Chevron Left
Retour à Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description par Université Wesleyenne

4.7
étoiles
1,112 évaluations
337 avis

À propos du cours

In this course aspiring writers will be introduced to the techniques that masters of fiction use to ground a story in a concrete world. From the most realist settings to the most fantastical, writers will learn how to describe the physical world in sharp, sensory detail. We will also learn how to build credibility through research, and to use creative meditation exercises to deepen our own understanding of our story worlds, so that our readers can see all that we imagine....

Meilleurs avis

EG
1 juil. 2020

Great course, it taught me things that I would have never learned otherwise, in this course you must take your time, don't rush, because if you do you will miss the most important points of the curse.

DP
17 juil. 2018

This course gave a real depth to the importance of describing your character's environment, as a way of deepening and exciting them. excellent work on imagining your characters in the environment

Filtrer par :

301 - 325 sur 331 Avis pour Creative Writing: The Craft of Setting and Description

par Maya K

12 oct. 2016

The creative writing series of classes have been extremely enjoyable. The classes are very well organized, the pace of the work was perfect for me. Wish there were another series of classes I could take.

par Shalini N

11 juil. 2018

A good course a lot of learning. Except for the last week when there was nothing in depth. Also the last two assignments overlap??? The first three weeks were otherwise really great.

par Roy N

25 janv. 2018

This was a very solid course. It introduced me to perspectives I hadn't heard before. I think my writing has improved because of the course. I am a lot better at setting my scenes.

par arya k s

2 avr. 2018

This course makes you see your surroundings, it takes you back to your childhood and urges you to gather information from everywhere and tell it in a compelling manner.

par Karen R

3 mars 2018

At times the assignment title or the assignment itself didn't seem to fit the lesson for the week but the lessons were intriguing and got me thinking and writing!

par Sandra D

17 févr. 2019

Good course overall. Assignments are challenging. I think more study material could be added in the course to make it more interesting.

par ANGEL Y S V

27 août 2020

Me ayudó mucho a mejorar mis descripciones. Siempre he tenido problemas con eso, así que estoy muy contento con el resultado.

par Dawn S

2 juin 2016

This is great course for challenging your perceptions of things and encouraging you to try out different perspectives.

par Sharon

2 avr. 2016

I enjoyed learning about how to create a vitamin rich unit of fiction and the importance of specific words.

par Abrar A A

23 mars 2018

love the professor n her approach to writing... some of the best n practical exercises I did in writing

par Ian B

4 juil. 2017

Great course for getting into the nitty gritty of how your story should feel. Enjoyed it thoroughly.

par Lubaba A

16 mars 2017

it's amazing course that gave you a new point of view for writing and a very good training

par Bridgit

14 nov. 2018

The Course is very good. I would like more assignments and tutor's grades

par Rima A

24 mars 2018

this course is really great. it helps you to think out of the box

par Sumit S

24 janv. 2019

Helped marginally, visible change in my writing. I'm very happy.

par Thangella S

8 nov. 2020

The course was good and Amity Ma'am is a good teacher

par Paulo S

8 janv. 2018

It helped me a lot. Has good lesson content

par Eternally P

27 avr. 2020

Awesome course, awesome professors

par Perni

1 nov. 2016

Great knowledge. Time consuming.

par Lisa D

30 avr. 2018

This class was fun and helpful.

par Ritupriya G

20 avr. 2016

Very good course, thanks!

par Diana G

23 nov. 2020

very useful and fun

par Gunn Y

17 juin 2020

One word: Plagiarism. This course was rather inspiring and taught me numerous amounts of skills for my future career. But, the problem was the peer-graded assignments. There were some people who did this course for the certificate and used a skill not taught in this course called: plagiarism. For example, BEHARA SAI SWESHIKA copied off my own assignment, and also plagiarised the instructor's "INSTRUCTIONS'. It was disgusting reading a plagiarised writing piece. Even more, grading my own writing piece that was said that it was written by BEHARA SAI SWESHIKA.

par Shay S

4 nov. 2020

Honestly I know many of us are frustrated with the poor reviews. Week to week I get at least one good reviewer that actually understands the assignment and provide great feedback, so I’m happy for that.

You have to just focus on working on your craft and not be so consumed with the feedback because due to coursera not managing the feedback it will always be lacking in that area.

Coursera should group writers week to week so that we can communicate back and forth. That would help with the managing of poor reviews.

par Amanda Y H

12 févr. 2018

This course was interesting, but I did not find it particularly helpful or insightful. I felt that everything taught about setting and description was very elementary (I say this as a K-3 teacher who has regularly taught the concepts of setting and description) and not that useful for someone looking to take their writing to a more professional level.