Chevron Left
Retour à Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
étoiles
1,187 évaluations
373 avis

À propos du cours

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

Meilleurs avis

EG
1 juil. 2020

Great course, it taught me things that I would have never learned otherwise, in this course you must take your time, don't rush, because if you do you will miss the most important points of the curse.

AM
19 janv. 2021

This was such a wonderful course. I got to learn a lot about strange lands, imaginative description etc. Generally how to set my world and describe it in a convincing manner. I totally recommend it.

Filtrer par :

126 - 150 sur 366 Avis pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

par Alisa P

12 juil. 2018

A great course full of practical tools! I've truly enjoyed the class content, writing the assignments and wonderful Amity Gaige. Everyone should take this course! Thank you, Amity!

par Matthias N Y

27 mars 2018

I liked the course. It great, and the instructor have awaken my gift of writing especially she asked me to write about my primal landscape. I need her email to talk to her Please.

par Aecio d B V N

6 août 2017

I liked the course very much. It was very useful to give some insights on the importance of description not only to "paint the picture", but to help tell the story. I like it!

par Eliana H

19 déc. 2019

It was an amazing experience like the rest of the courses in this program. I´ve learn to be more patient, do research and introspection. I think my work is really better now.

par Andreea S

21 déc. 2017

Amazing course and instructor! Thank you so much for all your wisdom, the challenging exercises and for an all-round great experience. Looking forward to the Capstone course!

par judy t

5 juil. 2019

I have learned so much and made great progress. This might be just the beginning for me in an endeavor I have always wanted to explore. Coursera got me started. Thank you

par Evita K

15 août 2018

I absolutely loved this course and it taught me how to better describe a setting and where I've gone too much in detail and where I could explore and focus more :) Thanks!

par Jillian K

5 déc. 2017

This course was an excellent blend of basics and simple intense assignments to practice the concepts learned. I enjoyed every course in the Creative Writing Specialization

par Carreen P

23 nov. 2017

Ms. Gaige is very efficient and effective. Her course showed me how to improve my observation of our environment and use it to draw the reader into the story. Very useful.

par Chew W Y

22 juil. 2016

Great course and exciting writing assignments! The peer reviews were mostly constructive and the instructor was clear and brought her learnings across. Highly recommended!

par Sebastien M

19 oct. 2017

Looking at my writing in a more in depth way, this course challenged me to complete 4 more pieces for my portfolio which is not just growing, but improving all the time.

par 申畅月

5 oct. 2020

I had great experience here and the tutor is really nice! Most comments I received here are objective and helpful, I built a little confidence now. Thank you very much.

par VAIBHAV Y

20 juil. 2017

I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot. I also liked the fact that Amity gave selected readings to read which she thought might be important and helpful for us.

par Jeanne B

5 nov. 2018

Deeply insightful and helpful. I am a beginner at writing fiction and the course both gave me techniques I was able to apply and then realise I can actually do this!

par Holly M

9 juil. 2018

Amity Gaige is a really good instructor. I've taken three courses for this specialization so far and she's one of the best instructors. I really enjoyed this course.

par Tina M

31 juil. 2017

I think this was my favorite module because it's an area I suffered from. My books are heavy on dialogue and suck in setting. This will change with my next project.

par Zsuzsanna J

10 mai 2016

I have learnt so much about description and about power of meditation. I recommend this course for everybody who would like to show his or her world to the Readers.

par Christina C

11 janv. 2021

Very helpful and interesting course taught by an extremely knowledgable professor!! The course expanded my horizons and enhanced my writing abilities!! Thank you!!

par Aurelija M

27 sept. 2016

Amity Gaige quickly became one of my favourite tutors. I enjoyed all the meditation parts so much that it made me rethink how research should be done. Thank you!

par Pam N

18 sept. 2017

The instructor is personable, imaginative, and engaging. I loved the individual lessons in this course. I would highly recommend it to anyone learning to write.

par Nevil M

20 sept. 2018

Thanks Amity,

For making me realize to use and bring all of my five senses even the sixth one alive in the writing... hopefully it will all come alive

Rgds,

Nev.

par Federico B S

30 mai 2018

This is a great course. You can tell the instructor loves writing and also has a great sense of what setting and description require. I highly recommend it.

par Anusha N

10 août 2019

The best instructor in this course. Teaches with clarity, passion and compassion and sets some of the most complicated, interesting briefs for assignments.

par Taneka A

13 sept. 2020

I really liked this course. It helped me develop my stories and if your a beginner at writing It breaks down what you have to do to become a great writer.

par Alessandro S

31 déc. 2016

I really liked this course because it contained a lot of reading material and made me practice on various aspects of setting writing. My favourite so far.