Chevron Left
Retour à Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Introduction to the Biology of Cancer par Université Johns-Hopkins

4.8
étoiles
5,202 évaluations
1,058 avis

À propos du cours

Over 500,000 people in the United States and over 8 million people worldwide are dying every year from cancer. As people live longer, the incidence of cancer is rising worldwide and the disease is expected to strike over 20 million people annually by 2030. This open course is designed for people who would like to develop an understanding of cancer and how it is prevented, diagnosed, and treated. The course introduces the molecular biology of cancer (oncogenes and tumor suppressor genes) as well as the biologic hallmarks of cancer. The course also describes the risk factors for the major cancers worldwide, including lung cancer, breast cancer, colon cancer, prostate cancer, liver cancer, and stomach cancer. We explain how cancer is staged, the major ways cancer is found by imaging, and how the major cancers are treated. In addition to the core materials, this course includes two Honors lessons devoted to cancers of the liver and prostate. Upon successful completion of this course, you will be able to: - Identify the major types of cancer worldwide. (Lecture 1) - Describe how genes contribute to the risk and growth of cancer. (Lecture 2) - List and describe the ten cellular hallmarks of cancer. (Lecture 3) - Define metastasis, and identify the major steps in the metastatic process. (Lecture 4) - Describe the role of imaging in the screening, diagnosis, staging, and treatments of cancer. (Lecture 5) - Explain how cancer is treated. (Lecture 6) We hope that this course gives you a basic understanding of cancer biology and treatment. The course is not designed for patients seeking treatment guidance – but it can help you understand how cancer develops and provides a framework for understanding cancer diagnosis and treatment....

Meilleurs avis

AH
17 mars 2017

I am an Undergraduate student and i didnt even read oncology subject, but this course not just start the beginer level , butt gradually it goes in depth and the flow of lectuures and topics is smooth

AK
31 juil. 2020

Excellent course for anyone interested in knowing more about the origin, diagnosis and treatment of cancer, even for beginners. Thanks to JHU for putting such an excellent course material together!

Filtrer par :

1001 - 1025 sur 1,036 Avis pour Introduction to the Biology of Cancer

par Haowen T

23 août 2017

very good

par K U S

20 nov. 2020

Good

par Alagammai s

8 août 2020

Good

par Ivan T

13 juil. 2017

The content is uneven. Lecturers are generally good, but they speak to the limited collection of static slides and often just read slide contents. Given that slide graphics is repetetive (there are probably 10 images overall that are reused over and over), a lot is left to the imagination. Overall amount of content is quite low for 6 week course. E.g. one of the weeks only has 15minutes of video and a 10-question quiz.

Quizzes and in-video questions seem like they were prepared by different people altogether. There are spelling mistakes, there are terms used during quizzes which have not been used during the videos, some of the questions are just poorly worded or bad from grammar point of view. Generally they are useful nevertheless.

If you don't set your expectations too high (this is no Andrew Ng's course by no means) and come with the desire to learn basics about biology of cancer, you will learn just that and upon completion will certainly know more than any non-medical person around you.

par Patrina L

10 juin 2016

I found this course useful and appropriate in the material offered and the assessed questions as an introduction and an update in cancer biology for CPD purposes. It is rather disappointing that the final grade achieved is not printed on the certificate. For A$65 to join the course and not have the full information such as the hours involved and the final grade achieved makes it very disappointing not to reflect the effort I put in as well as tricky to include this course as part of a CPD program.

par Gerald V

22 mai 2016

I wish that the classifications of the major cancer groups were more descriptive. concerning the treatment for different types of lung cancer for example. Nothing is mentioned about childhood cancers or the area of lymphomas. I realize that this is an overview of cancer but cancer cell biology and current treatment practices based on immunologic findings were not given the coverage they deserve.

par MONICA S

3 sept. 2020

The course has seemed very interesting. It is well structured in my opinion and I want to thank the laboratory collaborators for their dedication and commitment, but ... it is a shame that the questions I asked in the forum are lost in limbo (no one ever answered my requests): If you have No one will solve any doubt for you. Anyway, thanks for the opportunity.

par John M

18 août 2020

Very inconsistent level of commitment. Some sections were very simple, then the fifth section was just a long list of drugs for different cancer types, without any explanation as to why they work for these different types. Not a rich learning experience.

par Daniel N

2 sept. 2016

Very good introduction. light-weight explanations.

Better animations and videos could enhanced the learning process.

questions are too easy.

Needs more complex tasks to integrates the different sections together.

par Lukas P

16 avr. 2016

I think that the course itself is very interesting and useful, but unfortunately you have to purchase the course straight away to be able to do the tests.

par Liliana C P M

28 sept. 2017

Superficial information/knowledge and boring presentation.

I think we should be able to do the graduate tests and purchase the course in the end of it.

par FATHIMATHUL F V

26 mai 2020

Superb💯 first time idont know about cancer &its process but now it is really easy able....thanks for ur commitment tnks all professors 🥰😍

par Shakira

16 mai 2017

Very interesting content, some of the lectures good have made more effort in bringing across the content in a more exciting manner.

par Rayan A

26 sept. 2020

The course provides a good introduction to cancer and how it can be treated, very informative and easy to keep up with

par Randy C

19 mai 2016

Tough call on this. The course itself is excellent [5] but the "money grab, you must pay attitude" is horrible [0].

par Alicia C

25 août 2020

Hello, my finish the course and I do the honors extra questions but I didnt get my certifícate with honors

par Aarjvi J

28 nov. 2020

Well explained and a good one if you are just starting with MOOCs

par Charandeep J

18 nov. 2018

Videos could be better, too short and narrated robotically

par Abhi B

18 juil. 2020

There is a problem with receiving the honors certificate.

par Keith L

11 nov. 2019

Nice introduction. Statistics could do with an update.

par Deleted A

23 juin 2016

I would prefer to see the speaker during the lecture.

par Ivan S

21 févr. 2019

Too simple for that price. For very beginners.

par Lev R S

23 mai 2017

excellent course for beginners and biologists.

par Esraa M A M n

6 sept. 2020

it was a good experiment and I learn a lot

par Shivani M

3 juil. 2018

The lectures can be more interactive