Chevron Left
Retour à Comprendre Einstein : la théorie de la relativité restreinte

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Comprendre Einstein : la théorie de la relativité restreinte par Université de Stanford

4.9
1,535 notes
478 avis

À propos du cours

In this course we will seek to “understand Einstein,” especially focusing on the special theory of relativity that Albert Einstein, as a twenty-six year old patent clerk, introduced in his “miracle year” of 1905. Our goal will be to go behind the myth-making and beyond the popularized presentations of relativity in order to gain a deeper understanding of both Einstein the person and the concepts, predictions, and strange paradoxes of his theory. Some of the questions we will address include: How did Einstein come up with his ideas? What was the nature of his genius? What is the meaning of relativity? What’s “special” about the special theory of relativity? Why did the theory initially seem to be dead on arrival? What does it mean to say that time is the “fourth dimension”? Can time actually run more slowly for one person than another, and the size of things change depending on their velocity? Is time travel possible, and if so, how? Why can’t things travel faster than the speed of light? Is it possible to travel to the center of the galaxy and return in one lifetime? Is there any evidence that definitively confirms the theory, or is it mainly speculation? Why didn’t Einstein win the Nobel Prize for the theory of relativity? About the instructor: Dr. Larry Lagerstrom is the Director of Academic Programs at Stanford University’s Center for Professional Development, which offers graduate certificates in subjects such as artificial intelligence, cyber security, data mining, nanotechnology, innovation, and management science. He holds degrees in physics, mathematics, and the history of science, has published a book and a TED Ed video on "Young Einstein: From the Doxerl Affair to the Miracle Year," and has had over 30,000 students worldwide enroll in his online course on the special theory of relativity (this course!)....

Meilleurs avis

BH

Jun 23, 2017

This course is very comprehensive and well prepared material for understanding the Special Theory of Relativity. Larry (the instructor) is very expert and has broad knowledge in explaining the course.

SS

Dec 09, 2019

Almost anyone can learn about the special theory of relativity from these lectures. I actually can't believe that I studied from a professor who teaches in the USA and in so simple way. I am grateful.

Filtrer par :

376 - 400 sur 470 Examens pour Comprendre Einstein : la théorie de la relativité restreinte

par lui l

Jul 15, 2017

This course is outstanding in every way. Very accessible,enjoyable and taught superbly. I can't recommend it enough.

par Mohana A

Oct 07, 2018

Awesome course, well explained. Helps get a good understanding of the basics along with the mathematics behind special theory of Relativity.

par Aliaksandr B

Jan 29, 2018

Very nice introductory course for those who always wanted to understand what is the spacial theory of relativity is about.

par Jose D

May 25, 2018

Outstanding course, by far the best MOOC available. I really enjoyed listening to prof. Lagerstrom lectures and his clear explanations of a subject which is not so obvious to understand.

par Alexander

Jan 14, 2018

Great course! very well organised and the teacher does a really good job at explaining concepts.

par Todd B

Aug 20, 2017

Excellent course. Enjoyed lectures and examples presented that truly helped me understand the topic.

par Kell B

May 11, 2018

f

par Aman N

Oct 13, 2017

best course👌

par Nguyen M

Aug 19, 2017

One word: awesome!

par muhamed n a

Sep 18, 2017

great course and great instructor i deeply understood the special theory of relativity

1- very well organized , from simple to complex gradually

2-detailed

3 -persuasive , full of examples and logic arguments

4- clear effort and patience of this great lecturer

3- gradual

par Randy G

Feb 14, 2018

Absolutely wonderful course. I am grateful to Mr. Lagerstrom for making haste slowly in his explanations during the lectures. Really helped to cement the concepts and the math into the mind. This course comes with my highest recommendation to anyone who is interested in learning about Special Relativity.

par Daniel P S d S

Mar 22, 2018

The teacher is great. He explains all the concepts very well. It was a wonderful course.

par Lluis O

Dec 05, 2016

Larry R Lagerstrom is an extraordinay instructor, for an extraordinary course.

par Gouranga B

Mar 23, 2019

goood

par Michael F

Nov 04, 2018

Fantastic insight into Einstein's special theory of relativity. Great food for thoughts and excellent teaching methods.

par Abdessamad M

May 10, 2019

Excellent course. it explained the theory in a comprehensive way and shed light on many dark corners of this science. It helped me a lot.

par Olga G

Jun 26, 2018

Very well built and easy to digest course, even for somebody who is very far from maths and physics in day-to-day reality. Special thank you for refresh on school maths needed for the course - very helpful. The course takes some time and thinking, but worth it. Absolutely recommend!

par Michael F

Aug 17, 2017

Great course, I now know the Special Theory of Relativity well enough to teach it to others!

par Benjamin Z F

Dec 26, 2017

The content and quality of the course is amazing. I am very satisfied with the course director's knowledge, his ability to convey that knowledge and I now have a much better understanding of the Special Theory of Relativity. Five stars!

par mahatheswaran

Jul 07, 2017

Awesome course learnt a lot from my Guru

par Mustafa S

Jul 15, 2017

A

par Deleted A

Feb 05, 2017

This is one of best courses I have ever taken. Professor Lagerstrom did an outstanding job in this clear,consistent and careful introduction to what is arguably one of the most revolutionary theories of all time. I am taking the 5 stars and multiplying by a lorentz factor of 1.2 to achieve 6 stars!!

par Jasper V

Jul 12, 2018

Thank you dr Lagerstrom (and all other who made this course) for making it! It has been a great and interesting struggle.

par VJM P

Feb 05, 2017

This course helped me understanding many concepts of The Special Theory of Relativity. I recommend it particularly to high school students. Thank you very much to the teacher and all that contributed for that job.

par Rajeev R

Oct 16, 2018

I have always wanted to understand how relativity works and how did Einstein go about developing this theory and this course provided a brilliant opportunity and the professor delivered this a manner that allowed me to understand the process and the theory.