Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to Game Design

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Introduction to Game Design par California Institute of the Arts

4.7
1,516 notes
435 avis

À propos du cours

Welcome! This course is an introduction to the primary concepts of gaming, and an exploration of how these basic concepts affect the way gamers interact with our games. In this course you will understand what defines a “game” and the mechanics and rules behind different types of games. Through four linked assignments you'll learn ways to create and describe a game concept, and specifically what makes a compelling game. This course focuses on the conceptual underpinnings of games, and all assignments can be completed with a pencil and paper – no previous programming knowledge is required....

Meilleurs avis

OO

Nov 07, 2015

I really enjoyed this course. It was a lot of fun designing and redesigning a game, as well as getting to play other people's games. I enjoyed the lectures and found the peer reviews very helpful.

YX

Dec 06, 2015

This course inspire me a lot. It is not easy, but with tons of fun. I spent a long time to think out the idea and make it and improve it. I did progress in gaming making as a fresh man. Thank you!

Filtrer par :

26 - 50 sur 419 Examens pour Introduction to Game Design

par Savanna B

Apr 18, 2018

Fran is fun and helps put your mind at ease when having to do homework. I felt like it was okay to make mistakes and that i could have fun

par grace c

Dec 27, 2016

fun to follow along with the lectures, which I usually have a hard time with, I have difficulty concentrating, and this was easy to focus on for the most part. Very interesting, and creative instructor, and makes the lessons easy to understand, and not too technologically demanding

par Mikel D B

Apr 05, 2016

So far this course has been great, the lecturer is awesome and the videos are short enough to make you stay focused.

par Tania A

Nov 16, 2015

Even if simple (it's an introduction, after all), the contents are well structured and I appreciate how the assignments can derive from the previous one and peers' feedback. It's satisfying to see the initial idea evolve into something more developed.

par Mikiodelg

Oct 09, 2015

Very useful for start game designers, funny and good profesor.

par Michele S

Jun 27, 2018

Great class! Instructor was fun and made his points clear. I learned a lot and, more importantly, I now *think* differently about games.You'll have to pay $50/month to get the certificate but I learned a lot from just watching the videos and doing the exercises on my own.

par Ahmad I

Jan 24, 2017

Awesome Course to kick off the Game Design world. Highly recommend for the game lovers.

par Lindsay-Anne G

Jan 02, 2016

A LOT of fun, light hearted look into the beginnings of making games of all kinds. This course focuses on starting making games with board games, but the things you learn in this course apply to video games as well. Fran is engaging and made the video segments fun to explain concepts.

par Sucharita R P

Oct 06, 2015

Very well presented and explained.

par Iryna M

Oct 12, 2015

Easy and cool!

par Lvdi W

Dec 28, 2015

Short and easy-to-take, the courses teaches some of the essential elements of game design.

par Luca M P

Feb 04, 2018

Fantastic loved every part!

par Jandson D d S

May 01, 2017

Great teacher, I've had a lot of fun doing the assignments!

par Deleted A

Dec 09, 2015

This was a really creative course! I liked it!

par weigang z

Feb 01, 2017

Excellent course to establish basic concepts of game design. Assignments are very practical and helpful.

par Arikleyton d O F

Oct 25, 2015

Great course!

par AnandVVN

Dec 08, 2015

Awesome course, informative and easy to understand, thank you

par Ahmad A

Oct 08, 2015

To become game designer, I must enroll and learn about this (y)

par Zhanna D

Oct 29, 2015

Adorable course!!! I have so much fun!!

Thank you for creating it.

par Reinaldo A

Feb 29, 2016

Very structured and clear.

par Felipe Q

Oct 25, 2015

awesome and fun

par Lucas G d S

Jun 14, 2016

Really amazing this fist step on this road! On the end I have my own boardgame.

par Luis P

Oct 13, 2015

So far, a great course to start on game design. Lessons are fun and full of thing to learn!

par Tanja H

May 14, 2016

The cours was very good. The lecturer gave us a great idea of gamedesign and was very motivating.

par Isac d V O

Mar 02, 2016

This is a superb course for those interested in starting with game design - or just knowing more about games. The teacher is fantastic and the teacher's assistant is... well... as fun as a muppet. Hats off to CalArts, Cousera and Fran Krause!