Chevron Left
Retour à International Cyber Conflicts

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour International Cyber Conflicts par Université d'État de New York

4.5
étoiles
1,142 évaluations
261 avis

À propos du cours

By nature, cyber conflicts are an international issue that span across nation-state borders. By the end of the course, you will be able to apply the knowledge gained for analysis and management of international cyber incidents and conflicts including for activities such as development of policy related to cybercrime and cyberwarfare. Management of cyber incidents and conflicts requires an interdisciplinary perspective including an understanding of: 1) characteristics of the cyber threats and conflicts themselves, 2) international efforts to reduce and improve cyber security, and 3) psychological and sociopolitical factors. The course is designed to reach an international audience and will encourage discussion on relevant current events among participants to enrich the experience with various personal and cultural perspectives on cutting-edge issues. In addition, assignments and other assessments will supplement video lectures and selected readings to ensure application of the material. After taking this course you will be able to: • Identify different types of actors involved in cyber threats (individuals, organizations & nation-states) • Distinguish between different types of threats and issues in cyber security including, data theft, political espionage, critical infrastructure protection, and propaganda • Detail the basic characteristics of the Internet infrastructure and international efforts to address Internet governance • List several international efforts to address cyber crime and espionage • Evaluate how principals that govern international conflicts might be applied in context of cyber security • Apply different psychological theories of human motivation and cooperation and communication and political theories in analysis of different international issues related to cyber security including censorship, media operations and role of social technologies. Grading: Your grade is assessed based on discussion posts and quizzes. Individual taking this course for credit (i.e. students at the University at Albany y will be required to engage in additional activities communicated to them directly). Recommended Background: No background knowledge or skills are necessary, but an understanding and familiarity of cyber security, Internet infrastructure and international law would be advantageous for anyone who participates in the course. ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS Ersin Dincelli and Nic DePaula were the instructional designers for the course who assisted in the recording of the videos, reviewing material, creating slides, assessments and some of the content. Without their tremendous effort this would not have been possible. We also acknowledge the financial support for the recordings from the University at Albany as well as the support from Media and Marketing. Finally, thanks to Lisa Stephens who is the SUNY liaison to Coursera for being a strong supporter of the MOOC....

Meilleurs avis

LP
15 août 2020

Great course! Learned a lot about Cyber Warfare and how countries can build up trust and cooperation between themselves to tackle third party threats in the cyberspace.

PO
5 août 2020

I have learnt the causes of cyber conflicts and raising tensions among nations, the causes and how nations can come to mutual understanding or agreements. Thanks.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 254 Avis pour International Cyber Conflicts

par Rebecca L

2 déc. 2019

This is a super interesting course, and I highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in tech and its impact on foreign policy.

par madhu l

19 juil. 2020

This is a great course to understand where the areas of conflicts are in cyber space and also it is an extensive course comparing the traditional models of warfare and cyber arena , the learning and outcomes from the psychological point of view,also the examples of game theory concepts to draw strategies and sensitivity to the international cyber warfare arena and cooperation is interesting and convincing. Though there exists local sensitivity on data sharing and other rough edges,i felt the course touched the most rough edges and tools to build trust among the nations. I also wish there were few cyber tools introduced for monitoring and forensics like packet analysis etc. Overall good course.

par Athina A

13 sept. 2020

A well-structured course that provides learners with an overall understanding of cybersecurity on a behavioural, social and political basis. This is a great interdisciplinary course that students and specialists can overtake to expand their knowledge on this subject by avoiding the technical or IT jargon.

par Niwech H

18 sept. 2016

The lectures are very well-organized. The topics are also cover in this field. However, the lectures are very dry and boring. The main professor were reading the scripts on the monitor. From my perspective, with his knowledge in this field as being described on his personal web site, he should be able to talk comfortably by looking at the topic on the slide then discuss about it in detail. I would suggest to change the environment to be at the wide open space, like coffee shop, to make this course more attractive. I'm sorry, it is not what I expected.

par Matthew G

16 juin 2016

The same information was covered in multiple lessons. It was a very conceptual look at cyber conflicts that you could get if you paid attention to the news over the last five years.

par Bert v V

26 août 2017

The title of this course does not reflect its contents.

Modes of presentation were not very appealing (images, examples, visuals).

Lecturer needs to work on his presentation skills.

par Maja H

9 déc. 2016

Course material was interesting but very rudimentary, the courses biggest challenge was understanding its spoken English. I do not recommend this course.

par Syed M A

3 août 2020

worst course ever i've seen in my lfe

par Zee

30 déc. 2019

obvious contents

par R S S

8 mai 2020

worst teaching

par Brian F

17 sept. 2017

Good Course! This course by professors from SUNY Albany was a great introduction to cyber conflicts. Everything worked and the professors were easy to understand. The material was well thought out. The presentations were the right length; at most 15-18 minutes and included questions. Questions in the videos worked here because they reinforced the messages in the video. The suggested reading; Cybersecurity and Cyberwar by Singer and Friedman looked like a good book so I bought it. It was a very good read.

par Ricardo D C S

9 déc. 2018

Sinceramente pensaba que los cursos de Coursera no un soporte y estructura profesional, con esto no quiero decir que fuesen de mala calidad o algo por el estilo, sin embargo, es todo lo contrario, me sorprendio mucho la estructura, los materiales de estudio (son un poco viejitos, pero al día de hoy del momento de la escritura de este comentario), así como los videos de apoyo.

Gracias Coursera por el apoyo!

par Darlene d V

9 mars 2020

This was an excellent course. Good lectures, excellent readings. I am a retired Community College Instructor/Dean - retired and love learn new things. I truly enjoy keeping up with my professional topics (Computer Science) as learning new material. I shall be taking more Coursera classes. Thank you for professional material. Keep up the good work

par Ivan J

25 oct. 2017

Good course to have a structured foundation for understanding the Cyber Security domain in context of international, policy and actors perspective. It sets the differentiation of Cyber Crime versus War and Terrorism and the perpetrator but as well gave me important intellectual triggers to further understand interferences between between those.

par Regina K

23 juin 2017

The course showed me the huge variety of topics that are connected to cyber conflicts. Now I feel I have a better awareness of Cyber Threads as well of appropriate means in order to fight against Cyber Threads. Thank you for the very interesting insights in a (for me) completely new field of knowledge.

par Navdeep S

12 mars 2017

The course in very interesting. It is focused on Cyber threats, cyber crime, Actors of Cyber crime, Motivation, attributions, psychology, international situation, cyber attacks in history, confidence building measures.

I learnt a lot from the course and I highly recommend the course to others.

par Enrico P

20 mai 2017

A very interesting and comprehensive basic course on cyber warfare and cyber conflict and how they are will impact our lives in the future. The course provides a good view of cyber threats related to the political, economic, diplomatic realms of nowadays international relations.

par Michael A L

19 sept. 2017

Coursera's "International Cyber Conflicts" was an excellent introduction to the escalating tensions (and potential ways of reducing the tensions) related to cyber warfare. I especially appreciated the sections on "Confidence Building Measures," which was a totally new

par Isaac L P

23 juil. 2017

It has been an awesome experience going through this course. I have learned even more than I ever knew and have also developed so much interest in the issue of international cyber security. I hope to take more courses on the same subject matter in the nearest futre.

par Cecilia S L R

14 sept. 2020

I enrolled with no prior knowledge whatsoever except only on what I hear and read in the news. I completed with an understanding on Cyber Conflicts and how Nations are having a difficult time agreeing on Measures to protect themselves collectively. Thank you.

par Esra K

7 mai 2020

It was a very comprehensive course with knowledge on IT, international treaties and bodies, and even psychology. I really recommend this course! And do not forget to join the discussions, because they were really thought-provoking. Thanks for the course.

par Sanderson A

17 juil. 2017

There are many people (Nations) who still do not understand that the real world has gradually shifted into the virtual world. This course is a starting point where people (Nations) can start to easily implement CBMs for the betterment of tomorrow.

par Uzair S

28 janv. 2017

A Great Course to understand the Cyber Conflicts issue. Highly recommend to individuals learning Cyber security or planning to go in that direction. Thank you to the Course Team for making the material easy to understand and interactive lessons !!

par Alvin B

12 déc. 2019

I love it. My job allows me to take any class online because for 12 hours a day six days a week I can just take classes. Because I'm getting my degree in intelligence studies this course was a great start to get my certificates in cybersecurity.

par sankara b

15 janv. 2017

This course - analyses the Cyberworld - and what it is there for the people of the world. Very well compiled syllabus, course contents and assigment/quizzes. Thanks to the Professors of State University of NewYork as well as Coursera.