Chevron Left
Retour à Data Structures and Performance

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Data Structures and Performance par Université de Californie à San Diego

4.8
stars
1,687 évaluations
350 avis

À propos du cours

How do Java programs deal with vast quantities of data? Many of the data structures and algorithms that work with introductory toy examples break when applications process real, large data sets. Efficiency is critical, but how do we achieve it, and how do we even measure it? This is an intermediate Java course. We recommend this course to learners who have previous experience in software development or a background in computer science, and in particular, we recommend that you have taken the first course in this specialization (which also requires some previous experience with Java). In this course, you will use and analyze data structures that are used in industry-level applications, such as linked lists, trees, and hashtables. You will explain how these data structures make programs more efficient and flexible. You will apply asymptotic Big-O analysis to describe the performance of algorithms and evaluate which strategy to use for efficient data retrieval, addition of new data, deletion of elements, and/or memory usage. The program you will build throughout this course allows its user to manage, manipulate and reason about large sets of textual data. This is an intermediate Java course, and we will build on your prior knowledge. This course is designed around the same video series as in our first course in this specialization, including explanations of core content, learner videos, student and engineer testimonials, and support videos -- to better allow you to choose your own path through the course!...

Meilleurs avis

DB

Oct 13, 2017

Great into to Java, instructors have clearly put thought in to the format with the choose your own learning style videos, and additional coverage where it may be needed. These have been very helpful.

SS

Dec 19, 2015

The course curriculum is well designed and teaches students the basic data structures needed to be a successful software engineer. The project is good, and the weekly assignments are challenging.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 339 Avis pour Data Structures and Performance

par Jade F

Jan 05, 2019

I am very happy that this course is part of the Object Oriented Java Specialization - the one which has 2 courses from Duke and 2 courses from UCSD. If you are reading this, it goes without saying that you are interested in learning more about Java and getting certification - this course will do that but begin to blend in a lot more topics that are specific to Computer Science - topics like algorithm efficiency for sorting and finding data.

This shift towards Computer Science theory, as opposed to practical Java programming, may surprise you. This can be challenging material - but in the context of the course, you can evaluate how you feel about it without committing too much - since it's the final course in the specialization.

Regardless of your receptiveness to theory, the content is highly relevant in practice, just be warned that you may not breeze through this course. It will definitely be worth it though, as knowledge of these topics are what's expected of people with a Computer Science background in the field today.

par Sruti R

Mar 25, 2019

For someone who has some experience of coding but did not venture much into data structures - this is a superb course as it covers an introduction to data structures, their performance, test driven development, benchmarking and more. The lectures and project materials were simply great for introducing the concepts as they were challenging but not too overwhelming for the typical intermediate level beginner like myself.

par Pat C

Mar 03, 2019

Top class course with top class instructors. Later after completing the course I come back to this material to refresh the material. Top class instruction.

par Akshay G

Sep 10, 2019

well prepared, thank you so much!

par Krishna

Sep 27, 2019

Great Course, really loved it.

par Krishna A

Feb 01, 2019

The idea of applying linkedlists, hashmaps, trees to solve a commonly occurring problem of Word suggestions is cool. It allows the students appreciate the practical context in which these algorithms are useful. The assignments can be made a bit harder to make the learning that much more worthwhile.

par SHAOCHIN L

Sep 11, 2019

Love this course combining the data structure with some basic real word problem

par Vlad

Feb 21, 2016

Introductory course to data structures. The lectures are good, however the assignments are too much guided. Sometimes you can get it done without actually understanding what is going on.

par Yvette W

Feb 07, 2016

This course by Alvarado, Minnes and Porter was clear, interesting and well presented. In fact, it's one of the better MOOC courses that I've taken.

The assignments were of medium difficulty: not too easy but certainly not so difficult that you will get frustrated and give up. In addition, they are interesting assignments. As mentioned, the lectures are concise, clear and interesting. In fact, I recently signed up for another course on algorithms and dropped it because it was SO BORING. Also, I am taking a course on machine learning that presents algorithms. In contrast, that course is not clear whatsoever; if I hadn't taken this one then I would be very confused. Finally, I like how they have the Concept Challenges where students discuss a problem. The thought processes of multiple people talking through the problem was helpful for me.

As a result, I highly recommend this course to anyone who wants to brush up on performance calculations (i.e., Big O), basic data structures, and a few basic algorithms.

par Jesús Á A G

Feb 07, 2016

This course is a excellent introduction to data structures and algorithms for beginners. The lectures are extensive, complete and very helpful. The assignments are challenging and stimulating. The project is the construction of a text editor with check spelling, auto-correction, suggestion and more. It was the first time I felt involve in a large project, and you learn a little bit of software engineering too. This is the second course in the specialization and it overcomes the previous course in every aspect.

I'll give five stars. The only thing I didn't like was the concept challenges, and not because of the challenges but because of the discussion with the UC San Diego learners. They are not beginners, they are actor pretending they don't know how to solve the problems when it is evident -at least it was my impression- that they are advanced students. I found them annoying and not helpful at all.

par shailbhatt

Dec 05, 2017

Great course. I am learning so many things. This course has improved my structured thinking to start with a real world problems in many ways. I have adopted test-driven-development cycle for all my work which has improved my code quality significantly. All those real word challenges videos are a nice inspiration. My favorite videos are the "How I Struggled" because I am able to relate myself facing the similar kind of situation and got boosted to continue. Liked course structure. It works for me.

Mia, Christine and Leo are just awesome . Thanks for all your efforts. Really grateful to you and University of California, San Diego. Thanks.

par Rajesh C

Jan 17, 2016

This course covers some of the industry standard applications and they can be implemented. This really challenges the programmer to sit down and work some of the very good algorithms. And it shows the real usage of the Java data structures.

Professors Christine, Mia and Leo's teachings were very professional and helpful.

A word about the projects. After a student finishes the projects, they can confidently say they did something good with the data structures in Java.

Thank you for the course instructors and everyone who worked behind this.

Highly recommended for the serious Java programmers.

par Dee W

Aug 02, 2016

I love this class. There are a couple of data structure classes in Coursera and i think this class fits me the most. I like that it teaches data structures and how to use them in the real world. So, you will be building actual programs with the data structures you learn . It skips alot of the math stuff and I love it because i am not trying to be a "real computer scientist" . I dont need to know how to write a math proof on how a algorithm works what not. Maybe in the future when i want to do research, but as of right now, I just want to build cool software and have fun.

par Rafael M

Jan 28, 2016

I'm graduated in System Analysis, not Computer Sciences, and learned to program only by experience. After 20 years it's a good deal but still I missed the theoretical background and this always annoyed me. I knew and used to make good use of all the structures presented in this course but never could quite explain how or why, or talk in asymptotic notations. Now I can. I didn't stop here, I do take some topics to deep dive during the lectures. It's being a great experience and I only wish I could have more time to keep myself always enrolled in some course.

par Dzejlan

Dec 23, 2015

This is one of the best series of courses I came along in online MOOC platform, such a brilliant course, this whole specialization is brilliant, such a interesting projects, I'm disappointed that I live in country that isn't that much wealthy to help this Specialization and to be able to do Capstone Project , but I wish all the best hope to finish all in time, this is in my top 3 online MOOC Courses and I saw a lot of them.

I wish all the best to this team and people that made this possible.

par Konstantin

Feb 11, 2016

The course is fantastic! The professors are very enthusiastic and creative: they explain difficult subjects very clearly and provide visual aids and in-video quizes to enhance more deep understanding of material.

Special thanks for the project assignments! They are very interesting and well-laid.

I would recommend this course to programmers who want to deepen and practice their data-structures skills. For the novices this course should be taken after the first course of the specialization.

par Anurag G

Sep 14, 2017

A very informative course which lies at the heart of Computer Science. Gives you not just the fundamentals behind all the data structures, but also makes you implement Linked Lists and Custom Tree data structures for specific problems. All programming assignments are great, fun, and challenging, and really make you practice the newly learnt data structures in real time. The faculty teaching this course is really very thorough in their teachings and are simply awesome.

par mengya w

Dec 28, 2018

Many thanks to all the people who created this course! I really learned a lot about data structure (LinkedList, tree, etc) and I am feeling much more confidence in programming after taking this course.

Although some of the assignments were difficult for me (I stucked a lot), but I am really happy and proud when I got full score from the grader :) Really recommend if you have programming experience but new to data structure!!

par Alexander D

Dec 17, 2015

I liked everything about this course: the theory, the programming assignments, the consistency and clarity in explaining complex things. The material was structured, well-organized, valuable and helpful. I really liked the lecturers. Mia Minnes, Leo Porter and Christine Alvarado are the ones of the best I've seen in my whole life! A Huge Thank You for your hard work and your strong dedication to what you do!

par Siddharth S

Aug 09, 2016

Since my majors was bioengineering, whenever my computer science friends discussed about data structures and their importance, I always wondered what data structures are and why they hold so much importance. The course and the instructors who have beautifully designed and developed it, gave me really good insights into data structures. Thank you Coursera, UCSD, Mia Minnes, Christine Alvarado, Leo Porter!

par Peter A

May 09, 2017

Excellent course! I truly recommend this course. Christine Alvarado, Mia Minnes and Leo Porter have created a great course on performance and data structures. You get to learn about regular expressions, Big-O notation and searching data structures such as trees and tries. I especially enjoyed the programming assignments that Christine, Mia and Leo had prepared for us, fascinating real life examples.

par Aleksandar A

Jun 28, 2018

This course provided me with the understanding of necessity for implementation of various data structures. It was a bit more challenging, but fun at the same time because it helped me understand underlying algorithms that are implemented in many text processing applications. If you want to learn "serious stuff" this is the course to take.

par Vivek B

Jul 25, 2016

It was really a very good course, you can learn many data structures and its implementations along with programing assignments and quizes which are quite challenging. The idea of concept challenge was awesome. You could learn performing efficiency of the algorithms, benchmarking, linked lists trees hashmaps and other data structures.

par Jipeng C

Nov 04, 2018

Very good courses. It introduces some basic ideas of Java. Even though some contents are very basic, I learned some useful knowledge regarding computer compiler associated with Java which is really helpful for me to have a better understand of programming. These knowledge also offer me an edge learning harder content. Thank you!

par Ali S

Feb 21, 2016

A very useful and instructive course. The difficult abstract ideas are explained very clear way. You learn the basic theory, learn to develop understading why and where use a specific Data Structure and the porjects and examples are real world problem.

I am very happy that i had found this course and finished it. Thanks a lot