2020

OK

par Bilge K

28 nov. 2015

<3

par Oguz G

17 avr. 2016

This course provides a nice insight into the gaming theory. Do not expect to make a dive into video game analysis. This game focuses on the fundamental ideas behind gaming, which includes all games. However, the assignments revolve around building board games, so you do not need to worry about not knowing any coding to make video games. Assignment criteria could use some polish, as the rubrics focus too much on mechanics (is it one page long?) rather than content elements. The delivery of the content is interesting. The instructor has gone to great lengths to bring in features that will help you focus better. There could be a better 100% integration between the material in the videos and the assignments, as sometimes you are asked to use only a tiny portion of 30 minutes of videos for the week, and that can make the videos less useful, or the assignment not as educational.

par Kumsal O

24 oct. 2015

This course was interesting. It's truly an introduction to the field. I've actually read about Game Design in my spare time and it was nice to remember some of the concepts I've seen. It's all positive and good but I'd have liked to see the assignments handled a bit differently. It just felt too much one way, especially with one page rule. I do understand this is done to keep people organized and not going crazy with their ideas because since it's peer reviewed it should be fair. Also, once your game idea from an earlier week didn't have much room to introduce the aspect presented in the current week you feel kind of stuck. Although assignments mention we should build on previous weeks' games there is also mention to building a new game too. That part could be clarified or the nature of the exercise can be much more varied than one page requirement.