Chevron Left
Retour à Analyzing Big Data with SQL

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Analyzing Big Data with SQL par Cloudera

4.9
étoiles
279 évaluations
66 avis

À propos du cours

In this course, you'll get an in-depth look at the SQL SELECT statement and its main clauses. The course focuses on big data SQL engines Apache Hive and Apache Impala, but most of the information is applicable to SQL with traditional RDBMs as well; the instructor explicitly addresses differences for MySQL and PostgreSQL. By the end of the course, you will be able to • explore and navigate databases and tables using different tools; • understand the basics of SELECT statements; • understand how and why to filter results; • explore grouping and aggregation to answer analytic questions; • work with sorting and limiting results; and • combine multiple tables in different ways. To use the hands-on environment for this course, you need to download and install a virtual machine and the software on which to run it. Before continuing, be sure that you have access to a computer that meets the following hardware and software requirements: • Windows, macOS, or Linux operating system (iPads and Android tablets will not work) • 64-bit operating system (32-bit operating systems will not work) • 8 GB RAM or more • 25GB free disk space or more • Intel VT-x or AMD-V virtualization support enabled (on Mac computers with Intel processors, this is always enabled; on Windows and Linux computers, you might need to enable it in the BIOS) • For Windows XP computers only: You must have an unzip utility such as 7-Zip or WinZip installed (Windows XP’s built-in unzip utility will not work)...

Meilleurs avis

MN

Aug 06, 2020

How amazing the course was! From the video lectures, the reading materials, to the practical exercises and the teachers as well, everything was fantastic in this course. Highly recommended!

JC

Apr 16, 2020

Excellent course even if you have an sql knowledge with a bachelor. Especially the part where it explains the handling of NULLs which is not obvious and I didn't know about.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 67 Avis pour Analyzing Big Data with SQL

par Hossein D

Jun 13, 2020

It is no common for me to put 5 star score to courses, but this courser was literally comprehensive.

Thanks to all staff and instructor.

par Warren P

Feb 20, 2020

In depth look at SQL for Impala and Hive. Structured very well and excellent hands on learning with the VM and Hue. The middle section is tedious and you have to pay attention. It does all comes together at the end with real data analysis methods on big data sets. Good course but you have to be committed as a learner to receive the benefits.

par Navish A

Aug 14, 2020

This is a great course overall!

Having taken a couple of SQL courses over the years, they are often quite dry. Somehow, this one was much better. I liked the conceptual aspects covered with the syntax & applications. Rounded the education out quite well.

The only thing I would have liked to see more of is more practical assignments, like the one in Week 6. Even that was measured down in difficulty; perhaps the assignment can be made as part of the Honors section.

Also, definitely one of the better monitored forums in Coursera. With regular/periodic/helpful replies from Staff.

In contrast, I have generally found most Coursera courses to be quite poorly monitored comparatively. Its one of my bigger griefs with Coursera, compared to Edx - which generally has a vibrant discussion forum, thanks to the class members & staff/TAs

par Saikumar Y

Mar 04, 2020

Thank you for bringing such a Awesome and High quality course - Cloudera . Course instructors are exceptional in presenting the course material in a clear, concise manner. I find this course to be outstanding because the Amount of practice that i've gone through with this course gave me clear insight On "when, where and how to use appropriate SQL clauses". but this course should have included more practice questions on joins.

par Ekaterina S

Apr 05, 2020

It is an excellent course! Many thanks to the instructor of this course. All learning materials were presented explicitly and 100% clear. I feel so grateful because I finally understood how to write SQL queries and manipulate data (as I have never learned programming languages and subjects like these). Looking forward to the fourth course where the advanced sql techniques will be presented.

par Chandu S

Jul 30, 2020

Excellent course! This course, together with the first in this series is arguably the best courses to start with big data and SQL. Everything is explained from scratch and in a well-organised way so that it's effortless to follow and gain knowledge in a short period. The quizzes are well-drafted and logical, and the course does prepare you for that, unlike in many other courses!

par Tarun K

Apr 05, 2020

The course of well designed for any beginner to learn how to operate on SQL dor finding out the insights from the data.

I would like to thank, the entire team of the Coursera and Cloudera for bringing this course in my life. It really helps me understand the concepts of database and SQL very well.

Special thanks to the instructor, Ian Cook.

par Gaurav M

Jul 01, 2020

Excellent ! Little bit exhaustive but worth it ! Total SQL refreshment course !

Clearly understood JOIN & its types ! Will never forget the Venn-Diagrams !

And the final assignment is a very good food-for-mind !

There was a mention of the 4th course in this specialization but not available; so is it not introduced yet ?

par Andrey M

Sep 21, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. It’s a great way to get knowledge about the new technology. Attending this will help me to do my job better. Excellent information and format, the course focuses on big data SQL engines Apache Hive and Apache Impala. I especially evaluate experience of the trainer – Ian Cook.

par Christian D

Sep 26, 2020

This was a fantastic course. This was my first time learning about the SQL language and analyzing big data, and the format of the course helped to ease my concerns about learning these concepts. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in big data analysis, expert or beginner.

par Paul Z

Aug 28, 2020

Great content, which Ian presents in a hands on and engaging manner. I had absolutely no prior SQL experience before enrolling in this specialization, but after completing Course 1 with Glynn, I was able to pass Course 2. Thank you to Glynn, Ian, Cloudera, and COursera!

par Kaushik N

Oct 08, 2020

'Select' Query is simple yet very powerful, and the way it is demonstrated through this course is wonderful.

The instructor explained it very thoroughly, using simple language.

I can say, I can now use SQL to query big data at given time of the day.

par Wei P

Sep 30, 2020

Comprehensive, rigorous, and well-paced in learning the fundamentals of querying and analyzing big data with SQL. Covers many SELECT statements and clauses. Probably the most important course in the three-course series in terms of querying data.

par Emre K

Aug 11, 2019

It is a very nice and detailed course and it is completely appropriate for a new starter. The beauty about the course is that it teaches not only the syntax, but also all necessary hints and consideration points. All in all, time well-spent..

par Yoonseo P

Nov 30, 2019

This course was very practical supported by several VM exercises in IMPALA and HIVE environments. The instructor accurately delivered the key points in SQL. I can broaden my understanding of SQL in general, IMPALA and HIVE in specific.

par Shrinidhi A V

Jun 27, 2020

Brilliant course. I was tested at certain places which made me think about how to answer something for a day or two. A satisfying course to complete and I would like to take more such courses in future that tests my limits.

par Vishal P

Jun 19, 2020

You might be a SQL guru or you are a beginner. This course gives a fresh perspective. If you "were" a SQL pro and need a refresher, go ahead finish this course. If you need an introduction to SQL, go ahead. Kudos to Ian!

par Ahmed E

Nov 25, 2019

This is a fantastic course and exciting lessons and perfect lecturer

I learnt a lot in this course and I encourage anyone seeking to learn about impala and hive and sql in big data analysis to take this course

par Essie R

Oct 20, 2019

Another informative course. I feel i learned a lot. I especially like the opportunity to do the honors sections to be more prepared for a Cloudera Certification if I decide to take the test. thank you!

par Minh N

Aug 06, 2020

How amazing the course was! From the video lectures, the reading materials, to the practical exercises and the teachers as well, everything was fantastic in this course. Highly recommended!

par Jonathan L K C

Apr 16, 2020

Excellent course even if you have an sql knowledge with a bachelor. Especially the part where it explains the handling of NULLs which is not obvious and I didn't know about.

par Cheikh B

Mar 19, 2020

the best SQL course in the World you did a good job thanks for giving us all we need to perform on sql.

Thank you Cloudera and best regards to Ian Cook

par Ana

Aug 02, 2020

One of the best SQL courses. It starts from basic to more complicated issues. There are plenty of examples. I highly recommend the course.

par fozan t

Jul 10, 2020

I have took many SQL courses but this is one of the best ,I highly recommend this course to beginners, It takes you from zero to hero.

par Reuben J

Oct 26, 2019

Good course to understand the need of SQL in data analysis/big data using good examples and real life data and problem sets.