Chevron Left
Retour à Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure

Avis et commentaires pour l'étudiant pour Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure par Université de l'Illinois à Urbana-Champaign

4.1
428 notes
102 avis

À propos du cours

Welcome to the Cloud Computing Applications course, the first part of a two-course series designed to give you a comprehensive view on the world of Cloud Computing and Big Data! In this first course we cover a multitude of technologies that comprise the modern concept of cloud computing. Cloud computing is an information technology revolution that has just started to impact many enterprise computing systems in major ways, and it will change the face of computing in the years to come. We start the first week by introducing some major concepts in cloud computing, the economics foundations of it and we introduce the concept of big data. We also cover the concept of software defined architectures, and how virtualization results in cloud infrastructure and how cloud service providers organize their offerings. In week two, we cover virtualization and containers with deeper focus, including lectures on Docker, JVM and Kubernates. We finish up week two by comparing the infrastructure as a service offering by the big three: Amazon, Google and Microsoft. Week three moves to higher level of cloud offering, including platform as a service, mobile backend as a service and even serverless architectures. We also talk about some of the cloud middleware technologies that are fundamental to cloud based applications such as RPC and REST, JSON and load balancing. Week three also covers metal as a service (MaaS), where physical machines are provisioned in a cloud environment. Week four introduces higher level cloud services with special focus on cloud storage services. We introduce Hive, HDFS and Ceph as pure Big Data Storage and file systems, and move on to cloud object storage systems, virtual hard drives and virtual archival storage options. As discussion on Dropbox cloud solution wraps up week 4 and the course....

Meilleurs avis

SP

Feb 18, 2017

Well structured course. Gives a good overview of the basics of cloud computing. couple of typos in the transcripts. will flag errors in future courses

UN

Apr 10, 2018

Understanding of this course will help you to know more about Cloud Computing and the technologies that drive Big Data

Filtrer par :

76 - 98 sur 98 Examens pour Cloud Computing Applications, Part 1: Cloud Systems and Infrastructure

par Michael M

Jun 07, 2018

There are very small quizzes in the course, few examples, and unavailable background for old technologies. I have completed this course only for specialization.

par Katsiaryna S

Oct 31, 2016

This course is ok, but it gives only high level overview of cloud technologies. I will do the second part, but I will do a free version. I don't think that it's worse this money.

par Rakesh C

Jan 06, 2018

Good subject. The pace of the course is a little slow.

par Alex T

Jan 14, 2017

Not enough depth.

par Niels R

Jul 07, 2018

This course provides a lot of poorly structured information in quick succession. You're bombarded with acronyms and technical designations without recaps of what they stood for. At the end of each weekly session there is a very short quiz with questions that are weakly related to the course content and have subjective answers like "which application is best for purpose X". You can complete the quizes easily by retrying and won't typically come away from them feeling like you understood all of the material, let alone were able to prove that you did. It's kind of a worst of both world situation where the provided material is challenging, but the examination is not and you end up with a certificate that really doesn't stand for anything.

par gaurav

Jul 11, 2019

Should include some progrmming assignment. Also, some practice on the real cloud.

par AJ C

Jul 14, 2019

Relevant topics, bad lectures. Lots of Jargon, not enough context. Went straight into "how" technologies work without properly explaining why technologies were needed.

par pengwei

Jan 27, 2017

sleepy lecture

par Yaron K

Aug 27, 2017

A list of Cloud technologies and Services, but without use-cases *clearly* highlighting the differences between them, their relative strengths and limitations and explaining what should be used when [except for the various Amazon storage offerings]. Gave it two stars and not one because the lecturers are enthusiastic about the subject matter and they did try to give use-cases.

par Anton T

May 06, 2018

Too vague. Hard to understand applicability and required environment for presented technologies.

par Kevin R

Sep 02, 2016

This course is neither high level nor low level. After having taking Cloud Computing Concepts Part I and 2 (which were excellent), I expected a continuation of the very deep level of technical material. This course doesn't do this. Instead it is sort of much higher level except that the instructor fails to stay at the high level and will suddenly go deep - but without providing the detail so that someone to whom this is new will be totally lost. Given that I was expecting the technical depth of CCC parts 1 and 2, I already had much of the knowledge that was presented and could figure out what the instructor was trying to present, but I felt bad for someone who wasn't already familiar with the material. It is my opinion that the course needs to be taken offline and redone.

Note: Apparently I took a prior version of CCC parts 1 and 2 so my comments on those two courses may or may not apply anymore.

par Olivier D

Nov 22, 2016

Interresting, but too easy to understand. Not much details. Very easy course, but you won't learn a lot.

par Gideon P

Jan 26, 2018

The teachers were just reading off of slides, quizzes were passable without ever watching the content, course followed no structure.

par Chuxing C

Sep 09, 2016

Coming out from two very good predecessors (C3, parts 1&2), this course is somewhat a disappointment. The contents are too broad without real focused depth, and too much time spent on background info in almost all lectures. There ought to be more hands-on practices, and the assessments should be more challenging towards understanding, rather than matching terms.

par Amar P R

Oct 13, 2016

It tries to cover a lot of ground. Lack of some practical tasks.

par Patrick W

May 29, 2017

very basic

par Zhaoyang L

Jun 09, 2019

Like Wikipedia on some popular cloud products.

par Suresh V

Jun 16, 2019

I am disappointed with this course. The course content was designed and developed in a hurry as it seems to me.

par Michał M

Apr 02, 2017

As a developer I consider this a very poor course. It can be good for manager and business people to better understand what technologies are available these days, but that it. You can easily look at the syllabus, go to the wikipedia and read the pages on presented subject and you will get the same knowledge. There were no programming assignments, quizes and exams were not challenging at all and some questions were really confusing. I won't recommend it to anyone and it shouldn't be part of this specialization.

par Pablo P

Sep 26, 2016

It was really focused on high level concepts of different technologies, the level was really basic. No details have been served.

par Hardeep S

Apr 29, 2018

I was expecting some hand-on programming or chance to work on the virtualisation techniques, it's only theories in this course which is of little use in outside world, companies need hands-on experience

par andrew

Dec 28, 2016

the video is too long

par Austin Z

Apr 25, 2019

Not what I expected after the last two courses in the cloud specialization. A lot of the information has already been covered in the last two courses from a more detailed theoretical level. This is more of a non-technical level overview of some popular and some random cloud tools covered at a level that is not technical enough to gain anything from but in too much tedious detail to be consumable for the parts that are interesting. This course could be condensed into a few page tradeoff table of the services and applications covered.