Chevron Left
Retour à Astro 101: Black Holes

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour Astro 101: Black Holes par Université de l'Alberta

4.8
étoiles
313 évaluations
99 avis

À propos du cours

What is a black hole? Do they really exist? How do they form? How are they related to stars? What would happen if you fell into one? How do you see a black hole if they emit no light? What’s the difference between a black hole and a really dark star? Could a particle accelerator create a black hole? Can a black hole also be a worm hole or a time machine? In Astro 101: Black Holes, you will explore the concepts behind black holes. Using the theme of black holes, you will learn the basic ideas of astronomy, relativity, and quantum physics. After completing this course, you will be able to: • Describe the essential properties of black holes. • Explain recent black hole research using plain language and appropriate analogies. • Compare black holes in popular culture to modern physics to distinguish science fact from science fiction. • Describe the application of fundamental physical concepts including gravity, special and general relativity, and quantum mechanics to reported scientific observations. • Recognize different types of stars and distinguish which stars can potentially become black holes. • Differentiate types of black holes and classify each type as observed or theoretical. • Characterize formation theories associated with each type of black hole. • Identify different ways of detecting black holes, and appropriate technologies associated with each detection method. • Summarize the puzzles facing black hole researchers in modern science....

Meilleurs avis

PD

Feb 16, 2019

Great course, I thoroughly enjoyed it and learned a lot. The graphics and illustrations were fun and informative, and I also enjoyed the food scenes - helped stick it in my memory. Thanks much!

AK

May 28, 2020

Simply,This course is the best I found in Coursera. It has all Information. I would like that it include some more Mathematics of black Hole. Black hole thermodynamics is great topic.

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 102 Avis pour Astro 101: Black Holes

par Remus-Andrei P

Dec 10, 2018

Suitable for people aged 18 to 24 who want to learn about black holes (at an introductory level).

Suitable for first year University students who took courses in Mathematics, Physics or Astronomy.

Suitable for amateur astronomers who want to gain knowledge about black holes and the life cycles of stars.

The lectures are enthusiastic and the course format is easy to follow.

par Antonia T B

Oct 10, 2018

One of the best courses on Coursera about Astronomy. Super exciting! Great lectures, amazing science about the mysterious and fascinating black holes and not too impossible quizzes (unlike other Astronomy courses here in Coursera that have impossible quizzes). A fascinating journey into the most fearful spots of the Universe. Thanks a lot. Many greetings from Spain / Antonia

par Charles R B

Nov 12, 2018

Almost perfect. 1 lecturer absolutely natural delivery, main lecturer ok, 2 lecturers need more rehearsal, but not everyone is smooth in front of a camera. Course could stand to have a little better constructed quiz questions, add more than just multiple guess, and could stand to have an exam at the end. Course has the right amount of maths, as "Physics" is not in it's title. Concepts are well presented and illustrated. Nicely done! P.S. JJDrek is NOT Star Trek.

par Shea M

Nov 11, 2019

Great course and pitched at a good intermediate level. I did this course in combination with the "Astronomy: Exploring Space and Time" course and they complimented each other very well. The animations kept it interesting and I feel like I have a good grasp on this subject now. The tutors were enjoyable to watch and people were helpful in the forums.

An improvement this course could make is the addition of writing assignments to help cement the knowledge learned. Thank you!

par Tayren N B

Aug 07, 2019

I enjoyed the course. It covered all the areas necessary to understand black holes and the physics behind these mysterious phenomena. It was enjoyable and entertaining as well.

par Muhammad E G

Apr 28, 2019

its the Best ever Course and i learned a lot things about which i have not heard before i will strongly recommend this to people who want to know about black holes.

par sakthi a

May 20, 2020

Very clear explanation both visually and orally. Best course to explore BLACK HOLES.

par Ibrahim M H

Feb 12, 2020

very nicely explained and very informative.

i am currently 14 and compleated this course .

just some times it goes over my head.

par AMARESH K

Oct 27, 2018

At the outset I sincerely thank Dr Sharon Morsink, Dr Jeanette Gladstone, Curtis Brown, Dr Ross Lockwood and Mr Stephen Lane for their excellent lectures and videos. All of you have guided me wonderfully to understand and pass the course on Black Holes. I am a retired Senior Manager in a Bank and am presently staying in the city of Visakhapatnam, India. Though my line of job is different, I have been very curious and highly interested to learn about the space, stars and Astronomy which is a very vast subject.

All your lectures are highly useful. I am planning to go through all the 10 modules of the course again and again to be thorough and not to have any doubt. I wonder if I can have access to the material even after receiving the Certificate. Due to some technical problem in my Laptap, I could not download any of your video lessons but I could only copy the printed lessons. Hence I am requesting to have access to any of your video lessons of this course.

I will be thankful if you can inform whether the Certificate will be sent by Airmail or to my email and if so how much time it may take.

I thank all my teachers and experts once again.

With regards,

AMARESH K

par Juan V

Feb 10, 2019

Un excelente curso. Un curso muy actualizado con recientes descubrimientos, pero que explica muy bien los principios físicos involucrados con la formación y desarrollo de los agujeros negros. Una excelente combinación de exposiciones de 4 excelentes profesores que exponen muy bien los principios. Un curso que trasmite lo que conocemos pero también lo que desconocemos de los agujeros negros, explica muy bien como los científicos desarrollan teorías y las pruebas por medio de la observación rigurosa. Felicitaciones.

par John K H

Nov 13, 2018

Learned a lot about black holes which weren't even mentioned in my astronomy books when I first started being interested in astronomy when I was a boy as my dad (a former RAF navigator taught me to find my way round the sky) Interestingly enough the clip of the train demonstrating the Doppler effect was shot at Brandon - one of his "targets" during his training a Rivers Manitoba in 1942!

A great course which really stimulated the old grey cells and as far as I can say to be highly recommended!

John H

par Anastasiia G

Dec 15, 2019

This course is exceptional and was so much more than I expected.

The depth to which we go on the subject, the wealth of material, the presentation, the fun, the extremely likable and amazing teachers - all make this course an incredible experience.

In all fairness, the course is too low-priced for its value, as so much thought, effort and time went into creating it.

University of Alberta really does create absolute best courses. Highly recommend this and other courses by UofA.

par Niyathi Y

Mar 03, 2019

I am 14 years old. This course is the bestttt!! I love how the teachers discuss the fundamentals and the basic concepts of the course before they dive into the topic. Right now I am totally loving this course. I recommend this course to anyone who is interested in astronomy and astrophysics. You don’t even need to have a lot of pre requisite knowledge for this. You can directly start it. The professors are really good at explaining the concept. This. Course. Is. Amazing.

par Gary S

May 08, 2019

Course covers all the bases, both from the very basic notions, with suitable introductory material on things like how one determines the composition of a star from spectra, to the physics that allows one to understand the recent image of a black hole(without this course one might think photographing a black hole to be impossible.We now understand the time dilation effects of approaching a black hole and how one can do so safely.

Fascinating stuff

par Russell T F

Jun 27, 2018

I am truly delighted for a very high quality course about black holes. No doubt more will rapidly be learned in the near future about them. I would love to come to Alberta and help make the next updated revision with you. University of Alberta has the best quality and most interesting topics. Black holes are amazing and wonderful things to contemplate. Great work by a great team, the Black Holes 101 course makes me want to learn more.

par Michael B

Oct 27, 2018

Great course! Does a good job explaining the current state of our understanding of the most complicated objects in the universe, as well as the challenges and cutting edge technology of modern scientific observations. I've always wanted to learn about black holes and this was a great opportunity to get up to date knowledge from the top experts in the field, presented in an interactive and easily understand way for non-scientists

par Jason T B

Apr 12, 2020

Wonderful instructors and information! I've always had an interest in Black Holes and space in general. 25+ years out of college and a Law Enforcement career later, and now that my kids are out of high school, I have a little more time to concentrate on these topics again, thank you to all the Astro 101Instructors for helping me get back on my journey through space again! Much Thanks! - Jason Billings, Church Hill TN

par Scotty P

Jan 15, 2019

I loved this course, and I grew to absolutely adore the instructors. It's readily apparent that they had fun putting it all together. And the production staff! How fun were the animations, graphics, live shots and edits? All the way fun! Thanks everyone! The only problem with this course? Astro 105, 201, 314 and higher level specialities aren't yet available. More U of A Astrophysics courses, please. You guys rock.

par Arya R K

May 21, 2020

Black holes are indeed one of the most fascinating topics. No matter how much knowledge one might have about black holes they are indeed going to grow after taking this course. All the teachers via their field of expertise provide vast and accurate knowledge about black holes and the singularity. I really loved this course and attained a lot of knowledge about black holes.

par Marie R

Sep 06, 2018

I loved every part of this course, especially how clearly everything was explained. I also really loved the annimations, design and little props that were used to explain things more clearly. I really feel like I'v learned so much and am actually a little bit sad that I'm finished. Thanks for the wonderful oppertunity to learn about something so fascinating!

par Giapitzoglou M

Nov 29, 2019

A very well structured course. The videos are funny, well thought and explanatory. The illustrations and examples make it easy even for a beginner to understand what is being explained. I thoroughly enjoyed it and I would recommend this course to everyone who has an interest in astrophysics!! Thank you, guys!

par Denise H

Apr 13, 2019

Watching this course was a lot of fun. I was able to repeat things I already knew and learned even more new things. Because the way things are explained I was able to keep up until the end even if I didn't understand every single detail yet. This course is a really great way of learning about Black Holes.

par SAKSHI P K

Apr 20, 2020

Amazing, wonderful & exploratory course on bizzare black holes. The animation used to explain the concepts are very interesting. Also reading sections consists of interesting activities explaining time dilation in easiest way. Thank you all the instructors for such a wonderful course.

par Alexandra J B

Oct 19, 2019

I loved every minute of this course. It's gotten me developing my own theory about black holes and I am so sad that it's over. It's also made me seriously consider a minor or double major in astrophysics, something I may genuinely pursue. Thank you so much for this amazing journey.

par Arun G

Apr 04, 2020

I really loved the way you guys were able to present such a vast and complex topic in a very simple format for beginners such as myself.Although i still have doubts regarding certain concepts i was able to get an overall superficial knowledge necessary for an indepth further study