Chevron Left
Retour à The Arduino Platform and C Programming

Avis et commentaires pour d'étudiants pour The Arduino Platform and C Programming par Université de Californie à Irvine

4.6
étoiles
3,740 évaluations
812 avis

À propos du cours

The Arduino is an open-source computer hardware/software platform for building digital devices and interactive objects that can sense and control the physical world around them. In this class you will learn how the Arduino platform works in terms of the physical board and libraries and the IDE (integrated development environment). You will also learn about shields, which are smaller boards that plug into the main Arduino board to perform other functions such as sensing light, heat, GPS tracking, or providing a user interface display. The course will also cover programming the Arduino using C code and accessing the pins on the board via the software to control external devices. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Outline the composition of the Arduino development board 2. Describe what it means to program the board's firmware 3. Read board schematics 4. Install Arduino IDE 5. Describe what "shields" are and how they are used 6. Specify the role of libraries in the use of shields 7. Compile and run a program 8. Name C Variables and Types 9. Name common C operators 10. Use conditionals and loops 11. Explain functions, their definition and invocation 12. Explain the implications of global variables 13. Undertake the Arduino build process 14. Describe the role of the tools behind the IDE 15. Describe how to invoke functions in classes 16. Explain the structure of an Arduino sketch 17. Access the pins of the Arduino 18. Differentiate between digital and analog pin 19. Debug embedded software 20. Explain the importance of controllability and observability in the debugging process 21. Describe common debugging architectures for embedded systems 22. Explain how the UART Serial communication protocol works 23. Describe how the Arduino Serial library performs serial communication...

Meilleurs avis

MR

Aug 09, 2016

A very good course to teach you the basics of Arduino platform and IDE. It'll help you get started on how to code your programs and lets you build up on it. I'd definitely recommend for a beginner.

MK

Aug 07, 2017

very good course to have basic understanding of C programming software , Arduino software which is explained in a very simple language where i was finding difficult before attending this course

Filtrer par :

1 - 25 sur 795 Avis pour The Arduino Platform and C Programming

par Eric C M

Jun 21, 2019

Way too basic for a University level course. On the other hand, it can be completed within one day with little to no effort.

par Korinne L N

May 09, 2019

Not much examples, inadequate teaching materials, and the lecturer is just giving us links from the main websites but not really elaborating on it during the lecture. There are no discussion forums which means that if you are stuck in an assignment/lecture, you're on your own. The peer grading review only delays your progress since you have to wait for a classmate's review which may take a while(not much available reviewers).

par Theodore A

Jun 16, 2019

THIS COURSE HAS GIVING ME MORE HOPE AN EASY WAY OF LEARNING.

I WOULD HAVE WASTED MORE TIME MOVING FROM ONE PLACE TO THE OTHER IN OTHER TO LEARN WHAT I HAVE BEEN TAUGHT ON THIS PLATFORM

par Shehab M S

Jun 24, 2019

Need more practice and more examples

par Mohammad A R

Aug 09, 2016

A very good course to teach you the basics of Arduino platform and IDE. It'll help you get started on how to code your programs and lets you build up on it. I'd definitely recommend for a beginner.

par MN K

Aug 07, 2017

very good course to have basic understanding of C programming software , Arduino software which is explained in a very simple language where i was finding difficult before attending this course

par Lakshmi A V

Jun 08, 2019

It is such an awesome and helpful course for the students.

par vikas c

Jun 06, 2019

course was good but have to improve some more projects and practical knowledge

par Jesús S

May 06, 2019

Not what I was expecting. Professor speaks too fast and many things can not be understood because it requires previous knowledge. Although the assignments are very easy and anyone can do them.

par craig c

Sep 18, 2016

GOOD place to start THe arduino intro is good but little short on c but its only 4 weeks not enough for me to grasp right off the bat anyway so i back off to next session then catch up more C then finish its only a couple short c videos then your asked to write programs with little or no knowledge basicly 3- 7 min lectures on the language EASY TO BE KINDA LOST AT FIRST IM 60 yrs old not twenty !!! From what im reading online LIBRARIES ARE TOTALLY LIMITED ON ARDUINOS IDE nd ITS NOT REALLY C its ARDUINO C because a lot of the workings of the arduino ide are easier for new people alot of the inner workings are hidden tough to learn the inner workings unlike a full featured IDE GOOD Platform to start on AFTER BASICS HERE with tidbits Id rather go later to C++ and spend the time there then get on better platform ARM PIC boards with real ides and REAL C + something you can use in the real world for bigger programs and I can see staying here at arduino too long and not going on to other platforms could cause bad programing habits to start with writing limited code just seems more productive after you get your electronics down coding and some hardwhare experience to go right to the real deal Pic arm or any of the other boards with a MUCH steeper learning curve GREAT to Figure out and learn electronics get some hardwhare experience here of course on ARDUINO and from what im seeing from some pros Even if there on more advanced platforms that run bigger faster programs dont have the bootloader many pros use arduino for a first layout to test circuits here first GOOD COURSE gets you DIGGING AND THINKING This is where to start you certainly cant start on advanced platforms right off its really almost impossible without a lot more skill to obtain first

par Sai S S

Nov 16, 2015

Very useful course for beginners who want to start learning embedded systems. This intro course to arduino is 'THE' place to start your embedded learning. Professor Harris is great, he explained everything in detail, maintained the clarity while explaining the concepts and kept it simple, just introduced to what we need to know to get started. Thanks to Dr. Harris and UC Irvine for offering such a great course for free, it was really useful for me. I highly recommend this course for beginners.

par mortada m r

Sep 28, 2018

My name Mortada and I am recently I get certificate in coursera but im electric engineer 22 years old from Iraq and I am working in factory with 300$ per month with 70 hour per week and when I back to home I study I am working just for collect money and go to USA really im suffering I love the science I wanna give my soul and time for science and I wanna study master in USA so can you help me I beg I am begging your humanity

par Timothy N

Jul 28, 2019

I came into this course knowing only the very basics of the Arduino platform. I thought I would struggle for a bit, at least in the beginning, but the truth is, this course was a breeze. The weekly assignments were very manageable and offered a means to reinforce what I had already learned in that week's lessons. Overall, I enjoyed this course. For a beginner at Arduino, it was just what I needed.

par Clair D

Feb 12, 2016

Prof. Harris continues to make everything crystal clear. The forums don't behave as I think they ought, but I assume that's a Coursera wide issue, and not particularly to do with this class. This course is really wonderful and I appreciate so much the opportunity to be a part of it. I have posted about it on my geek pages, and also on facebook. Thank you Prof. Harris and UCI!

par Felipe T T F

Sep 16, 2016

Very good course, it goes from basic concepts to arduino programming itself, without taking too long on what is not 100% necessary. As an Electrical Engineer and an Electronics Technician my self, I saw almost 10 years of concepts I learned in those courses to be just briefly touched and got the necessary information to go ahead. It made Arduino trully accessible to anyone!

par MLS

Feb 01, 2016

Some of the discussion of C programming was a little incoherent and occasionally wrong (but not in ways that would affect what you learn about Arduino programming) but otherwise the course was a blast, and it got me very interested in taking more IoT classes. Professor Harris's enthusiasm for the material comes through very clearly. I definitely recommend it.

par Josh D

Dec 26, 2015

Prof Harris does an excellent job in this Arduino introductory class. I had a rough understanding of how Arduino worked coming into the class and was hoping for something that could fill in the gaps in my understanding. This class was excellent for my purposes but will also serve students seeking to get started with Arduino as well.

par Adil

Aug 29, 2016

Great way of learning Arduino, and a great way of providing info. by video lectures. The best part being the questions that are asked in between the lectures and that makes it more interactive virtually. The course content is no doubt enjoyable and its worth taking this course as it builds up our basic concepts of embedded systems.

par Claude H

Jun 20, 2016

Great beginner course for Arduino. People that are experienced with programming will probably end up zipping through some of the videos pretty fast or skipping some of them because the programming is very basic, that aside I found the lessons very interesting and would recommend them for anyone new to Arduino or wanting a refresher

par Fedor O

Nov 15, 2015

Great course to get started with Arduino! Short lectures explaining the basic concepts and how to start programming the Arduino. It's quite short so I'd recommend to freely browse additional material and videos while you're taking the course.

Have fun with Arduino projects!

par gokulanand

Feb 05, 2020

This course is a eye opening for arduino pursuers. The content is short and crystal clear. I totally enjoyed each and every module. The course states key notes for programming in arduino with good source of assignments and quiz. I thank coursera for this. Happy Learaning!!!

par Kartikey S

Jun 04, 2017

If you want an in in the embedded world, then this course is built for you. The content is carefully curated and flawlessly delivered. Once you are through this course, your basics will be as clear as a crystal. The accompanying course readings were really helpful.

par JOBIN V

Jul 10, 2019

This course gives an overall view of Arduino, C-programming required for Arduino sketches and mostly about the shields and basic applications of Arduino. Even the online platform 'tinkercad' is used to teach the electronic connection and creating arduino sketch

par Nuria M

Feb 26, 2016

A nice introduction to C programming, which could seem intimidating to non programmers at first, but this course keeps a fresh and clear perspective and you'll learn the most useful coding structures and functions to start experimenting with arduino in no time.

par Jovin L

Nov 09, 2015

This is a brilliant course if you are looking at beginning with Arduino. The videos are short and crisp, the assignments are interesting too. Prof. Ian Harris has done a brilliant job with the course. Big thank you to University of California, Irvine.