Chevron Left
Retour à International Cyber Conflicts

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour International Cyber Conflicts par Université d'État de New York

4.4
636 notes
142 avis

À propos du cours

By nature, cyber conflicts are an international issue that span across nation-state borders. By the end of the course, you will be able to apply the knowledge gained for analysis and management of international cyber incidents and conflicts including for activities such as development of policy related to cybercrime and cyberwarfare. Management of cyber incidents and conflicts requires an interdisciplinary perspective including an understanding of: 1) characteristics of the cyber threats and conflicts themselves, 2) international efforts to reduce and improve cyber security, and 3) psychological and sociopolitical factors. The course is designed to reach an international audience and will encourage discussion on relevant current events among participants to enrich the experience with various personal and cultural perspectives on cutting-edge issues. In addition, assignments and other assessments will supplement video lectures and selected readings to ensure application of the material. After taking this course you will be able to: • Identify different types of actors involved in cyber threats (individuals, organizations & nation-states) • Distinguish between different types of threats and issues in cyber security including, data theft, political espionage, critical infrastructure protection, and propaganda • Detail the basic characteristics of the Internet infrastructure and international efforts to address Internet governance • List several international efforts to address cyber crime and espionage • Evaluate how principals that govern international conflicts might be applied in context of cyber security • Apply different psychological theories of human motivation and cooperation and communication and political theories in analysis of different international issues related to cyber security including censorship, media operations and role of social technologies. Grading: Your grade is assessed based on discussion posts and quizzes. Individual taking this course for credit (i.e. students at the University at Albany y will be required to engage in additional activities communicated to them directly). Recommended Background: No background knowledge or skills are necessary, but an understanding and familiarity of cyber security, Internet infrastructure and international law would be advantageous for anyone who participates in the course. ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS Ersin Dincelli and Nic DePaula were the instructional designers for the course who assisted in the recording of the videos, reviewing material, creating slides, assessments and some of the content. Without their tremendous effort this would not have been possible. We also acknowledge the financial support for the recordings from the University at Albany as well as the support from Media and Marketing. Finally, thanks to Lisa Stephens who is the SUNY liaison to Coursera for being a strong supporter of the MOOC....

Meilleurs avis

OF

Mar 27, 2019

Excellent overview of existing state of play. Also very interesting coverage of psychology underpinning cyber behaviours. Thank you for this enlightening course!

BK

Jul 20, 2017

I wish there should be a more detailed and broadened bulletins of particular and concrete cases about cyber conflicts throughout the whole world.

Filtrer par :

76 - 100 sur 137 Examens pour International Cyber Conflicts

par Josh S

Mar 07, 2016

Great information on cyber conflicts and the psychology of cyber conflict and warfare.

par Hitesh T

Aug 17, 2016

Course in not only just about theory of cyber security .But also ,It also accommodates psychological view to cyber world . This makes it more interesting .The brief part of law related to cyber security buttress the content maturity .However, More information on privacy should be added .If done ,course is a 5 star Course .Moreover, every lecture gives information.So, efficiently crafted out of course .Overall,it's worth taking and worth time spending

par Eelko J

Jan 10, 2017

Nice blend of psychology, game theory, international relations and cyberwarfare, enriched with all kind of examples from the nuclear arms race.

par Mark A U

Feb 18, 2016

awesome course I learned a great

par viki k

May 01, 2017

nice course. however would have liked more specific examples of cyber conflicts along with how they were resolved to each country's satisfaction ( if there are any such examples to look at ). Thank you to you all for putting this course together.

par Pavlína P

Aug 21, 2017

International Cyber Conflict course provides a great insight into increasingly relevant topic. The course is very well structured to help even a beginner student to understand broad range of issues such as different cyber terms, cyberspace and government, conflict and cooperation, international law and the problems of attribution. I would certainly recommend this course to anyone interested in this field.

(To give the full 5 stars, I would appreciate a mention of the works of Thomas Rid, John Stone or Libicki.)

par Joao H

Mar 10, 2017

It gives you an interesting visions about hot subjects and provides with sources to go deeper. Maybe a course to short on each topic covered.

par David M

Jan 09, 2018

Solid course, easy to follow along, keep up and pass. 100 percent of the content is available online for free, but what a great opportunity to focus on what you want to learn and not searching for everything.

par Christian C S M

Mar 08, 2016

This course is very interesting and actualized.

My unique problem is about the certificate, I need information about the quantity of hours duration.

par Ahmad s M

Jun 18, 2016

This course was very informative and helped me understand about International Cyber Conflicts. Ahmad.

par Teo G

Jan 14, 2017

solid course

par Davide C

Oct 23, 2016

general view on the subject. some interesting ideas.

par Faith E B

Jan 08, 2018

The class was interesting, and the topics were presented in an understandable format. The lectures appropriately covered the information noted within the syllabus. The earlier lectures were more helpful from a technical perspective than the later lectures. The final lessons covered a lot of theory regarding international political considerations associated with cyber risks.

par monlia w

Jun 22, 2016

The course content was great but delivery was a little dry. Appears that the presenters were reading from a teleprompter - sort of awkward.

par Fred F

Oct 10, 2016

Good course ... good introduction to the topic.

par Mark C

Mar 05, 2018

Some of the later lectures, especially the one's on trust seemed to be thrown together and the instructors weren't as well versed or confident.

par Johnathan L

Feb 26, 2017

Pretty good course. While the assessments are pretty much just a repeat of the in-video questions, I feel I was still able to learn a fair amount.

par Carl J I

May 29, 2016

Course was ok. However, some of questions were not clear based on excerpt from support video. For example, quiz #1 question 7. Course was "general" overview of very important subject matter of Cyber Conflicts. Looking forward to a more specific and detailed course structure. PS: A course concerning Cyberwar in Space would be quite interesting.

par Fabio D

Sep 22, 2017

Interesting!

par Donald D

Mar 06, 2016

This was a very good course (4.5/5.0). One area that could be improved would be the discussion of industrial control systems (ICS). On lecture briefly mentions STUXNET and SCADA, but this was rather incomplete discussion. A very recent incident that could have been used was the attack on the Ukraine Power grid as a demo of a cyber attack against infrastructure. https://ics-cert.us-cert.gov/alerts/IR-ALERT-H-16-056-01?_mc=sm_dr_editor_kellyjacksonhiggins

I am perhaps biased toward this area, since this is my field of work.

par Brian

Nov 29, 2016

It takes time for me, as a non English spoken, to understand some professor's accent. Overall, I learned a lot from this course. This course helped me understand what causes of cyberattack are, the wa

par Courtney H

Jul 28, 2016

Parts are thin on detail. This is a good and broad overview but lacks in-depth information of use to cyber security specialists. Still, a good course to start with if you plan to move forward.

par Ethan D

Mar 21, 2016

Having no experience in cyber security, this course is helping me understand the basics of cyber security so that I may advance in Cyber forensics. I highly recommend it.

par Родионов А А

Dec 16, 2016

Interesting

par SimonIainSmith@gmail.com

Jul 01, 2017

Interesting and enlightening topic